Pic Development Board


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 42

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    Hi, F lez

    For RB6 and RB7 behaviour ...

    what are the other functions of those pins ??? ... especially at programming time ???

    was no use to make a video to show us everything normal ...

    Consider yourself lucky the programming was OK with leds attached to these pins.


    Have a good cup of coffee and after that, look at what is "ICSP" ...

    Pics are not exactly Toys ... or they are somewhat advanced toys.

    Alain

    PS: you can download [freely] the EasyPic5 manuals : there are lots of info to help you understand what you consider as " problems " or " misfunctionning ".
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post
    Hi, F lez

    For RB6 and RB7 behaviour ...

    what are the other functions of those pins ??? ... especially at programming time ???
    Well at programming time I'd expect them to be programming the pic......

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post

    was no use to make a video to show us everything normal ...
    Thats ok, I didnt do that, I made a video showing abnormal behavior, if you watch it again, rb6 and r7 do not go logic high for some time after, even though rb0 to rb5 work ok.

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post

    Consider yourself lucky the programming was OK with leds attached to these pins.
    Yes I have fell foul of that before, and expected to have to disconnect them, but it seems the inbuilt programmer does not have an issue with it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post

    Have a good cup of coffee and after that, look at what is "ICSP" ...
    Been their done that, but its not exactly as ''on the fly' as this board provides.


    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post
    PS: you can download [freely] the EasyPic5 manuals : there are lots of info to help you understand what you consider as " problems " or " misfunctionning ".
    Well it would if the hardware was the same maybe, and as this issue is with the inbuilt programmer, I doubt it will shed much light. easypic does seem to have better/more docs though.


    As to the rb6 rb7 issues, they have admitted its a ''feature'' that after usb access the inbuilt programmer does not release them for a few seconds, as shown in my video.



    I know you all say ''should have got an easypic5'' well, I must admit, I do kind of wish I had, but it was going to cost more, and did not come in my favourite colour...........

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    133


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    just make one board and leer some electronics at the same time

    good lock
    My Hobbies is PicBasic PRO

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Simple 16x2 lcd code

    Hi,

    Tacke all j14 jumpers and use the jumper wires to conect the port and lcd

    Conections:

    J14 - PIC PORT

    PIN2 - PortB.2
    PIN3 - GND
    PIN4 - PortB.3
    PIN11 - PortB.4
    PIN12 - PortB.5
    Pin13 - PortB.6
    PIN14 - PortB.7

    *************************************************
    @ Device HS_OSC ' High Speed Crystal
    define OSC 20

    Include "modedefs.bas" ' Include serial modes

    ' Define LCD registers and bits this time not use it for later apps..
    Define LCD_DREG PORTB 'Lcd D 4-bit parallel register starts at PortB.4 to PortB.7
    Define LCD_DBIT 4
    Define LCD_RSREG PORTB
    Define LCD_RSBIT 2
    Define LCD_EREG PORTB
    Define LCD_EBIT 3
    Define LCD_COMMANDUS 2000 ' Command Delay (uS)
    Define LCD_DATAUS 50 ' Data Delay (uS)
    DefineLCD_LINES 2 'Number lines on LCD

    DEFINE HSER_RCSTA 90h ' Enable serial port & continuous receive
    DEFINE HSER_TXSTA 24h ' Enable transmit, BRGH = 1
    DEFINE HSER_SPBRG 129 ' 9600 Baud @ 20MHz, 0.16%
    DEFINE HSER_CLROERR 1 ' Clear overflow automatically


    LCDOut $FE, 1 ' Clear screen
    Pause 500 ' Wait .5 second

    LCDOut "Ola Paulo Filipe Santos" ' Display "Ola Paulo Filipe Santos"

    End
    ************************************************** ******

    Have fun.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Questions about these dev boards

    Hi,
    Sorry for bringing back this old topic, but there seems to be a lot of knowledgeable users of these products. I've been looking at both the EasyPIC6 and QL200, and I have to say I'm leaning to the EasyPIC, mainly for support and documentation reasons. But I've had a hard time trying to determining a couple of things about it.

    Firstly, is the MCU shown in the photos included, and what type is it? It doesn't seem to explicitly show this information on their site or in the documentation.

    From what I've read, I can use MPLAB (and Hi-Tech C or Microchip C18, etc.). I usually use Pickit2 or 3 to program my PICs, but I assume the board will come with drivers for the mikroICD interface for MPLAB? I'm wrong on these points?

    Also, will it only drive the MCU and peripherals at 5V, or can other voltages (eg. 3.3V) be used/selected?

    Thanks in advance,
    Angelo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    240


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    I've got an EasyPIC6 Board. The board comes with 1 PIC16F887. I think you have ane option on MikroEkektronic site, that you can purchase the board with 1 - 2X16 LDC and 1 GLCD with touchpanel. Mine, was purchased with this items.
    Thanks and Regards;
    Gadelhas

  7. #7
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have an EasyPIC5 and it came with a 16F877 (or 877A - can't remember). I comes with it's own software for loading the compiled HEX which can be generated through MSC and MPASM (the latter being part of Microchips MPLAB]

    Personally I would recommend the any of the EasyPIC boards for most of the reasons you mentioned plus there are loads of additional boards that simply plug onto the headers, and example is shown below



    I've been happy with my EP5 board and feel it's been well worth the investment. Yes the downside is that it runs at 5v and there is no 3.3v regulation - but then maybe the EasyPIC7 is just around the corner ????

    Interestingly having revisited the LQ site they have a board that features support for a range of 16bit chips http://www.pic16.com/en/wzcapi/dsPIC3.htm



    It also has some nice features like serial over Ethernet on board
    Last edited by malc-c; - 25th August 2010 at 17:03. Reason: update

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ARQuattr View Post
    From what I've read, I can use MPLAB (and Hi-Tech C or Microchip C18, etc.). I usually use Pickit2 or 3 to program my PICs, but I assume the board will come with drivers for the mikroICD interface for MPLAB? I'm wrong on these points?

    Also, will it only drive the MCU and peripherals at 5V, or can other voltages (eg. 3.3V) be used/selected?
    Yes, the board allows you to program with Mikroe's PicFlash programming utility using the USB port on the board. This is a pretty nice utility. I too use the Pickit2 and like that very much, but the PicFlash was not hard to get used to. It can also be adjusted to work with MicroCode Studio for one button compiling & programming.

    I think the bummer part of the board, is that it does not allow you to use it with both 5 and 3.3 volt devices. I started messing with the power supply to hack it a bit, but selected the wrong resistor, so I have a little more work to do to see if I can make my own selector switch. Of course, I doubt if I can get any of the LCD's to work with that hack.

    They now offer another board that only does 3.3 volt devices. http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/v...opment-system/ I currently use a breadboard for 3.3v devices.
    http://www.scalerobotics.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks everyone for your helpful replies.

Similar Threads

  1. microcode studio and ql200 development board
    By mombasa in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 1st October 2015, 17:28
  2. Pretty cool display and development board PIC_LCD3310
    By ScaleRobotics in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 17th April 2010, 10:05
  3. pic first build test board not running
    By comwarrior in forum Schematics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 29th June 2009, 16:48
  4. universal PIC Board (PCB)
    By NavMicroSystems in forum Schematics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 19th September 2005, 19:13
  5. Development Board
    By carl_schell in forum Adverts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 21st July 2004, 08:39

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts