Gsm/Gps Tracker


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 53

Thread: Gsm/Gps Tracker

Hybrid View

  1. #1


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Have you tried connecting to a PC with a terminal program like the one in Micro Code Studio?
    Hi,

    I only try whit Hyperterminal with sucess.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by camolas View Post
    Hi,

    I only try whit Hyperterminal with sucess.

    Thanks
    Then try SERIN2 in inverted mode for a test. Could be an external hardware problem?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Camola, from your code it seems that you are using portC.6 and PortC.7 for communication with cellphone. If this is correct then:

    Connect pic portC.6 to max232 pin 11 (TTL Tx)
    Connect pic portC.7 to max232 pin 12 (TTL Rx)
    Connect max232 pin 14 to phone serial cable pin 3 (Should be Rx ?)
    Connect max232 pin 13 to phone serial cable pin 2 (should be Tx ?)
    Connect circuit ground to phone serial cable pin 5

    (If you connect it to the PC I assume you have a 9 pins DB female connector)

    It should work. If it doesn't invert connections at the serial cable pins 2 & 3

    Al.
    Last edited by aratti; - 4th December 2008 at 15:47.
    All progress began with an idea

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aratti View Post
    Camola, from your code it seems that you are using portC.6 and PortC.7 for communication with cellphone. If this is correct then:

    Connect pic portC.6 to max232 pin 11 (TTL Tx)
    Connect pic portC.7 to max232 pin 12 (TTL Rx)
    Connect max232 pin 14 to phone serial cable pin 3 (Should be Rx ?)
    Connect max232 pin 13 to phone serial cable pin 2 (should be Tx ?)
    Connect circuit ground to phone serial cable pin 5

    (If you connect it to the PC I assume you have a 9 pins DB female connector)

    It should work. If it doesn't invert connections at the serial cable pins 2 & 3

    Al.
    Hi,

    But is not need to give the nokia data cable any power?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yes it have and there are nokia cables to conect it to pc rs232 i have one from nokia and works fine with hyperterminal.
    Did you powered the cable working with hyperterminal? If not you don't need to do it with max232.

    Al.
    All progress began with an idea

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aratti View Post
    Did you powered the cable working with hyperterminal? If not you don't need to do it with max232.

    Al.
    Hi,

    When i use it with the pc hyperterminal there is no need for external power the com port it gives the power that i need it.

    Can i use in same code more the one Serout2/in2 on diferent ports to control phone and gps and others serial devices?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Can i use in same code more the one Serout2/in2 on diferent ports to control phone and gps and others serial devices?
    Yes you can. But when you service one device you don't see the others (If device A will send data while you are servicing device B, device A data will be lost"

    Al.
    Last edited by aratti; - 4th December 2008 at 22:44.
    All progress began with an idea

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by camolas View Post
    Can i use in same code more the one Serout2/in2 on diferent ports to control phone and gps and others serial devices?
    I have not done phones, but the others many times.

    As long as the pin is set for digital SERIN/OUT/2 will work on any pin that is an I/O, You can have as many pins as you want taking turns doing serial.
    You can mix and match SERIN, SERIN2, and HSERIN.
    If you are slick, you can HSERIN on the hardware and SEROUT on another.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    Then try SERIN2 in inverted mode for a test. Could be an external hardware problem?
    Hi,

    I have used Serin2 and works not in any 16f877a port it works on B.7 as Rx and in B.6 as Tx.

    Serout2 PortB.6, 84,["AT",13,10]
    Serin2 PortB.7,84, [wait ("ok")]
    High PortB.0

    Dont work in C.7 and C6, C4 and C5 big mess.....

    Can i used 2 diferents Serin2 and Serout2 in same code because i need to control phone and gps i was using hserin/out to phone and Serin2/out2 for gps.

    Thanks
    Last edited by camolas; - 4th December 2008 at 17:35.

Similar Threads

  1. solar tracker controller
    By CIRE in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: - 15th November 2016, 15:16
  2. Help Idea Off infrared tracker
    By jetpr in forum General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 11th September 2008, 08:22
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 27th July 2008, 06:14

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts