USBDemo, something to learn USB a little bit


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 279

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    and unless you want to waste your time debugin it... maybe it's just some blown pcb tracks...

    A in-line fuse could be used as well, but i stick with the external PSU.

    To do this one i used Mikroelektronika a EasyPic 4 board.

    Nice board, but the on-board programmer fail sometime with 18Fs device.
    Last edited by mister_e; - 11th January 2007 at 19:38.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    257


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Bravo, Bravo, Bravo!!!

    Steve that EasyPic 4 board looks fantastic! I see that it has an add on PLCC programming kit but in your experience can it program the PIC18F4550??

    Has anyone made a test PCB for this yet and willing to post on site?

    Cheers
    Squib.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The on-board programmer work with most PIC. The 18F4550 also work... but sometime it fail to program at the first time, you just need to reprogram it once again... no big deal but sometimes annoying.


    I don't have the PLCC board, but it should work... it's just an adapter, so i don't see why it shouldn't work... unless the programming pins are not at their usual places...
    Last edited by mister_e; - 12th January 2007 at 03:11.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  4. #4
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e View Post
    The on-board programmer work with most PIC. The 18F4550 also work... but sometime it fail to program at the first time, you just need to reprogram it once again... no big deal but sometimes annoying.


    I don't have the PLCC board, but it should work... it's just an adapter, so i don't see why it shouldn't work... unless the programming pins are not at their usual places...
    I made an adapter for an '8722 awhile back that puts it in a 40pin 18F socket using a 40 wire ribbon cable on an IDC socket (think '452 with a load more memory), and another 40pin dual row to get to the rest of the pins. Do you think that would work in this? It worked in my mp3 player.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    In theory... all 40 pins device have the programming pins at the same place or the EasyPic 4 would have a second 40 pins dip socket.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    161


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Here's a small contribution from my end to support the good work.

    Thank you steve for the help

    regards.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by charudatt View Post
    Here's a small contribution from my end to support the good work.

    Thank you steve for the help

    regards.
    And I would think that a similar dev board for a '4550 would be practically the same except for the obvious pin differences...
    I hope so...'cause that's what I'm building...still waiting on the '4550's though...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I am looking for this trough hole plcc socket, could anyone help which type , or digikey/mouser part number

    Thanks



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    56


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Darrel, but I need the PLCC socket only, not the whole adapter, what make/ type is it ?

    It is smaller than normal PLCC44 socket

    Johan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Squibcakes View Post
    Bravo, Bravo, Bravo!!!

    Steve that EasyPic 4 board looks fantastic! I see that it has an add on PLCC programming kit but in your experience can it program the PIC18F4550??

    Has anyone made a test PCB for this yet and willing to post on site?

    Cheers
    Squib.
    Hi Squibcakes,
    I have an older model 'EasyPic3' and i have no problem to program PIC18F4550. It is a great board and I ma glad owning one.
    Cheers
    Ozion

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    <img src="http://www.pbpgroup.com/files/zombie2.gif" align=middle> &nbsp; &nbsp;Heaven you think?
    Goood..., then you won't notice when I come to collect your PBP soul.

    <div style="background-color:#000000"; layer-background-color:#000000;></div>
    DT

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Many thanks!!! Got it working, now I'll proceed to port it for my purposes.

    I've change the 2 lines and one thing more

    __CONFIG _CONFIG1L, _PLLDIV_5_1L & _CPUDIV_OSC3_PLL4_1L & _USBDIV_2_1L
    __CONFIG _CONFIG1H, _FOSC_HSPLL_HS_1H & _FCMEM_OFF_1H & _IESO_OFF_1H

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Curious,

    That means the CPU is running at 24mhz.
    Why not run at 48mhz, since it's available.
    _CPUDIV_OSC1_PLL2_1L
    <br>
    DT

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    because windows don"t detect the hardware at 48MHz

Similar Threads

  1. Bits, Bytes Words and Arrays
    By Melanie in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: - 14th June 2016, 07:55
  2. How to receive stream of bytes using PIC USART
    By unifoxz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: - 20th June 2009, 10:38
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 31st July 2008, 08:56
  4. PICBasic newbie problem
    By ELCouz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: - 12th February 2008, 00:55
  5. USART interrupt not interrupting right
    By Morpheus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 6th March 2005, 01:07

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts