Need advice for creating nS time delay


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 29 of 29

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Alain,

    I already got it working weeks ago.

    The issue is that I need to make it work at 4Mhz.

    For new sampling, I am giving it more then it needs. (it needs 3.7mS, I give it 10mS).

    BTW; I added Application note; sampling example to my post above.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4,115


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Sayzer.

    As Alain said and after looking at the datasheets, there is no need for hyper speed controller. What the DS states, are the minimum pulse width that you are allowed to apply. So, in case you have an extra-super-duper-high-speed controller capable to output 1ps pulses the sensor won't be able to follow.

    You can just apply the pulses as fast as possible for the unique reason, to get your data soon. Otherwise there is no need to hurry.

    As I understood the procedure:

    1. MCU applies a high pulse for at least 200ns

    2. MCU enter Z-state and sensor understands that MCU will read now the data

    3. Sensor outputs the data bit

    4. MCU reads the data bit

    5. MCU outputs new high pulse

    etc...

    All you have to do is repeat the cycle as fast as possible if you want "real time" surveilance.

    Ioannis


    Ioannis

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ok;

    Thanks Alain and Ioannis.

    Since the circuit worked very well at 20Mhz, I thought I was holding the sensor too long at 4Mhz. I must be having some other simple issue based on what you two have said.

    I will work on this direction.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Hi, Ioannis

    The problem here is the sensor "1" level lasts only 1µS ....

    the only solution I see here is use an asm part to generate the high state and test the pin as soon as end of high state .

    If i remember ... it's the trick used to test if a pin is low, high or Hi-Z ... !!!

    ( thanks for the last picture, Sayzer ...)

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4,115


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Where is this 1µs? Did I missed it?

    As I understood, the sensor will respond only when the MC enters Z-state.

    Ioannis

    P.S. Oh I got it. But Alain, this is settling time, not bit width time.
    Last edited by Ioannis; - 11th December 2007 at 11:47.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ioannis View Post
    P.S. Oh I got it. But Alain, this is settling time, not bit width time.
    Hi, Ioannis

    looks the sensor output is seen by the PIC like a small capacitor ...and this capacitor is discharged by the low state of the pic pin ... not by the sensor itself.

    this is a little confusing in the datasheet as the settling time is called as bitwidth time !!!

    That explains why Ingvar's program works well ...

    INPUT Datapin 'Let PIR control the Datapin

    PIRdata.0(i) = Datapin 'Sample the datapin

    surely need more than 1µs to be done !!! ...


    Thanks, Ingvar ... we've learnt something !

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Alain, surely that was obvious ....... Nah, must admit that it wasn't all that clear in the datasheet.

    I figure the PIR must be driving the output with resistors since there would otherwise often be a collision when the MCU drives the pin. No good. Driving via resistors will always be sensitive to capacitance on the lead and therefore a settlingtime will be needed. I figured it had to be this way since they specified tbit as "Data bit settling time" with a 10pF load.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4,115


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It is kind like the 1-wire of Dallas devices. They are active low with pull up resistors, so that collisions can be avoided.

    Ioannis

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    My guess is that this code will work......

    Code:
    @ device  pic12F675, protect_off, mclr_off
    
    define OSC 4
    DEFINE OSCCAL_1K 1	            'Set OSCCAL for 1K device
    
    DataPin     VAR GPIO.0              'DOCI on the PIR
    PIRdata     VAR WORD                
    i           VAR BYTE
    
    ANSEL = 0                           'No AD on 12F675
    CMCON = %00010111                   'Digital pins - no comparator
    WPU = 0                             'No pullups
    
    WHILE 1                             'Do forever
        HIGH GPIO.1                     'Set a pin to time the reading
        GOSUB ReadPIR                   'Call the Sub
        LOW GPIO.1                      'Reset a pin to time the reading
        PAUSE 10                        'Just something to sync the scope
    WEND
       
    
    ReadPIR:
        INPUT DataPin                   'Let PIR control the Datapin
        PIRdata = 0                     'Use this time to let Datapin settle
        WHILE DataPin = 0 : WEND        'Wait for PIR to indicate "new data"
        PAUSEUS 25                      'Wait for PIR to fiddle with the data
        FOR i = 14 to 0 STEP -1         'Loop to get 15bits
            LOW DataPin                 'Force Datapin Low
            HIGH Datapin                'Force Datapin High
            INPUT Datapin               'Let PIR control the Datapin
    ' You may need a short pause here if you have long wires to the PIR    
            PIRdata.0(i) = Datapin      'Sample the datapin
        NEXT
        LOW DataPin                     'Force Datapin Low
        INPUT Datapin                   'Let PIR control the Datapin
        RETURN
        
    END
    ... it compiles and runs as expected. Only problem is that i don't have a PIR to verify it with, it does however look OK on a scope. If i have interpreted the datasheet correctly you should be flying.

    /Ingvar

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ingvar,

    I tested your code a minute ago; with some additions;

    Congratulations! It works flawlessly.

    My code is almost the same as yours.

    What I see here is that, when we set the pin HIGH and then LOW, the time it takes to set the pins is already good enough for the sensor reading.
    Last edited by sayzer; - 11th December 2007 at 12:22.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    Good to know that we have working code ... if i ever buy one of theese PIRs.

Similar Threads

  1. 16F628A - Stops if release power switch.
    By dene12 in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 14th February 2009, 07:57
  2. Old and beyond help ?
    By DavidFMarks in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: - 11th December 2008, 15:23
  3. Memory Space of the PIC16F84...
    By Tear in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 1st July 2005, 19:55
  4. Problem with saving to EEPROM...
    By Tear in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 1st July 2005, 00:10
  5. Linx RF -> HSERIN time delay / time critical app...
    By batee in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 15th October 2004, 15:04

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts