Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Colchester England
    Posts
    20

    Unhappy Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Hello everybody

    I have just installed PBP3 with Microcode Studio Plus 5 and I have been trying to compile Robert Wozniak's High-Resolution Timer code, as is with no changes, but I get the following errors:

    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 3.0.6.4, (c) 1998, 2012 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Message[303] C:\USERS\CHRIS\DOCUMENTS\MCSP\SPD TIMER\HIRES TIMER 610.ASM 3263 : Program word too large. Truncated to core size. (012D54D0)
    Message[303] C:\USERS\CHRIS\DOCUMENTS\MCSP\SPD TIMER\HIRES TIMER 610.ASM 3263 : Program word too large. Truncated to core size. (012D54E8)
    [MESSAGE] pic18f4680.pbpinc(504): LONG Variables enabled (PBPL used)
    <font color="#FF0000"><b>[ASM ERROR] HIRES TIMER 610.ASM (3263) : Overwriting previous address contents (0001)
    <font color="#FF0000"><b>[ASM ERROR] HIRES TIMER 610.ASM (3263) : Overwriting previous address contents (0000)

    What does this mean. Can anyone help.

    Regards Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Hi Chris,
    The first two messages seems to indicate the program won't fit the available amount of flash in the selected device.
    Have you selected the correct device in drop down list in MCSP?

    The two errors are most like due to you trying to set some CONFIG bits in the actual code without commenting out the default ones in the .inc file. Now, before you go and edit the .inc files take a look at the CONFIG/ENDCONFIG directive in the PBP3 manual, it allows you to set the CONFIG bits from within your code without having to comment the default ones out of the .inc files.

    If this doesn't help then posting your code (or a link to it) and at least letting us know for which device you're trying to compile would be a good next step.

    /Henrik.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Colchester England
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Hi Henrik

    Thank you for your reply

    The PIC in question is a 18F4680 and this is the device selected in the drop down menu.

    Robert Wozniak's code is here http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=12634. From within the code there are no config statements so I assumed that it uses the PIC18F4680.PBPINC as is.

    I have never looked at this chip before and I have tried compiling with a 18F4331 and 18F4550 which I have used and comes with the same errors.

    Regards Chris.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    In your C:\PBP3\DEVICE_REFERENCE directory look for the PIC18F4880.INFO file.
    Then try adding the sample config (below) to your program. The file also tells you what it all means.
    Code:
    #CONFIG
        __CONFIG    _CONFIG1H, _OSC_HS_1H & _FCMEN_OFF_1H & _IESO_OFF_1H
        __CONFIG    _CONFIG2H, _WDT_ON_2H & _WDTPS_512_2H
        __CONFIG    _CONFIG3H, _PBADEN_OFF_3H & _LPT1OSC_OFF_3H & _MCLRE_ON_3H
        __CONFIG    _CONFIG4L,  _STVREN_ON_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _BBSIZ_1024_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L
    
      #ENDCONFIG
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Colchester England
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Hi Dave
    I have included the #config you suggested but no joy.

    Interesting though I have just tried to compile the usart.pbp example program for PBP3, just as a trial, and if I compile with a 16F chip all is OK but if I compile with any 18F chip I get the same errors as my first post occur. Weird!!

    Regards Chris....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    What version of PBP3 do you have? Student, Silver, Gold, trial.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Dear all
    I've write BASIC language in MCSPX after buy and installing PBP3+MicroCode Studio V5 to my PC which win7/64

    the error during compiling as below:
    could please advice:
    Name:  error compiling.png
Views: 1192
Size:  187.2 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Dear all
    I've write BASIC language in MCSPX after buy and installing PBP3+MicroCode Studio V5 to my PC which win7/64

    the error during compiling as below:
    could please advice:
    Name:  error compiling.png
Views: 1113
Size:  187.2 KB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    you do not need to define a second time TRISB, nor PortB address ... it has already being done by the compiler .inc file ...

    you just can initialize them

    It's a real Syntax error from you ... as SYMBOL is no longer used in PBP ( see manual $2 ) ... was only used with PBC
    just wipe out SYMBOL and see ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 24th September 2013 at 20:55.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    That cool...
    Million thanks

    Acetronics, could U please show/share with me the tutorial project lnk/ebook address that related with PBP3 programming style...

    Thanks and appreciate your help

    Rgds,
    Yyusof

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    This one is not so bad ...
    http://dsp-book.narod.ru/BASICPIC.pdf

    For the Holy Team : and just have a look to WHO wrote this paper ...
    Humour, Humour, always Humour ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CROATIA
    Posts
    38


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    Hi....

    problem message[303] Program word too large truncated to core size(cfa4) and so on 4 line...
    2 lines for 16f1828.inc line 20, 21 (tried to moding few variation of original val but no joy)
    2 line for generated asm line 69, pointing to last "End" word in xx.asm

    i have very simple test code which succesfuly compile if i change 16f1828 to 16f1827


    a var byte
    b var byte
    ch1 var byte
    ch2 var byte
    LED var PORTb.6



    start:

    adcin 4,ch1
    pause 1
    hpwm 1,ch1,32000

    adcin 5,ch2
    pause 1
    hpwm 2,ch2,32000
    pause 10
    a=a+1
    if a=255 then toggle led
    goto start




    pbp is 2.60c
    mcs+ 3005

    .inc files modified for fusses
    mplab 8.90 / mpasm 5.49

    what can be diferent between those configs if 16f1827 compile but 16f1828 want.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Errors with PBP3 and Microcode 5.0.0.3

    compile fine with PBP3.07 ...

    AND Mplab 8.92 ... or MCSPX ...

    Alain

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts