12f675_fuse_about_to_blow! - Page 14


Closed Thread
Page 14 of 24 FirstFirst ... 4101112131415161718 ... LastLast
Results 521 to 560 of 929
  1. #521
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    How are you coming with the IRs?

    A few years ago I did a laser "trip wire". The same thing can be adapted to IR.

    The laser pulses at a given rate so the sensor can not be defeated by another laser or bright light. Think of those silly movies where the laser system is defeated with mirrors and such. Can not happen, or not likely to with this.

    I used a simple laser diode like you would find in an office pointer. and a photo-transistor for the sensor. The sensor was placed in a 24 inch long tube so ambient light would not was it out. Night time monitoring would obviously not need this.

    So here is the code if you want/need ideas. As always there are several ways to do this that may or may not be more efficient. But this system has been monitoring a quarter mile long line for around three years now.

    Laser Pulse:
    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 4
    
    LOOP:
    HIGH GPIO.4
    PAUSE 20
    LOW GPIO.4
    PAUSE 95
    GOTO LOOP
    Laser Sensor:
    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 4
    LP	VAR BYTE
    
    START:
    COUNT PORTC.1,100,LP
    IF LP <> 1 THEN CHECK
    HIGH PORTC.5    'HEART BEAT LED
    PAUSE 50
    LOW PORTC.5    'HEART BEAT LED
    PAUSE 50
    GOTO START
    
    CHECK:
    COUNT PORTC.1,100,LP
    IF LP <> 1 THEN BREACH
    GOTO START
    
    BREACH:
    'DO SOMETHING
    GOTO START
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  2. #522
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    How are you coming with the IRs?
    I've been wondering about this:

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=265568

    I know it's not an IR_LED_Lens combo but it does "Provides 5m visibility coverage with a camera"

    Interesting project that with the laser. How difficult was it aligning the transmitter with the receiver over that distance?

    Dave

  3. #523
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That LED array looks like it would really light things up. Might just be what you are looking for. The lens idea was for some distance and intensity if you are only using one or two LEDs.

    Laser alignment was a ... very difficult.

    The laser and sensor are mounted on 2 inch heavy walled pipe cemented into a 3 x 3 x3 foot chunk of concrete. We did/do the alignment at night with a 4 x4 foot piece of plywood to start with. Every once and a while with the change of seasons and all the earth quakes we have here it has to be re-adjusted. At that distance the laser spot is couple of inches in diameter so there is a little forgiveness.. But I should build a bigger target.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  4. #524
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I guess over that distance the trans / rec would have to be mounted rock solid (literally).

    You must have a seriously big back garden mackrackit to have to transmit over a quarter mile
    I wouldn't like to have to cut you're garden grass

    I'm going for the Maplin IR_Display. Do you think it will put enough light out to take a picture at a reasonable shutter speed without using the flash?

    Dave

  5. #525
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I wouldn't like to have to cut you're garden grass
    It is all sand where I live with no ocean.

    I'm going for the Maplin IR_Display. Do you think it will put enough light out to take a picture at a reasonable shutter speed without using the flash?
    I would guess yes if you can place it close enough to the target like you had the PIR in the cereal box. It will be directional like a flash light (hand torch?).
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  6. #526
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    IR_LED module ordered up, should arrive early / mid next week. It will be interesting to see how well the camera works under this kind of light.

    Dave

  7. #527


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LEDave View Post
    Hi everyone. Oh boy do I need some help here!

    I've just purchased a PICkit1 Flash Starter Kit. I've loaded the MPLAB IDE software and the PICkit1 Classic program and been able to load and re-load the demo hex code.

    So, time for me to program the 12F675 to turn a single LED on, oh deary me.At this point several questions arise.

    1/ I notice that the PICKit demo program has two program files, one .ASM the other a 'C' program and also the Holy grail here an HEX output file. So question:

    What program language do I start to learn Assembler code or C programming?

    2/ I'd like for starters to write a program whereby I put 5v on input pin 4 and that makes an output pin 7 go +5v and lights an LED,no more complicated than that.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction here?

    All help really appreciated.

    LEDave
    I think there is a big problem in your MPLAB IDE software . Try to look for an IT expert. He can surely do it.

  8. #528
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiresmokindad View Post
    I think there is a big problem in your MPLAB IDE software . Try to look for an IT expert. He can surely do it.
    Are you sure you are just smoking tires? Have you read past post 1?

  9. #529
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Are you sure you are just smoking tires? Have you read past post 1?
    Lol.......

  10. #530
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    A couple of the best pictures from last night.

    The 'device' is still working well.

    I can't wait for the IF_Led array to arrive.

    Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  11. #531
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Those pictures are going to be hard to beat.

    It almost looks like the badger is posing for you... Maybe it has figured out what you are up to.
    Smile for the camera, free food. That has never worked for me...
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  12. #532
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Smile for the camera, free food. That has never worked for me...
    Me neither ...........Lol.

    I am amazed at the results though. I'd like to lower the camera angle / height but doing so at the moment puts a lot of reflective flair into the pictures still, even with the diffuser. I'm really hoping the IR_Led array fixes everything.

    I'm thinking of using another PIC pin set as an output to switch a transistor on and in turn switch a relay to drive the IR_Led array which is:"low power consumption - approximately 300mA". Does that sound like the best method to you?

    The camera I'm using although very simple does have a 'movie mode' feature. I'm hoping to try and capture a short (the camera only takes 64MEG SD cards) 'Badger Movie'.

    Dave

  13. #533
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Maybe have a delay between the IR_array coming on and the camera trigger to give the camera time to adjust to the light... ??
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  14. #534
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Maybe have a delay between the IR_array coming on and the camera trigger to give the camera time to adjust to the light... ??
    Good thinking, it takes the camera a while to settle when I open the lens cover in daylight let alone pitch dark.I'll give it three seconds to start with then tweak it if necessary.

    Dave

  15. #535
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The IR_Module has arrived.....Hoorah!

    I've now got 32 LED's and eight resistors to solder into the board.....Booooo! (I didn't realise it was self assembly)

    Dave

  16. #536
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Look on the bright side...
    You did not order a mother board from that outfit....
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  17. #537
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Look on the bright side...
    You did not order a mother board from that outfit....
    .........Lol, there is that.

    I've just set up the camera for tonight's pictures, it's a nice still clear night here in the UK so fingers X'd.

    If, when the IR_Illuminator is built and I manage to make a short movie, is it possible to upload the movie to this Forum or would that be to big?

    Dave

  18. #538
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Upload the video to youtube and embed it in the post.
    The insert video icon above the reply box will be of help.

    Good luck tonight.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  19. #539
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Upload the video to youtube and embed it in the post.
    The insert video icon above the reply box will be of help.
    Will do. I've never uploaded to youtube before, should be straight forward enough though. Yes the insert video URL will be good.

    Good luck tonight.
    Cheers.

    Dave

  20. #540
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Another 57 photo's last night (the 16F684 is working well). We had the bonus of seeing the flashgun go off (1 am) and sneaked into the kitchen and watched him have his supper, really cool. It was amazing watching the flashgun fire and take picture after picture and the Badger wasn't bothered at all.

    A real success this project, infrared here we come.

    Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  21. #541
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It was amazing watching the flashgun fire and take picture after picture and the Badger wasn't bothered at all.
    Interesting.
    Was you putting food out before you started this project?

    Flash = Food

    There was this fellow Pavlov.
    http://www.age-of-the-sage.org/psych...oning_dogs.gif
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  22. #542
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Interesting.
    Was you putting food out before you started this project?
    Yes, we were putting food for the birds (or so we thought) but going by last night's 'snack attack' by Mr B I think he's been having his fill for quite some time.

    I can almost imaging the Badger doing a 'Pavlov' when he gets back to his home: Mrs B "Did LEDave have his flashgun setup tonight?" Mr B, "Yep, another maigraine with all those flashes, keeps us both happy though".......

    Interesting stuff. I start soldering tonight.

    IR_LEDave

  23. #543
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Is it me ... or is that badger getting FAT.
    He looked a little skinnier in the first pictures.

    Maybe you'll need to build a little treadmill for him too.
    DT

  24. #544
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Is it me ... or is that badger getting FAT.
    He looked a little skinnier in the first pictures.
    Hi Darrel,

    I must admit 'portion control' has been a little lax of late. I'd reckon on about 1500 calories in last nights sitting.....

    Dave

  25. #545
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Oh dear,

    I've soldered up all 32 IR_Led's connected to the 12v battery (then after to a 12v power supply) and I doubt if I can see more than 15mm yet alone 15 meters

    If I turn the array toward the camera then all 32 Led's can be seen but the illuminating power is pitiful.

    The Led's don't look very bright compared to say a security camera's array (and I wasn't expecting it to really) but I can't see where they get their 15 meters from.

    Any thoughts?

    Dave
    Last edited by LEDave; - 17th June 2010 at 23:35.

  26. #546
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I see where the site says 5 meters and I would have guessed 2 or 3 but 15mm?

    When they are connected to the power supply or battery what is the voltage of the supply?
    Do you have an amp-meter? A fused one?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  27. #547
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ah sorry it does say 5M.

    Yes I do have an amp meter. The power supply voltage was 11.8v before I connected the circuit (I didn't check it after I attached the load, I should of and will in the morning), the power supply is rated a 2A.

    I've just switched the power supply back to 5v for servo / camera for tonights pictures, what should I be looking for AMP wise?

    Could I have the camera set up wrong? I can't see how really. At best I was getting a foot / 18" of illumination after a little fiddling.

    Dave

  28. #548
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The site said 300 ma.
    Does you camera have a night setting? I am just guessing here.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  29. #549
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It has a 'Night scene mode" and you can adjust the white balance.

    How bright would you think the Led's should be because they're pretty faint about a quaerter of what I'd expect.

  30. #550
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    They should be atleast as bright as your remote.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  31. #551
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi mackrackit

    Well the power supply was showing .23/.24 of an amp at 11.9v and the battery .2 of an amp at 11.0v.

    I'd say that each led in the camera viewfinder was as bright as a remote control led shows in the viewfinder.

    Little bit of a mystery this one.

    Dave

  32. #552
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I've just read this:

    "also IR is only good on b/w camera's and some high end limited color cams"
    Should my camera have been set to black and white?

  33. #553
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    17


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default It may be an IR blocker

    Many digital cameras have IR blockers to prevent these wavelengths from interfering with autofocus etc. My experience is that there is a wide variation beween cameras but they appear, in my limited experience, to be moving to less IR sensitivity. However there are a few that advertise that they have night vision capabilities, for example some Sony models, and they achieve this by removing part of the IR block for very low light. So, you either need a higher power IR source, or a different camera if you need to capture with fast shutter speeds.

    As far as setting the camera to B&W, I understand that this is done as part of the post capture processing so would probably not help.

    Good luck

    David

    Quote Originally Posted by LEDave View Post
    I've just read this:



    Should my camera have been set to black and white?

  34. #554
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks for that David.

    It looks like I'm running out of options here.

    I am surprised in that my camera is a few years old (six) and is non auto_focus, it's just a basic point and shoot camera.

    I'll try it tonight in b&w mode just in case, fingers x'd.

    Dave

  35. #555
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well I set the camera up in b&w mode, only worked out to about a foot, shame I was looking forward to a 'stealth' Badger movie, but never mind.

    I'll try and get hold of a more powerful illuminator one day.

    Dave

  36. #556
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    These look interesting for a 'project'.

    http://uk.farnell.com/jsp/displayPro...-2072-00001000

    Works with the PICkit1 too.

    Dave

  37. #557
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That would be fun to play with. I have not used a RFPIC but have used other RF modules.
    RF is a lot of fun. It would be worth learning.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  38. #558
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Is there any benefit of 315MHZ over 433MHZ?

    I've read the Farnell Data_Sheet which is a little light on info. Any idea what kind of range these work over?

    Dave

  39. #559
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Is there any benefit of 315MHZ over 433MHZ?
    For the average user both frequencies will work about the same. Generally the higher the frequency the easier it is to to transmit through the typical Faraday cage (re-bar in walls) but 315 and 433 are pretty close.

    I would expect around 1/2 mile line of site with these using a 1/4 wave whip antenna, good ground plane, and decent code. Of course the range is farther but it is harder to get reliable data the farther you stretch it.

    Here is a code example that for the simplicity is very reliable.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=12554
    I would think this code will work with the modules you are looking at.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  40. #560
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    I live in the UK
    Posts
    562


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi mackrackit,

    Thanks for that. Half a mile line of sight is a good distance. I think I'll order up the 433 transmitter and receiver modules.

    I had a look at Bruce's programs (he's one clever guy) there's lots there to learn about.

    Hey maybe I could start by transmitting how many Badger pictures have been taking during the night (if any) and send the data to my LCD. That would save having to take the camera away from the cable release mechanism every morning only to find no pictures have been taken and then re_assemble it the next night (all very fiddly).

    Some more interesting stuff to learn about, RF, I like it

    Dave

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts