DS2480D commands


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    64

    Default DS2480D commands

    I am looking into using a DS2480D and connecting a number of DS18S20s to it. I have the datasheet for both, but I seem to be overlooking the part covering the commands for the DS2480D.
    Am I to still use the same OW commands or are there different ones for it?
    Feels like my brain is disconnected from eyes.

    Could someone stick my nose in the right place?

    http://www.maxim-ic.com/appnotes.cfm/an_pk/192

  2. #2
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manwolf View Post
    I am looking into using a DS2480D and connecting a number of DS18S20s to it. I have the datasheet for both, but I seem to be overlooking the part covering the commands for the DS2480D.
    Am I to still use the same OW commands or are there different ones for it?
    Feels like my brain is disconnected from eyes.
    Could someone stick my nose in the right place?
    http://www.maxim-ic.com/appnotes.cfm/an_pk/192
    A - I don't know why you would want to use a '2480 since PBP supports one-wire just fine, and even multiple 1820's can be easily done with a PIC, PBP, and maybe a single external latch, multiple ways of connecting multiple 1820's.

    B - the command bits/bytes are listed in the app note, basically all over the place. There isn't a 'table of commands' in this instance. You have to piece it together.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Hi,

    a look here ???

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...42&postcount=7

    Elektor link leads to a "C" written PC datalogging system via USB ( 18F2550) ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    64


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Hmmm

    Maybe I should switch to DS18B20 temp chips and set the addresses myself. There will not be a lot of pins laying around with what I have in mind.
    I did find some code to query the bus to get the addresses but it uses a lot of space.

    Thanks for the suggestions, I will keep them in mind as I flesh out the design.

    Skimask - Thanks at least now I know I am not going crazy, I kept looking for the table but didn't find. Guess I need to print it out.

    Acetronics - I found that post last night and it might be an option, but it uses a PIC18F2550. I am working with 16F chips although I might end up with 18Fs before it is over.
    Last edited by manwolf; - 20th June 2008 at 02:32.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    79


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The ds18B20's are brilliant, and it's dead easy to address them from the pic all you need to find is the matching rom address for each device then talk to each one whenever you want
    Seeing you're then using 1 wire anyway you can add any other devices you want to it like the ds2405 switch? all depends on what exactly you want to do with the temp once you've read it/set it
    I followed Acetronics idea and it's dead simple, In my case I just built a small circuit and mounted it on the back of a 4 line lcd and using a usb lead JUST as the power supply and a TO-92 socket to plug the ds's into. then all you need is a small pic dedicated to reading the rom's (or reuse it afterwards for something else) and THIS(clicky) how to read the rom codes from 1 wire devices* and then this*(clicky) how to communicate with multiple 1 wire devices
    The 1 wire commands threw me for a while, took a bit to get my head round them and I'm still learning (now about eeprom and timers)
    Last edited by karenhornby; - 20th June 2008 at 10:04.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking more than Dead Simple ... its possible !!!

    Hi, Karen

    You already had it in your computer !!!

    EasyPic5 ... And MkBasic examples !!!

    I just made a little Mod : skip the CRC ...

    Demo Basic is enough to compile ...

    Just compile ( with MkBasic ) and throw to easyPic5 ( PortE.2 in use for DS comms )

    Alain ... Laughing !!!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 20th June 2008 at 13:30.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    64


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karenhornby View Post
    ... THIS(clicky) how to read the rom codes from 1 wire devices* and then this*(clicky) how to communicate with multiple 1 wire devices

    Love the THIS(clicky) and your links, I had already found one, but not the other Thank you.

    I would also like to say that it is not that we don't look, it is the fact that there are too many places to look. Examples might be included with one compiler, but not another. I have the EasyPic5, but didn't install MkBasic, went with PBP instead. Then I am reading here and see a post that an example is included with xyz, then I have to download and install xyz. My laptop has a very small drive and it is beginning to feel the strain! LOL
    Last edited by manwolf; - 20th June 2008 at 17:44.

Similar Threads

  1. LCD commands
    By ruijc in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 26th September 2008, 12:09
  2. Sending printer "Esc/Pos" commands
    By Kman in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 25th June 2007, 20:17
  3. PBP - are DEFINE command(s) mandatory?
    By flotulopex in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 15th September 2006, 16:43
  4. Timing in PICBasic Pro commands
    By freelancebee in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 11th September 2005, 00:50
  5. Cheapest mobile with AT Commands
    By frank small in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th December 2004, 08:20

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts