4x3 keypad and an LCD.. need help.


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default 4x3 keypad and an LCD.. need help.

    hello everyone! I'm new in this forum. Anyone can help me with my project? Im using a PIC16F877 and i want to know what codes are needed in PICBasic Pro to display the number key pressed in the 16x2 LCD Hitachi HD44780 and the total number that was entered will be stored in a variable for later use in the program.. pls help me.. thnx to all who can help..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.

    First let me ask how far you are in this adventure.

    Have you got an LCD to work yet? If so then these will help with the key-pad.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=3250
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=10110
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    To repeat Mackrackit's admonition: Welcome to the forum. Now, look at the home page, scroll down to code examples, open it up and you will find at least 2 usable examples there.
    Last edited by Archangel; - 23rd December 2008 at 17:25.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,651


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Welcome here,Taisen

    Also think to browse the PARALLAX site ... ( ~ same basic )

    your app reminds me something seen there ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thank you sir mack, joe and ace.. i'll try to study what you have told me. can i ask 1 more thing? u know how to translate this equation into picbasic pro codes: x = 2 * 1.5.. i tried to do this but the result was x = 2 only.. it means only the equation x = 2 * 1 was seen by the program.. anyone can help.. thnx!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    also when the equation is x = 50 x 2500.. x becomes 59464 instead of 125000.. anyone know why this happen?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you must have floating points there is a routine over at the MeLabs site.

    The easy way for what you are doing is to drop the decimal point.
    x = 2 * 1.5

    would be
    x = 2 * 15 / 10

    Then if you are wanting to display a 3.0
    Code:
    LCDOUT, $FE;1,DEC x,".",DEC2 x//100
    65535 is the largest value for a WORD size variable. So 125000 over flows, comes back around starting at zero and the result is 59464.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i tried the codes but the lcd displaying 3.03.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OOPPS, I was not thinking straight

    What we are doing.
    Take the number with one decimal place and multiply by 10 before the PIC sees it.
    1.5 is now 15
    1.6 is now 16
    ...
    Code:
    x = 2 * 16
    lcdout $FE,1,DEC x / 10,".",DEC x//10
    In the above the "x / 10" will return 3.
    x//10 will return the remainder 2.

    Look in the Pic Basic manual under Math Operators for more fun/confusing stuff
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thanks! that info really helps me..
    But i still got another problem. if the equation goes like this x = 26 // 21.. the answer should be 238095238, the decimal part cannot read by the program and the answer is wrong because the limit is 65535 right? how to get the right answer like display 238 only? thanks again..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    In this case the decimal needs moved three places to the right.
    26/21=1.238095...
    1000*26/21=1238.095...
    x = (1000*26/21)//1000
    x=238

    You could have
    Code:
    y=26
    x = (1000*y/21)//1000
    The above will only work if "y" is an integer 22 through 41.
    When reading a sensor the range of values are fixed so with a little imagination a constant like in the above case 1000 will work. When another application comes along with a different set of values a different constant and equation will be required.

    What is your application besides a keypad?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  12. #12


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit
    You could have

    Code:
    y=26
    x = (1000*y/21)//1000
    The above will only work if "y" is an integer 22 through 41.
    I'm not sure why any value 0 - 65 will not satisfy your equation. The only requirement to keep it "legal" is to keep 1000*y under 65535. Also if you can afford to loose one digit after the decimal point (0.00x) then the range for y will be 0 – 650.
    I guess knowing more about the application will help make the best decision.

    Regards,

    Nick

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicmus View Post
    I'm not sure why any value 0 - 65 will not satisfy your equation. The only requirement to keep it "legal" is to keep 1000*y under 65535. Also if you can afford to loose one digit after the decimal point (0.00x) then the range for y will be 0 – 650.
    I guess knowing more about the application will help make the best decision.

    Regards,

    Nick
    I should have said 2 - 41 .
    Beyond these values you run into the leading zero problem with the equation I gave.
    Some values above 41 will work, some will return 0.0xx. The 0 tenths is the problem.
    Thanks for catching that.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,651


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Hi, Taisen

    Is this little calculator to count what you'll get this year ???

    http://www.piratekingonline.com/foru...earchid=836105

    Seriously ... you should turn to a 16Bits core device ( 18F452 i.e.) and use the 32 bits calculations of PBPL ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  15. #15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi mackrackit,

    If the leading zeros are a problem you just use DEC 3 in your LCDOUT command and you should be OK on full 0 – 65 range. The only change will be with the result of y/21 (0 -6).

    Regards,

    nick

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicmus View Post
    Hi mackrackit,

    If the leading zeros are a problem you just use DEC 3 in your LCDOUT command and you should be OK on full 0 – 65 range. The only change will be with the result of y/21 (0 -6).

    Regards,

    nick
    Yep. We really need to know what taisen83 is trying to do.
    If all of the sudden the numbers change to something like
    x = (1000*1/3000)//1000
    Then it all falls apart, I tink

    PBL is the ticket.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    currently im doing a rice dispenser device that accepts a weight or price value.. my problem was at the price input value.. as the device runs it will ask for a price/kilo of the rice.. assuming i input a value of 25.50, but the actual value stored is 2550. this 2550 is the reference for determining the weight to be dispensed. after 2550 stored, the program ask for another input to be compared in the 2550. i used the codes that mackrackit posted.

    'variable PRICE is the reference input
    'TOTALAMOUNT is the variable to be compared

    PRICED = PRICE/10
    AMT = TOTALAMOUNT/10
    DECIKILO = (100*AMT/PRICED)//100
    WHOLEKILO = (100*AMT/PRICED)/100

    LCDOUT $FE,$C0,#WHOLEKILO,".",#DECIKILO," Kg"

    using this the program I can determine the weight but it only accepts 4 digit number.. making it to a 5 digit input will go beyond a 65535 limit.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you have PBP 2.50 and use a 18F
    chip, you can compile with PBPL
    that will give you 32 bit math.
    This will give you the ability to use
    numbers with a range of
    -2147483648 to
    +2147483647
    That should solve the problem.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    the codes that i created in 16f877 can be used when i changed to 18f, what 18f pic is almost the same as 16f877? and it must be pbp 2.50? coz im currently using 2.47 only.. thnx
    Last edited by taisen83; - 5th January 2009 at 03:39.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you want to use the LONG variable that gives you 32 bit math you will have to upgrade to 2.50.

    When moving your code from a 16F to an 18F there will be some modifications needed. example, the 16F877 does not have comparators, so you may hace to turn them off on the 18F chip depending on the pins used.

    As far as pin outs go, and as far as I know, all of the 40 pin PICs use the same pins for power, programming, OSC and MCLR.

    The 18Fs will have several extra features, that may or may not be useful, such as USB pins and may even have an internal OSC.

    An 18F4320 might be a good one to start with. It has an internal OSC, but does not have USB.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    18f452 can also be a substitute right? coz i've seen in forums about transferring codes from 16f877 to 18f452..

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Micro Chip says the 18F4520 would be the better choice.
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...ct2=PIC18F4520
    But if you have some 452s laying around and this is not a production project then the 452 should be fine. With a little imagination
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thnx for all the help! really a great help for a beginners like me.. i'll report asap when i got the result using new IC.. thnx again!

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts