Low frequency audio level detector using PIC ADC?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 69

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    869


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    Hank, assuming you have time to spare, why not just sample on each iteration of main? I assume it is running much faster then 20K, And if you can stand the short time it takes to aquire the sample, you will have the best sample rate without going to interupts.
    -Bert

    The glass is not half full or half empty, Its twice as big as needed for the job!

    http://foamcasualty.com/ - Warbird R/C scratch building with foam!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    Quote Originally Posted by cncmachineguy View Post
    Hank, assuming you have time to spare, why not just sample on each iteration of main? I assume it is running much faster then 20K, And if you can stand the short time it takes to aquire the sample, you will have the best sample rate without going to interupts.
    Hiya Bert ...thanks for the input.

    The reason for wanting to use interrupts, is that I can sub-contract out the ADC sampling (precisely) & let it maintain itself without having to integrate the sampling into my main loop, where there's other stuff happening (and a whole heap of pauses within!).
    Last edited by HankMcSpank; - 16th February 2011 at 14:56.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    869


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    Well in that case, I would make the rate some easy timer rate. like a 8 bit timer with some prescale, running as fast as you can stand to be interupted.
    -Bert

    The glass is not half full or half empty, Its twice as big as needed for the job!

    http://foamcasualty.com/ - Warbird R/C scratch building with foam!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    Well the concept seems to work, but would you believe the thing that's hampering me is getting the timer1 interrupt frequency set right....I'm chasing an interrupt (ADC Sample) frequency of about 30khz.

    I seem to be getting an interrupt frequency of just 1Khz, which means only low frequency sine waves that I'm sampling are stable from an ADC perspective, what am I doing wrong....

    here's the top bit of my code (setting up the timer1)
    Code:
    ' Timer1 Registers: 
    ' Prescaler=1:1; TMR1 Preset=65503; Freq=30,303.0303Hz; Period=33,000 ns
    T1CON.5 = 0 ' bits 5-4  Prescaler Rate Select bits
    T1CON.4 = 0
    T1CON.3 = 1 ' bit 3 Timer1 Oscillator Enable Control: bit 1=on
    T1CON.2 = 1 ' bit 2 Timer1 External Clock Input Synchronization Control bit: 1=Do not synchronize external clock input
    T1CON.1  = 0 ' bit 1 Timer1 Clock Source Select bit: 0=Internal clock (FOSC/4) / 1 = External clock from pin T1CKI (on the rising edge)
    T1CON.0 = 1 ' bit 0 enables timer
    TMR1H = $FF      ' preset for timer1 MSB register
    TMR1L = $DF      ' preset for timer1 LSB register
    & below is my (DT) interrupt handler (feel free to suggest better way of writing this ...I'm a kludger at heart & I've not really a clue how to code well!)

    zero_cross is just a variable to track whether the signal wave/cycle is above zero (the signal zero point = 128....ie 1/2 my supply of 5V)
    signal_in is a variable to store the sample (previous_sample + peak_sample are too!).

    Code:
    '---[TMR1 - interrupt handler]--------------------------------------------------
    @ INT_DISABLE  TMR1_INT     ; diable Timer 1 interrupts
    T1CON.0 = 0 ' disables timer1
    ADC_Sample:
        ADCIN 8, Signal_In                'sample the incoming signal
        IF SIGNAL_IN > 130 THEN           'a level of 128 is the zero crossing point (130 adds a bit of margin for error)
        zero_cross = 1                            'a simple toggle/flag to track whether signal is above or below the 'zero point (ADC val of 128)
        IF SIGNAL_IN > PREVIOUS_SAMPLE THEN previous_sample = signal_in     ; if this latest incoming sample is bigger than the last sample, then it supercedes the previous value
        GOTO INTERRUPT_END
        ENDIF
    
        if signal_in < 126 and zero_cross = 1 then  'if sample is 128 or less, then we're at the zero cross point, (126 adds some margin for error) therefore we've finished trying to sample peak
        peak_sample = previous_sample               ' our peak sample is therefore whatever value is in the variable 'previous_sample' from above
        previous_sample = 0                         'zero it, ready for when the waveform goes into positive territory again.
        zero_cross = 0                             ' toggle the above zero/below zero flag
        endif
        
        INTERRUPT_END:
        LOOP_COUNT1 =LOOP_COUNT1+1    'this section just allow me to divide the interrupt rate down for onscreen display (else the serial port would bottleneck & PIC would likely restart)
        if loop_count1 = 1000 then                'I'm seeing about 1 update onscreen per second, which suggest the interrupt frequency is 1kHz & not the required 30khz!
        hserout [dec peak_sample,13, 10]
        loop_count1 = 0
        endif
        
    TMR1H = $FF      ' preset for timer1 MSB register
    TMR1L = $f0      ' preset for timer1 LSB register
    T1CON.0 = 1 ' bit 0 enables timer
    
    @ INT_ENABLE  TMR1_INT     ; enable Timer1 interrupts
    @ INT_RETURN
    
    end
    100hz, 2.5Vp signal - extracted 'peak' sample is circa 255....


    100Hz, 1.25Vp signal - extracted 'peak' sample should be circa 192 (remember here that the signal's zero crossing point is ADC=128)


    Ok, now you start seeing the problem...up to 300Hz, the ADC readings are fairly stable at +/- 1 sample, but if I now take the audio frequency up to 400Hz, the ADC 'samples' start getting choppy, which suggests the interrupt rate isn't high enough...




    So what am doing wrong wrt getting the timer1 interrupts to interrupt at a 30Khz?!!!
    Last edited by HankMcSpank; - 16th February 2011 at 23:22.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    869


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    (if it helps, I'm using a PIC16f1828 ...max internal oscillator of 40Mhz)
    I don't see how to set this up for 40Mhz. At any rate, what speed are you running?

    Do you have a free pin to toggle each interupt to see exactly what the frequency is? While I agree the seeming like 1K is a far cry from 10K, but for me I just like to know for sure to fine tune it.

    Also as a suggestion, DT pointed me to TMR2 and the use of the PR register. The advantage is no reloading of the preload. it also has pre and post scaling to turn your 8 bit counter into a slower counter.

    Now for more confusion, your preload will give you 32 instructions before overflowing. I think you have that in the int handler itself. not that it will matter, but if you are running at 32 Mhz, 4uSec timing, or 250KHz. So maybe you are flooding HSEROUT?
    -Bert

    The glass is not half full or half empty, Its twice as big as needed for the job!

    http://foamcasualty.com/ - Warbird R/C scratch building with foam!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    653


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    Quote Originally Posted by cncmachineguy View Post
    I don't see how to set this up for 40Mhz. At any rate, what speed are you running?

    Do you have a free pin to toggle each interupt to see exactly what the frequency is? While I agree the seeming like 1K is a far cry from 10K, but for me I just like to know for sure to fine tune it.

    Also as a suggestion, DT pointed me to TMR2 and the use of the PR register. The advantage is no reloading of the preload. it also has pre and post scaling to turn your 8 bit counter into a slower counter.

    Now for more confusion, your preload will give you 32 instructions before overflowing. I think you have that in the int handler itself. not that it will matter, but if you are running at 32 Mhz, 4uSec timing, or 250KHz. So maybe you are flooding HSEROUT?
    Hi Bert.

    Yeah, I got carried away with the max Osc value this pic can run at - it's 32Mhz.

    that said, I'm only running it at 8Mhz (there an errata sheet out that says early versions of this PIC had probs with ADC above 8Mhz clock - so I'm staying on the safe side)

    Good call about the toggle - I've put a toggle pin line in the interrupt handler, my scope measures the square wave at 2.66Khz, but I'm assuming the interrupt rate is double that? (half, the time low, half the time high)...therefore I've an interrupt frequency of about 5Khz

    I'll have a a go with Timer2, but the PICcalc timers that abound are doing my head in! :-)


    Edit:

    Just tried timer2...
    Code:
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG1, _FCMEN_OFF & _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _IESO_OFF & _BOREN_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF & _LVP_OFF
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG2, _LVP_OFF
    
    INCLUDE "DT_INTS-14.bas" ' Base Interrupt System
    INCLUDE "ReEnterPBP.bas" ' Include if using PBP interrupts
    
    Osccon = %01110010      'Osc 8Mhz
    DEFINE  OSC 8
    Now the timer2 settings...
    Code:
    'Timer2 Registers:
    'Prescaler=1:1; TMR2 PostScaler=1:1; PR2=66 - Freq = 30,303.0303Hz - Period = 33,000 ns
    T2CON.6       = 0 ' bits 6-3 Post scaler 1:1 thru 1:16
    T2CON.5       = 0
    T2CON.4       = 0
    T2CON.3       = 0
    T2CON.2  = 1 ' Timer2 on bit: 1=Timer2 is on;
    T2CON.1 = 0 ' bits 1-0  Prescaler Rate Select bits
    T2CON.0 = 0 
    T2CON = %00000100
    PR2 = 66            ' PR2 (Timer2 Match value)
    Now the interrupt routine...
    Code:
    ADC_Sample:
    @ INT_DISABLE  TMR2_INT     ; enable Timer 0 interrupts
        toggle PortC.3
        ADCIN 8, Signal_In                'sample the incoming signal
        IF SIGNAL_IN > 130 THEN           'a level of 128 is the zero crossing point (130 adds a bit of margin for error)
        zero_cross = 1                    'a simple toggle flag to track whether we're above zero or below
        IF SIGNAL_IN > PREVIOUS_SAMPLE THEN previous_sample = signal_in     ; if this latest incoming sample is bigger than the last then it supercedes the prvious value
        GOTO INTERRUPT_END
        ENDIF
    
        
        if signal_in < 126 and zero_cross = 1 then  'if sample is 128 or less, then we're at the zero cross point, (126 adds some margin for error) therefore we've finished trying to sample peak
        peak_sample = previous_sample               ' our peak sample is therefore whatever value is in the variable 'previous_sample' from above
        previous_sample = 0                         'zero it, ready for when the waveform goes into positive territory again.
        zero_cross = 0                             ' toggle the above zero/below zero flag
        endif
        
        INTERRUPT_END:
        LOOP_COUNT1 =LOOP_COUNT1+1
        if loop_count1 = 100 then
        hserout [dec signal_in,9,dec peak_sample,13, 10]
        loop_count1 = 0
        endif
    
    
    @ INT_ENABLE  TMR2_INT     ; enable Timer 0 interrupts
    @ INT_RETURN
    Still just seeing 5khz 'interrupt frequency' on my scope (this is the pin I'm toggling in the interrupt routine)...




    AaaaaaarrrrrggggghhhhhHHHH!!!!!!!
    Last edited by HankMcSpank; - 17th February 2011 at 01:10.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    869


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Low frequency audio RMS signal level detector using PIC ADC?

    Hank WAIT!!! (drama over)

    Before you change anything, play with your preload. you still only have 32 instructions between interupts. Do you understand why?

    Timers are this: they always count up and flag int when they rollover to 0. when set up to clock from fosc/4, this means 1 count per ASM instruction. so you are at 2Mips, so (1/2,000,000)*count is your int frequency. in your case count = 32 which = 16uSec. or 62.5K.

    So the question is why is yours 5.32K? I believe it is because you are actaally taking longer to get there AND longer in the int, so your numbers are skewed.

    Play with the preload until you get numbers that make sense. Then work from there.
    -Bert

    The glass is not half full or half empty, Its twice as big as needed for the job!

    http://foamcasualty.com/ - Warbird R/C scratch building with foam!

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts