Help! use PBP246 for PIC18F2525


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8

    Angry Help! use PBP246 for PIC18F2525

    We have tried to transfer from PIC16F to PIC18F2525. When we evaluated the PIC2525 with code to diaplay something in LCD,we failed:
    coded in PICBasic ;
    compiled using PBP246+MPLab V8;
    The machine code did not work, there is nothing in LCD, but if we programm in ASM directly,it works.
    And, if we embeded ASM lines into PicBasic lines,it didn't work either!


    We have studied the PBP246 & PIC18F2525 for a long time,but no advance.
    Anyone faced this kind of question too before?
    Any advice is welcome!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Anyone use pbp246 over PIC2525 ?

  3. #3
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dragon View Post
    Anyone use pbp246 over PIC2525 ?
    Code used in PBP?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    For what i remind, PBP2.46 & PIC18F2525 worked for me. As Skimask says, just post your code here.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Storrs, Ct.
    Posts
    91


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Yes it works.

    I know for a fact it works as I have a display board with 3 MAX6957's burning away right now with an 18f2525@ 20Mhz. I migrated from a 16f876 and had a few setup issues with registers but it went reasonably well.

    Hope this helps..
    "It will never happen here!" just happened here.
    My thoughts and prayers for Sandy Hook victims and families.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks,try once more, if failed I will post the test code.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default test code

    DEFINE OSC 8
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTA

    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTA
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTA
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 5
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 4000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 100

    CMCON = 7
    ADCON1 = 6
    TRISA = %11000000


    PAUSE 5000

    loop:
    Lcdout $fe, 1 ' Clear LCD screen
    Lcdout "Hello" ' Display Hello
    Pause 1000 ' Wait .5 second

    Lcdout $fe, 1 ' Clear LCD screen
    Lcdout "World"
    Pause 1000 ' Wait .5 second


    Goto loop ' Do it forever


    End
    Last edited by dragon; - 23rd December 2007 at 02:38.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    it doesn't work! please help! thanks



    Quote Originally Posted by dragon View Post
    DEFINE OSC 8
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTA

    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTA
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTA
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 5
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 4000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 100

    CMCON = 7
    ADCON1 = 6
    TRISA = %11000000


    PAUSE 5000

    loop:
    Lcdout $fe, 1 ' Clear LCD screen
    Lcdout "Hello" ' Display Hello
    Pause 1000 ' Wait .5 second

    Lcdout $fe, 1 ' Clear LCD screen
    Lcdout "World"
    Pause 1000 ' Wait .5 second


    Goto loop ' Do it forever


    End

  9. #9
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dragon View Post
    We have studied the PBP246 & PIC18F2525 for a long time,but no advance.
    Then study more you must...
    In your case...

    Port A, Bit 0-3 = data bits for LCD
    Port A, bit 4 = e for LCD
    Port A, bit 5 = rs for LCD

    ADCON1 = 6
    According to the datasheet I've got...
    You've set up: ADCON1 = %0000110
    Vref+/Vref- on Vdd/Vss...
    AN9-AN12 = digital, AN8-AN0 = analog...

    Do ya see any important information up there?

    Page 224 of Microchip datasheet DS39626D...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default thanks! the problem has solved.

    CMCON should be defined correct value.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    Skimask,Thank you very much for kindly explaination.

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts