Problem with porta.5 on pic 16f873A


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    44

    Default Problem with porta.5 on pic 16f873A

    I try many changes but i can't give high on porta.5 pin.all other pins are working as digital but porta.5 don't work.what i miss here can anyone help me?
    I am using pic pasic pro ver 2.47 and my code is the following:

    "
    define osc 20

    ADCON1=7
    CMCON=7
    TRISA=0
    PORTA=0
    TRISB=0
    PORTB=0
    SSPCON=0
    porta.0=1
    porta.1=1
    porta.2=1
    porta.3=1
    porta.4=1
    porta.5=1
    end
    "

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Without looking at the data sheet, my first guess would be that it has an open collector output and needs a pullup resistor as the result . . .Gotta love those data sheets.
    Edit: Nope portA.4 is open drain. A.5 appears to be a standard I/O, maybe your PIC is damaged, maybe your breadboard is bad. Check the pin with your voltmeter directly on the pin itself.<br> http://www.kirlian-photography.com/video/PIC16F87XA.pdf
    Last edited by Archangel; - 18th March 2008 at 16:35.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,615


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Hi,

    Could it be a short circuit between PortA.5 and Vss ... the next pin ???

    just an idea ... and a very good reason not to reach "1" state !!!

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You are correct.I find the problem.I was short circuit between porta.5 and gnd from breadboard .the good is that pin is steel working.thanks acetronics and joe.s for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. Pic getting part power from Analog Port
    By ShaneMichael in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 22nd April 2009, 10:34
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 31st March 2009, 12:04
  3. PIC 18f1220 EUSART Baud Rate Cache Problem
    By wklose99 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 15th April 2008, 00:39
  4. PIC to PIC communication problem
    By precision in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 21st June 2007, 03:51
  5. PC - PIC problem...
    By menhwa in forum Serial
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 20th February 2006, 19:57

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts