Feeling Noobish with 12F683


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1

    Exclamation Feeling Noobish with 12F683

    Ok, this is getting to me.

    very simple test program:

    CMCON0=7 '00000111 - comparator pins configured as I/O
    ANSEL=0 'all I/O is digital
    OSCCON=96 'internal 4mhz clock 01100000
    TRISIO=40 '101000

    led var GPIO.4

    CLEAR

    start:

    led=1
    pause 500
    led=0
    pause 500
    goto start
    compiles fine (no duh)

    Using pbp 2.46, the parallel EPIC PLUS programmer, ICSP harness... erases fine, confirmed blank.

    I get a "code programming error at 0000"

    Upon "verify", it shows the following message:

    "Configuration verify error at 0000. 0FFF should be 00F4. Continue verifying?"
    The rest verifies ok if I click YES.

    I have verified that I can program a 16F88 right afterwards, with no issues.

    What the heck ?

    Any suggestions?
    Last edited by picster; - 17th October 2008 at 19:02. Reason: added more details

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Do you get the same error if you try programming the part in the EPIC DIP socket?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default noobisms

    Haven't tried it... I'll give it a shot and let you know.

    Steve

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default same old same old

    Same results in the ZIF socket and in the on-board socket.

    Any other ideas? If the 16F88's wouldn't program, I'd at least have a pattern.

    Also tried another 12F683, same result.

    Steve
    Last edited by picster; - 17th October 2008 at 20:05.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Contact [email protected]

    I'm sure they'll get you up & going.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Can you post your config seetings from the inc file and the generated hex from you compiler?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  7. #7
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by picster View Post
    Same results in the ZIF socket and in the on-board socket.
    Any other ideas? If the 16F88's wouldn't program, I'd at least have a pattern.
    Also tried another 12F683, same result.
    Steve
    What version of software/firmware for the EPIC PLUS are you running?

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default more info

    using meProg 3.30 - is there firmware for the Epic Plus parallel?

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Can you post your config seetings from the inc file and the generated hex from you compiler?
    I use the config settings via meProg options, not in the file itself, and have them set as follows:

    Oscillator: INTOSCIO
    Watchdog Timer: Disabled
    PowerUp Timer: Disabled
    MCLR Pin Function: Reset
    Brown-out Detect: Disabled
    Internal External Switchover: Disabled
    Fail-Safe Clock Monitor: Disabled
    Code: Not Protected
    Data EEPROM: Not Protected


    Here's the hex generated:

    :020000040000FA
    :100000002E288001840AFF3E031D01282928A30110
    :10001000A200FF30A207031CA307031C29280330FA
    :10002000A100DF3015200928A101E83EA000A109A8
    :10003000FC30031C1E28A00703181B28A00764001F
    :10004000A10F1B2820182428A01C282800002828DD
    :10005000080083130313831264000800073099001B
    :1000600083169F0160308F00283085002030840087
    :10007000603083120120A03084002030012005165A
    :100080000130A300F430082005120130A300F43041
    :0400900008203F28DD
    :02400E00FC3F75
    :00000001FF

    Steve

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Do you have the program Configuration option checked?



    Added: And since you are changing the configs manually, unchecking the Update Configuration From File option will make things easier. Won't help the current problem though.
    Last edited by Darrel Taylor; - 18th October 2008 at 01:49. Reason: added:
    DT

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by picster View Post
    I use the config settings via meProg options, not in the file itself, and have them set as follows:

    Oscillator: INTOSCIO
    Watchdog Timer: Disabled
    PowerUp Timer: Disabled
    MCLR Pin Function: Reset
    Brown-out Detect: Disabled
    Internal External Switchover: Disabled
    Fail-Safe Clock Monitor: Disabled
    Code: Not Protected
    Data EEPROM: Not Protected
    Here is what you hex says
    <img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=2914&stc=1&d=122429288 4">
    Almost matches. I do not have you setup. Is there a way with you programmer to set the fuses from the inc or in the code?

    I am just guessing again
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  12. #12


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default still no luck

    Darrel,

    I have the item you noted checked, and upload config from file UNchecked. I don't have "Program Fast" checked - but I doubt this would be the problem?

    Maybe a bug in the 683 include file? Should I post it for comparison to yours? I haven't edited it or anything, but maybe it's a 2.46 undoc'd bug or something?

    Steve

  13. #13


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default fuse setting in code

    Dave,

    Not sure about how to set the fuses in code, I've always done it from the EPIC programmer's chip configuration settings window because it's simple.

    I'm doing the PICBASIC in microcode studio - so if there's an easy way to set these switches there, I suppose I could try it (but right now I wouldn't know how).

    Steve

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by picster View Post
    Dave,

    Not sure about how to set the fuses in code, I've always done it from the EPIC programmer's chip configuration settings window because it's simple.

    I'm doing the PICBASIC in microcode studio - so if there's an easy way to set these switches there, I suppose I could try it (but right now I wouldn't know how).

    Steve
    This is the best explanation of how to set the fuses in code space.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=543
    As usual, pay close attention to the post from Melanie and Mister-E.
    Is there a way in the EPIC to turn that option off? I have not used the EPIC.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  15. #15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default another kick at the can

    I'm going to try installing the latest MPLAB IDE. I'm using it as the assembler. My current version is 7.3, so we'll see if the new one makes any difference.

    Is there SOMEONE out there who can try my program on THEIR EPIC Plus with a '683 and see if it works for them?

    Steve

  16. #16


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default same old same old

    Quote Originally Posted by picster View Post
    I'm going to try installing the latest MPLAB IDE. I'm using it as the assembler. My current version is 7.3, so we'll see if the new one makes any difference.

    Is there SOMEONE out there who can try my program on THEIR EPIC Plus with a '683 and see if it works for them?

    Steve
    MPLAB updated, no change in the outcome. Still the same message.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try this. Insert the PIC in the EPIC DIP or ZIF socket. Start meProg software, select the
    PIC12F683, then click "Get Target Information" under the Program menu.

    Does it return "Target device matches selected device"?

    Note: Try the onboard DIP socket if it doesn't work in the ZIF.

    If yes then try this;

    With your meProg software, place a check next to "all" options under the main "Options"
    menu.

    Under "More Options" place a check by "Configuration" in Program, Verify, Read and Erase.

    If it still doesn't work, look in the help file for instructions showing how to test the output
    voltage of both onboard regulators.

    I haven't used the old parallel EPIC for years, but I had a similar problem that was fixed by
    adjusting the potentiometer that sets Vpp.

    Some PICs it would program fine. Others it wouldn't.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  18. #18


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default ongoing 12F683 saga

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    Try this. Insert the PIC in the EPIC DIP or ZIF socket. Start meProg software, select the
    PIC12F683, then click "Get Target Information" under the Program menu.

    Does it return "Target device matches selected device"?

    Note: Try the onboard DIP socket if it doesn't work in the ZIF.

    If yes then try this;

    With your meProg software, place a check next to "all" options under the main "Options"
    menu.

    Under "More Options" place a check by "Configuration" in Program, Verify, Read and Erase.

    If it still doesn't work, look in the help file for instructions showing how to test the output
    voltage of both onboard regulators.

    I haven't used the old parallel EPIC for years, but I had a similar problem that was fixed by
    adjusting the potentiometer that sets Vpp.

    Some PICs it would program fine. Others it wouldn't.
    1) In the onboard socket, it returns a match in device.

    2) I still get the same error when I click the checkboxes as you suggest.

    3) I checked the voltages as per the help file, and they're bang-on. Did you adjust the voltage upwards, or downwards from 13.5V when you adjusted your pot?

    Steve

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Mine needed adjusting up.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  20. #20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default emailed to meLabs

    No luck. Adjusted the voltage up a bit, and down a bit. The only byte this seems to be writing is byte 0. Beyond that, it's all blank (03FF). Beats me why it's giving me the error message ABOUT location 0.

    Again, other pics (well, my trusty 16F88's) program just fine.

    Sent an email to MeLabs - if I get a resolve there, I'll post it in followup.

    Steve

  21. #21


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 12F683 programming issue resolved

    Well, the MElabs folks suggested that I download the OLD version of the EPIC programmer software, version 2.46, from their website and try that to fix my problem. Lo and behold, it WORKED!!!

    So if anyone else is having this issue, programming problems with the parallel EPIC programmer and the 12F683, this seems to be the fix.

    picster

Similar Threads

  1. 12F683 2 x PWM Outputs
    By retepsnikrep in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: - 23rd July 2021, 20:20
  2. 12F683 - Pin1 not working
    By ruijc in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 8th February 2014, 17:38
  3. 12F683 HPWM Usage
    By MARAD75 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 15th November 2007, 02:16
  4. 16f677a to 12f683
    By ChrisHelvey in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 25th July 2007, 06:16
  5. upgrade to PBP 2.46 and using 12F683
    By peterdeco1 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 22nd March 2005, 07:13

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts