programmer compatability, 16f88


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default programmer compatability, 16f88

    Could somebody please give me an idea as to why my programmer won't program 16f88 pic's.
    I'm trying to load a simple program
    Code:
     	CMCON = 7		' Disable Comparators
    	ansel = 0
    	
    	start:
    	portb.0 = 1
    	pause 1000
    	portb.0 = 0
    	pause 1000
    	goto start
    through my pic programer and checker board which I have programmed 16f84 and 16f628's many times before and still do, Ive included a picture of the schematic. I am using icprog with direct I/O invert mclear and invert vcc checked.cheers in advanced
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    47


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello, Is software problem or hardware proble?

    If its in software, you need to use TRIS command to select input or output on a pin and config directives like internal or external osc, mclr, etc.

    However, if you cant read/write your pic, probably it is not supported by your programmer.
    Last edited by Raflex; - 22nd July 2008 at 08:07.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i cannot get the program on to the pic, I just want to know what is the electrical programming difference between the 16f628 , 84 to the 88??? I wouldnt think there would be any?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    45


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Does your programmer support this PIC?
    Last edited by eggman; - 22nd July 2008 at 12:24. Reason: didn't read well

  5. #5
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cphillips82 View Post
    i cannot get the program on to the pic, I just want to know what is the electrical programming difference between the 16f628 , 84 to the 88??? I wouldnt think there would be any?
    www.microchip.com has all the programming specifications for the various PICs in various PDFs. And yes, there is a difference between the programming methods used from the 16f628 (old school) and the 16f88 (newer-ish school). Just because a programmer supports the 16f628/16f84 (old school), doesn't mean it supports the 16f88 (much newer in comparison).
    From the date on those pictures, it looks like 2001. I'm fairly sure that the 16F88 came out after much later.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    yes, this was made well before the 16f88 was out and even before the 16f628 yet that still works. seems a shame. I LOVE THIS BOARD!!

  7. #7
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cphillips82 View Post
    yes, this was made well before the 16f88 was out and even before the 16f628 yet that still works. seems a shame. I LOVE THIS BOARD!!
    In most cases, it's not the programmer hardware that makes or breaks it for a specific PIC, it's the firmware/software that's driving it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    icprog has seems like it should be able to handle it. it does com up with some other options when the 16f88 is selected which i'm not sure of, eg write enable, ccpmx?? i may try winpic
    Last edited by cphillips82; - 22nd July 2008 at 14:24. Reason: winprog lol

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    absolutely fluked it!!! winpic set as tait 7407 + pnp didnt work so played around abit and hit the "raise Vdd before MCLR = Vpp " ????? Bingo. think I may give myself a beer or 10 for that. it was the software letting her down like you said. she still got a few years left in her!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hyderabad (India)
    Posts
    123


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Are you not expected to indicate the chip and full configuration data while writing programs in BASIC?
    Regards,
    Sarma

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you're using PORTB.0=1 or PORTB.0=0 you'll want to include TRISB.0=0 first to make the
    pin an output, or change to HIGH 0 / LOW 0. Port pins are set as inputs by default on
    power-up.

    HIGH & LOW commands will automatically handle setting TRIS for you, where PORTB.0=? will
    not.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

Similar Threads

  1. Melabs U2 Programmer Command Line Options
    By Robert Wells in forum General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 3rd July 2009, 02:11
  2. problems with USB programmer
    By malc-c in forum General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 10th May 2007, 20:14
  3. USB programmer problems
    By uiucee2003 in forum USB
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 15th August 2006, 23:47
  4. Melabs USB Programmer
    By tmurph in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 25th December 2005, 03:25
  5. General Programmer Questions
    By mslaney in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 17th December 2004, 18:16

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts