EasyPIC5 recommended project sources


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    64


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default I grabbed a copy PIC Sim

    Quote Originally Posted by rmteo View Post
    Here is a low cost simulator (available for PIC16 and PIC18) that is fun to use:
    http://www.oshonsoft.com/pic.html

    It has a decent range of hardware peripherals, is low cost and the BASIC compiler is very similar to PBP. You can try it for free (with no limitations) for 30 days.
    Downloaded that and have been trying out seems pretty complete. I have run a couple of their examples just to watch the ports and registers in action. It has helped get my head around the chips.


    Thanks Copy'nPatse
    So far I have been able to run most ME stuff on the EP5, that is until I tried the first LCD example. SO far I have not been able to get either board to display a thing.

    Code:
    '****************************************************************
    '*  Name    : Hello.BAS                                      *
    '*  Author  : Ted Crafton                                       *
    '*  Notice  : Copyright (c) 2008 PROGRAM SPECS                  *
    '*          : All Rights Reserved                               *
    '*  Date    : 6/10/2008                                         *
    '*  Version : 1.0                                               *
    '*  Notes   :                                                   *
    '*          :                                                   *
    '****************************************************************
    CLEAR
    DEFINE      LCD_DREG    PORTD
    DEFINE      LCD_RSREG   PORTE
    DEFINE      LCD_RSBIT   0
    DEFINE      LCD_EREG    PORTE
    DEFINE      LCD_EBIT    1
    DEFINE      LCD_RWREG   PORTE
    DEFINE      LCD_RWBIT   2
    DEFINE      LCD_BITS    8
    DEFINE      LCD_LINES   2
    DEFINE      LCD_COMMANDUS   2000
    DEFINE      LCD_DATAUS      20
    
    TRISD=%00000000
    TRISE=%00000000
    
    ADCON1=%00000111
    
    LOOP:
     LCDOUT $FE,1
     PAUSE 250
     LCDOUT "HELLO"
     LCDOUT $FE,$C0
     LCDOUT "WORLD"
     PAUSE 250
    GOTO LOOP
    END
    This is the LAB-X1 code, then I got distracted by the missing backlite resistor. Turns out the LCD does not have a backlite. Then the real world(work) came crashing in, so I haven't dug any further and not willing to say uncle yet. I'll dig in it tommorrow.


    If I didn't want opinions I wouldn't have joined a forum, so bring them on. The skin is thick and the ego was buried years ago. If you don't break it, you ain't trying hard enough.

  2. #2
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manwolf View Post
    So far I have been able to run most ME stuff on the EP5, that is until I tried the first LCD example. SO far I have not been able to get either board to display a thing.
    Code:
    DEFINE      LCD_DREG    PORTD
    DEFINE      LCD_RSREG   PORTE
    DEFINE      LCD_RSBIT   0
    DEFINE      LCD_EREG    PORTE
    DEFINE      LCD_EBIT    1
    DEFINE      LCD_RWREG   PORTE
    DEFINE      LCD_RWBIT   2
    DEFINE      LCD_BITS    8
    DEFINE      LCD_LINES   2
    DEFINE      LCD_COMMANDUS   2000
    DEFINE      LCD_DATAUS      20
    That's because the LCD on the EP5 uses port B not port E. Try
    Code:
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 5
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    This works with the 2 x 16 LCD that MikroElectronica supply with the EP5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
    That's because the LCD on the EP5 uses port B not port E. Try
    Code:
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 5
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    This works with the 2 x 16 LCD that MikroElectronica supply with the EP5
    Hi, MW

    those lines work fine with all the "classical" HD 44780 compatible devices ...
    may be some special characters are different ... but it works !

    Now, for learning you can download an old EPE paper about "intelligent LCDs" (Feb / March 1997 issue )

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    64


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Unhappy Red Faced

    Its aaaamazing but it you never load the program on the chip the LCD stays blank. DUH!!!

    I loaded my LED program instead of LCD. So the LEDS were blinking, but the LCD was blank. With the LEDS blinking I figured the problem was either in my code or the LCD.

    Mal-c>
    I was working with the ME board, but thanks for the tip. EP5 next. the first time I tried, I used PORTA figured I had the wrong one, so I decided to get it working on the ME board first to make sure my code was ok.
    Last edited by manwolf; - 13th June 2008 at 00:19.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try their demo .HEX files.. if it doesn't work.. it's a good sign you have something else wrong... easy enough to screw some jumper settings in their board... same rules if you forgot to adjust the contrast pot...
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. A Serial GLCD 128x64 Simple Project
    By Oldspring in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 8th March 2010, 20:58
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 27th July 2008, 06:14
  3. A Temperature & Humidity Data Recorder Project
    By Oldspring in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 9th July 2008, 18:47
  4. Tip: For Non working gLCD on EasyPic5 Board
    By manwolf in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 22nd June 2008, 18:07
  5. A category for Project Ideas
    By Pic_User in forum Forum Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 23rd June 2006, 07:29

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts