how to get maximum value(Vmax) of sine wave??


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy how to get maximum value(Vmax) of sine wave??

    hello...
    i'm using pic16f877a and current sensor (acs754-050) is my analog input...
    i do get the Vout value but the value is varied(display on LCD) because i monitored 415VAC...
    how can i get the Vmax of sine wave???
    any ideas???

    my coding:
    - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - --

    define osc 4

    Define LCD_DREG PORTD
    Define LCD_DBIT 4
    Define LCD_RSREG PORTE
    Define LCD_RSBIT 1
    Define LCD_EREG PORTE
    Define LCD_EBIT 2
    define LCD_BITS 4
    define LCD_lines 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50

    ' Define ADCIN parameters
    Define ADC_BITS 8 ' Set number of bits in result
    Define ADC_CLOCK 3 ' Set clock source (3=rc)
    Define ADC_SAMPLEUS 50 ' Set sampling time in uS

    adcon1 = %00000100
    ADCON0 = %11011001
    trisd = 0
    trisb = %01111100
    trise = 0

    res var word
    volts1 var word
    volts2 var word
    conv1 con 19
    conv2 con 60

    Pause 500

    main:
    adcon0.2 = 1
    res = ADRESH

    volts1 = res*conv1
    volts2 = res*conv2
    volts2 = volts2/100
    volts1 = volts1 + volts2


    pause 100
    lcdout $fe,1
    lcdout $fe,$80+4, "V=", dec4 volts1


    goto main

    end

    - - - - - - -- - - - -- - - - -- - - -- - - -

    when the current sensor sense current,it convert to voltage (1A=40mV)
    when zero current,the Vout is Vcc/2(2.5V)
    let say current sensor sense 1A,Vout is 40mV max and Vp-p is 80mV
    my LCD will display 2460mV varied to 2540mV (which is Vp-p 80mV)
    how can i capture the 2540mV value and display it on LCD??
    Last edited by donatelo; - 20th September 2008 at 17:52.

  2. #2
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by donatelo View Post
    hello...
    i'm using pic16f877a and current sensor (acs754-050) is my analog input...
    i do get the Vout value but the value is varied(display on LCD) because i monitored 415VAC...
    how can i get the Vmax of sine wave???
    any ideas???
    What program are you using to sample that 'sine wave'? After all this section of the forums is titled PicBasicPro, so I'd assume you have some code...

    If you're sampling the Vout and getting some results, then keep track of the maximum value and only the maximum value.
    Last edited by skimask; - 20th September 2008 at 16:19.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    A lot on how you do this depends on the accuracy you need, and the range over which you need a reading.

    A good way is to use a decent AC step-down transformer (the very tiny cheap ones don't work very well). Choose one that has the right input voltage, and an output voltage of 12-24V p-p. Use that output to feed a bridge rectifier and voltage divider. Keep the impedance of the voltage divider below 3K ohms (as seen by the PIC) for best accuracy. Put a small (.1 uF) cap on the output of the divider to kill any spikes. Also note that some of the little transformers have an output waveform that is very load-dependent. Use a scope to make sure yours is putting out an undistorted sine wave and choose your voltage divider accordingly.

    And while I have the "floor" - I can't understand why everyone isn't moving over to the PIC 18F series. They have much more capabilities, are better in almost every way,
    and don't cost much more. ?????
    Charles Linquist

  4. #4
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Charles Linquis View Post
    And while I have the "floor" - I can't understand why everyone isn't moving over to the PIC 18F series. They have much more capabilities, are better in almost every way, and don't cost much more. ?????
    (Raising hand)
    Oh Oh Oh! I know! I know!
    Because it costs more! (i.e. tougher to find a pirated version of the newer PBP!)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    271


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Charles Linquis View Post
    ...And while I have the "floor" - I can't understand why everyone isn't moving over to the PIC 18F series. They have much more capabilities, are better in almost every way, and don't cost much more. ?????
    I can give you one good answer. Most folks can't even manage to read a 120 page datasheet, much less one that is over 2 or 300 pages.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It is not so much whether they manage to read the datasheet, as to whether they even bother to download and absorb it. Maybe they should have to take an oath such this before they ask the question.
    I hereby solemnly affirm that:
    a. I have downloaded the datasheet for the device in question.
    b. I have read (and have done my utmost to comprehend) the relevant section and/or sections that pertain to my question.
    In witness whereof, I humbly submit my question, and where it is deemed to be helpful, I will quote the relevant section of the datasheet.
    Last edited by rmteo; - 20th September 2008 at 17:44.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Look at the MAX function - it is in the manual.

    Vmax = Vmax MAX ADCvalue

    As the ADC value rises the value of VMAX rises. When the ADC value falls, the value
    of Vmax stays the same. If you sample for more than a full cycle VMax has the peak value of the sine wave.

    If you are looking at the sine wave cycle-by-cycle, you will have to clear Vmax at zero crossing.
    Charles Linquist

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile ..........

    thnx for the reply....
    i'll figure it out tomorrow...

Similar Threads

  1. To Generate Sine Wave Using PCPWM of PIC18F4331 (Issue)
    By Cyborg in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 22nd March 2014, 13:39
  2. Sine wave
    By Darrenmac in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 18th May 2009, 03:31
  3. Generating 3-phase sine wave..
    By sirvo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: - 6th November 2008, 14:07
  4. square to sine wave help
    By TONIGALEA in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 2nd July 2006, 09:32
  5. PBP Dampened Sine Wave
    By Keith55555 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 3rd April 2004, 20:01

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts