UART-not consistant


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Decrease the LCD_CommandUS value until the LCD fails (without the UART code)?
    I know the 'stock' LCD_CommandUS value is something like 1500us. All but one of the LCDs I've got here on my bench will run down to a value of 100 without a hitch (that 'one' needs 250).
    Might be the extra time you need.
    Incidentally, the PBP 2.50 manual shows 44 as the stock value for DATAUS. I don't have much luck going much slower than that. A couple of the LCDs will go down to 25, but most like 50us.
    And the code is set up for a 4 bit interface to the LCD. Switching to an 8 bit interface might shave another bit of timing off the LCD access.

    Past that, I'm thinking it'll be a pain to rewrite the LCDOUT code to check the Busy Flag rather just relying on a generic pause.
    Last edited by skimask; - 20th August 2008 at 23:48.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skimask View Post
    Decrease the LCD_CommandUS value until the LCD fails (without the UART code)?
    That was my "Bad Idea" that I deleted.

    It sounds good, but there are commands in the LCD Initialization sequence. So without the proper COMANNDUS the Init fails. Black box time again.

    I'd love to just say remove the LCD part, but that won't help since you can't see the results anymore.

    Still pondering.
    <br>
    DT

  3. #3
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darrel Taylor View Post
    That was my "Bad Idea" that I deleted.
    It sounds good, but there are commands in the LCD Initialization sequence. So without the proper COMANNDUS the Init fails. Black box time again.
    I'd love to just say remove the LCD part, but that won't help since you can't see the results anymore.
    Still pondering.
    <br>
    I figured that...simple, easy...but...doesn't hurt to try and decrease the value until the LCD fails completely and then bump it up a bit.
    I'm sure that stock value of 1500 will be able to be dropped by quite a bit. And even if a person can only get it down to 500, that's still 1ms saved.

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Hey Guys,

    Ok, I got rid of the LCD commands. I restructured the code such that it packs received data into memory locations and then towards the bottom of the code it scales the data to represent a duty cycle which is sent out to 3 I/O pins. I was able to receive via UART reliably, So basically I am able to equate the pulse widths to the data values. Also, manchester decoder is implemented in the code.


    Thanks for the help!!!
    Nick

Similar Threads

  1. PIC uart basics
    By Michael in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 27th September 2008, 19:11
  2. Grabbing word from UART buffer
    By Macgman2000 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 11th August 2008, 23:06
  3. Grabbing word from UART buffer
    By Macgman2000 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 11th August 2008, 16:13
  4. Bootloader for 16f87/88 that doesn't use UART
    By bcd in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: - 18th January 2008, 17:35
  5. External UART IC
    By Terry in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 22nd December 2005, 18:01

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts