"hello world" with 18f6680


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 92

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i have actually made d.4 an I/O connection on my board.. there is three pins, ground, + and signal (just like a servo). so i had an LED hooked to it, but since then, i have just hooked up my multimeter, and its not showing any voltage across signal to ground when i put it high. i do get 5V across the + and ground. and i can write code to the PIC, and i can read the same code back off the PIC.. its a double stacked board, and i soldered the headers into both boards, so i may need to try to get them apart to look inside where the PIC is..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA.
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Isn't that always the way? Hopefully you'll see something easy to fix when you get it opened up, it's got to be something simple. The 18F chips are great once you get the hang of them, just keep at it, and remember, we do this for fun right?

    Merry Christmas!

    Jerry.
    If your oscilloscope costs more than your car...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i did find one little thing... one pin from my OSC was touching a 5V line... so i fixed that, but im still not getting any voltage on any pins...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    How are you programming the fuses? In the code or the *.inc??

    Either way, post the config settings. The 18s are different ...


    This is a snippet of my 18F4320.inc
    Code:
    	
    
    	
    	CONFIG OSC = HS
    
    	CONFIG LVP = OFF
    
    	CONFIG BOR = OFF
    
    	CONFIG MCLRE = OFF
    
      
    
      ;      __CONFIG    _CONFIG1H, _XT_OSC_1H
    
      ;      __CONFIG    _CONFIG2H, _WDT_ON_2H & _WDTPS_512_2H
    
      ;      __CONFIG    _CONFIG4L, _LVP_OFF_4L
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    ok... i have tried to get this to work lots since last year, adn it still wont do anything. i have pulled apart both boards and checked all the solder joints with my meter, and have gone over and over the design to make sure everything is wired properly. i have replaced the OSC with another one. there is .1uf caps spead out over the board, and i have a 1M ohm resistor from PGM to ground.

    i can program code into the chip, and i can read it back, it just wont run. i have an LED connected from D4 to a resistor and then to gnd. all the other ports i have put my meter on and watched for voltage changes.

    my code is:

    DEFINE OSC 20
    pause 500
    start:
    High porta.0
    high porta.1
    High porta.2
    high porta.3
    High porta.4
    High porta.5
    High porta.6
    High porta.7

    High portb.0
    high portb.1
    High portb.2
    high portb.3
    High portb.4
    High portb.5
    High portb.6
    High portb.7

    High portc.0
    high portc.1
    High portc.2
    high portc.3
    High portc.4
    High portc.5
    High portc.6
    High portc.7

    High portd.0
    high portd.1
    High portd.2
    high portd.3
    High portd.4
    High portd.5
    High portd.6
    High portd.7

    High porte.0
    high porte.1
    High porte.2
    high porte.3
    High porte.4
    High porte.5
    High porte.6
    High porte.7

    High portf.0
    high portf.1
    High portf.2
    high portf.3
    High portf.4
    High portf.5
    High portf.6
    High portf.7

    High portg.0
    high portg.1
    High portg.2
    high portg.3
    High portg.4
    high portg.5
    High portg.6
    high portg.7

    pause 300

    low porta.0
    low porta.1
    low porta.2
    low porta.3
    low porta.4
    low porta.5
    low porta.6
    low porta.7

    low portb.0
    low portb.1
    low portb.2
    low portb.3
    low portb.4
    low portb.5
    low portb.6
    low portb.7

    low portc.0
    low portc.1
    low portc.2
    low portc.3
    low portc.4
    low portc.5
    low portc.6
    low portc.7

    low portd.0
    low portd.1
    low portd.2
    low portd.3
    low portd.4
    low portd.5
    low portd.6
    low portd.7

    low porte.0
    low porte.1
    low porte.2
    low porte.3
    low porte.4
    low porte.5
    low porte.6
    low porte.7

    low portf.0
    low portf.1
    low portf.2
    low portf.3
    low portf.4
    low portf.5
    low portf.6
    low portf.7

    low portg.0
    low portg.1
    low portg.2
    low portg.3
    low portg.4
    low portg.5
    low portg.6
    low portg.7
    pause 300
    goto start
    end



    and the fuses are set as:

    OSC "HS"
    System clock "disabled"
    power up timer "disabled"
    brown out reset "enabled"
    brown out voltage "2.0V"
    watchdog timer " enabled"
    watchdog postscaler "1:128"
    ccp2 multiplexed with "RC1"
    mclr pin function "reset"
    overflow reset "enabled"
    LVP "disabled"
    boot block "not protected"

    im using microcode studio, mpasm and an epic programmer.

  6. #6
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    [QUOTE=dragons_fire;49764]
    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 20
    pause 500
    trisa = 0 : trisb = 0 : trisc = 0 : trisd = 0
    trise = 0 : trisf = 0 : trisg = 0 : trish = 0
    start:
    porta = $ff : portb = $ff : portc = $ff
    portd = $ff : porte = $ff : portf = $ff
    portg = $ff
    pause 300
    porta = 0 : portb = 0 : portc = 0 : portd = 0
    porte = 0 : portf = 0 : portg = 0
    pause 300
    goto start
    end
    Easier to read in my mind And accomplishes the same thing.
    What I like to do when I'm having initial problems is something like this:
    counter var word : trisb = 0 : trisd = 0
    main:
    counter = counter + 1
    portb = counter.lowbyte : portd = counter.highbyte
    goto main
    Something simple like that. At least that way, on each successive pin, I'll see half the frequency of the previous pin.

    All of the Vdd/AVdd tied together as well as the Vss/AVss? Multiple power/ground pins ya know... Actually, I know you know...Treadbot...worked...sort of...sorry to hear it didn't work 100% for ya. Looked like fun.
    Pull up to +5v on MCLR? Preferably thru a resistor...
    Volts on the OSC pins should give about a 1.5v signal, give or take a bit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default fuses

    Hello Dragon's_fire.
    Here are some config fuses taken from the .INC in the MPASM directory. it might help.
    Code:
    @ __CONFIG _OSC_HS_1H & _LVP_OFF & _WDT_ON_2H & _BOR_OFF_2L &  _PWRT_ON_2L & _WRT0_OFF_6L & _CPD_OFF_5H
    JS
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skimask;49770[code
    DEFINE OSC 20
    pause 500
    trisa = 0 : trisb = 0 : trisc = 0 : trisd = 0
    trise = 0 : trisf = 0 : trisg = 0 : trish = 0
    start:
    porta = $ff : portb = $ff : portc = $ff
    portd = $ff : porte = $ff : portf = $ff
    portg = $ff
    pause 300
    porta = 0 : portb = 0 : portc = 0 : portd = 0
    porte = 0 : portf = 0 : portg = 0
    pause 300
    goto start
    end
    [/code]
    just wondering if doing it this way decreases code size too, or if it just makes for less typing??? im working on writing some code for this project (if i can ever get the board to work) and i know it would make the code smaller to look at if i did it as above, but i think it would be harder to write since i have labeled all my ports for what they do, so when i write it, i use those "labels"....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dragons_fire View Post

    and the fuses are set as:

    OSC "HS"
    <font color=red>System clock "disabled"
    </font color>power up timer "disabled"
    brown out reset "enabled"
    brown out voltage "2.0V"
    watchdog timer " enabled"
    watchdog postscaler "1:128"
    ccp2 multiplexed with "RC1"
    mclr pin function "reset"
    overflow reset "enabled"
    LVP "disabled"
    boot block "not protected"

    i'm using microcode studio, mpasm and an epic programmer.
    What does it mean system clock disabled? Does this mean no oscillator?
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe S. View Post
    What does it mean system clock disabled? Does this mean no oscillator?
    im not sure... i have tried it on both enabled and disabled. those were taken from the config settings of my programmer.

Similar Threads

  1. 18f6680 N/C
    By mackrackit in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 29th April 2008, 20:21
  2. need help with "hello world" in hyperterm
    By ericmiles in forum Serial
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 31st October 2007, 15:08
  3. 18F6680 and portd problems.
    By jkbh in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 6th June 2005, 10:54

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts