Maximun Cable Length for PIC to LCD - Page 2


Closed Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 41 to 53 of 53
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,848


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Darrel!

    How long is that flat cable on the second LCD? It seems really long!

    Ioannis

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    25 Ft.

    I think wildbilly's going to run it at 40 Ft.
    <br>
    DT

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,848


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That's impressive! About 8,5 meters! Lets see what wildbilly will do on the 40ft.
    Great code Darrel.

    Ioannis

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    30


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Merry Christmas to all and a happy new year. Hi Darrel. I have not been able to do much since you gave me the "Hex". Remember those two fingers? OK, seriously your code works flawlessly. I have been able to run both LCD's on 40ft of cable. Thanks very much for your time and code. I learned a lot this year from this forum, thanks to all especially Darrel.
    Hopefully much more projects in the new year.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That's Great wildbilly.
    And Happy New Year to you too.

    I was hoping it would go the 40ft. but wasn't sure.

    Don't want to ruin it for you if you're still trying to do 3 LCD's, but I can show you how, if you give up.

    regards,
    DT

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    30


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Darrel. I would like to know how to do 3 LCD's. I won't turn down a chance of learning more. Thanks

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OK, let's go with the learning ... idea ...

    Here's the changes to add 1 more display to what we already have.
    Mostly, it's just "more of the same".

    These are the same 3 sections that were modified the last time.
    New changes are in red ...

    Main Program
    Code:
    ;----[ Change these to match your LCD ]---------------------------------------
    LCD_DB4   VAR PORTB.0
    LCD_DB5   VAR PORTB.1
    LCD_DB6   VAR PORTB.2
    LCD_DB7   VAR PORTB.3
    LCD_RS    VAR PORTB.4
    
    LCD_E1    VAR PORTB.5
    LCD_E2    VAR PORTB.6
    LCD_E3    VAR PORTD.0   
    
    LCDEN     VAR BYTE BANK0  ; Enable bits for each LCD
      LCD1EN  VAR LCDEN.0
      LCD2EN  VAR LCDEN.1
      LCD3EN  VAR LCDEN.2
    
    LCD_Lines     CON 2     ; # of Lines on LCD,  1 or 2 (Note: use 2 for 4 lines)
    LCD_DATAUS    CON 50    ; Data delay time in us 
    LCD_COMMANDUS CON 2000  ; Command delay time in us 
    
    INCLUDE "LCD_AnyPin.pbp"  ; *** Include MUST be AFTER LCD Pin assignments ****
    LOW LCD_E1              ; Start with Enables OUTPUT LOW
    LOW LCD_E2
    LOW LCD_E3
    LCD_AnyPin.pbp
    Code:
    ASM
    LCD_Port_HNIB  macro           ; Port definition for LCD High Nibble
        Vbit   LCDCDFLAG, _LCD_RS  ; Select Command/Data register
        DelayUS  2
        NOP
        Vpin   4, _LCD_DB4         ; Put the High Nibble on the bus
        Vpin   5, _LCD_DB5
        Vpin   6, _LCD_DB6
        Vpin   7, _LCD_DB7
        DelayUS  2
    
        btfsc    _LCD1EN           ; Set enable(s) High
        bsf      _LCD_E1
        btfsc    _LCD2EN
        bsf      _LCD_E2
        btfsc    _LCD3EN
        bsf      _LCD_E3
        DelayUS  5                 ; hold for 5us
        bcf      _LCD_E1           ; Enable(s) Low - Clocks data
        bcf      _LCD_E2
        bcf      _LCD_E3
      endm
    ;-----------------------    
    LCD_Port_LNIB  macro           ; Port definition for LCD Low Nibble 
        Vpin   0, _LCD_DB4         ; Put the Low Nibble on the bus
        Vpin   1, _LCD_DB5
        Vpin   2, _LCD_DB6
        Vpin   3, _LCD_DB7
        DelayUS  2
    
        btfsc    _LCD1EN           ; Set enable(s) High
        bsf      _LCD_E1
        btfsc    _LCD2EN
        bsf      _LCD_E2
        btfsc    _LCD3EN
        bsf      _LCD_E3
        DelayUS  5                 ; hold for 5us
        bcf      _LCD_E1           ; Enable(s) Low - Clocks data
        bcf      _LCD_E2
        bcf      _LCD_E3
      endm
    ENDASM

    LCD_AnyPin.pbp
    Code:
    ;----[Initialize the LCD]-------------------(DO NOT Change)-------------------
    LCD_Init:
    @   OutputPort  LCD_Port_HNIB    ; Set LCD bus to OUTPUT
        LCDEN = %111                 ; Initialize all LCD's at the same time
        LOW LCD_RS                   ; Start with RS LOW
        Char = 3   : gosub  LCDsendShortCOM : @  DelayUS 6000
                     gosub  LCDsendShortCOM : @  DelayUS 1000
                     gosub  LCDsendShortCOM : @  DelayUS 1000
        Char = 2   : gosub  LCDsendShortCOM : @  DelayUS 1000  ; Start 4-bit mode
        Char = $28 : gosub  LCDsendCOM  ; Function Set, 4-bit, 2-line, 5x7
        Char = $0C : gosub  LCDsendCOM  ; Display ON
        Char = $01 : gosub  LCDsendCOM  ; Clear Screen
        Char = $06 : gosub  LCDsendCOM  ; Entry Mode
        LCD_Initialized = 1             ; LCD has been Initialized
    goto LCDAfterInit
    And then, to use it.
    It still works the same as before.
    But now it's easier to treat the Enable bits like a binary number.
    With each bit representing a different display ...
    Code:
        LCDEN = %001
        LCDOUT $FE,$80, "Display 1"
        
        LCDEN = %010
        LCDOUT $FE,$80, "Display 2"
    
        LCDEN = %100
        LCDOUT $FE,$80, "Display 3"
        
        LCDEN = %111
        LCDOUT $FE,$C0, "ALL Displays"
    And that should be it.<hr>
    Now, Even though this all works fine ...
    I don't like it.

    After making all the changes to get 3 LCD's to work.
    It's still limited to 3 LCD's.
    If you want 4, then you have to go modify it again.
    Then if you want to use 2 LCD's on another project. It'll throw a bunch of errors, that won't make sense 6 months from now.

    Then there's the Timing options.
    What if the cable is longer? Or shorter? How do you adjust the delays?

    So what I've done, is create a new module that should incorporate everything learned here, and allow everyone to have up to 8 LCD's on long or short cables without to much hassle.

    But it takes longer to post the thread, than it does to write the program.
    And I Gotta work tomorrow too.

    Feel free to use the code I just posted (it should work)
    Or you may want to wait for my next post in the PBP Extensions forum. (day or two)<hr>
    P.S. It's unfortunate that we still won't know the answer to your first question.
    Quote Originally Posted by wildbilly
    What is the maximum cable length of cable that can be used between Pic and LCD?
    Uhhh, 40 ft, as far as we can say.
    But who knows?
    <br>
    DT

  8. #48
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Question from the sidelines...maybe an idea...not sure...haven't looked into it yet...

    Couldn't the LCDOUT command itself be 'hi-jacked' inside on of the macros to change the E line assignment dynamically? As far as I know, LCDs won't do squat unless the E line is pulsed.
    Maybe something like:
    LCDOUT $fe , $fe , 0 , "First LCD"
    LCDOUT $fe , $fe , 1 , "Second LCD"
    LCDOUT $fe , $fe , 2 , "Third LCD"
    ....and so on and so on...
    As far as I know, there aren't any character LCDs any wider than 40 characters. If the second character in the 'string' was anything above $FC, it could be a 'hijack' command...
    or something like that anyways...
    As for myself, like I said before, I'm running 3 different types of LCDs on my OBD interface right now (16x2 parallel, 122x32 graphic mode, and a 130x130 Nokia color knockoff).
    Guess which one is the easiest to interface with?

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skimask
    Maybe something like:
    LCDOUT $fe , $fe , 0 , "First LCD"
    LCDOUT $fe , $fe , 1 , "Second LCD"
    ...
    Sure,

    With complete control of the LCDOUT command, you can do pretty much whatever you want.

    And, It's not a bad idea.

    So, with the existing code from this thread.
    Changing the LCDsend routine like this ...
    Code:
    ;----[Send a byte to the Virtual LCD PORT]------------(DO NOT Change)---------
    TempChar        var  byte
    Char            VAR  Byte
    LCD_Initialized VAR  FLAGS.1
    RSS             VAR  FLAGS.0                ; LCD RS State
    HJ_Command      VAR  BIT
    
    ;----[ This routine is called once for every character sent by LCDOUT ]-------
    LCDsend:
          @  MOVE?AB  _TempChar                 ; Get char sent by LCDOUT, in WREG
          if !LCD_Initialized then LCD_Init     ; Make sure LCD was Initialized 
      LCDAfterInit:
    
          IF HJ_Command then LCDEN = TempChar : HJ_Command = 0 : goto LCDsendDone
          IF RSS then NO_HJcheck
          IF TempChar = $FE then RSS = 1 : HJ_Command = 1 : goto LCDsendDone
      NO_HJcheck:
    
          if TempChar = $FE then RSS=0 : goto LCDsendDone ; next char is Command 
          Char = TempChar
      LCDsendCOM:
          @  WritePort   _Char, LCD_Port_HNIB   ; send the High Nibble
      LCDsendShortCOM:
          @  WritePort   _Char, LCD_Port_LNIB   ; send the Low Nibble
    
          IF RSS = 0 then                    ; Is a Command
              IF Char = 1 then CommandDelay     ; Long delay for Clear Screen
              IF Char = 2 then CommandDelay     ; Long delay for Home
              @  DelayUS   _LCD_DATAUS          ; Short delay for everything else
              goto DelayDone
          else                                  
              @  DelayUS   _LCD_DATAUS          ; Short delay for Data
              goto DelayDone
          endif
      CommandDelay:
          @  DelayUS   _LCD_COMMANDUS
      DelayDone:
        if LCD_Initialized then RSS = 1       ; Set RS to Data next time
      LCDsendDone:
    return
    Then you can embed the LCD selection inside the LCDOUT statements...
    Code:
        LCDOUT $FE,$FE,%001, $FE,$80, "Display 1"
        LCDOUT $FE,$FE,%010, $FE,$80, "Display 2"
        LCDOUT $FE,$FE,%100, $FE,$80, "Display 3"
        LCDOUT $FE,$FE,%111, $FE,$C0, "ALL Displays"
    And it still works the original way too. (Choices)
    Code:
        LCDEN = %001
        LCDOUT $FE,$80, "Display 1"
        
        LCDEN = %010
        LCDOUT $FE,$80, "Display 2"
    
        LCDEN = %100
        LCDOUT $FE,$80, "Display 3"
        
        LCDEN = %111
        LCDOUT $FE,$C0, "ALL Displays"
    Now I really gotta go to bed.
    DT

  10. #50
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darrel Taylor View Post
    And, It's not a bad idea.
    I get 'em once in a great while...

    So, with the existing code from this thread.................
    and here I spent the better part of a few hours last night messing with the core macros.
    I'm digging this idea much better. (Yes, I said 'digging' )

  11. #51
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    Maybe you'll Dig this idea too.

    GLCD's using LCDOUT.
    <br>
    DT

  12. #52
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darrel Taylor View Post
    Maybe you'll Dig this idea too.

    GLCD's using LCDOUT.
    <br>
    Well, I don't exactly use LCDOUT for the GLCD, but I do the 'printstr' from awhile back to do the display with it, and I modified a version for the Nokia ('printstr2', original eh?), and I used that 'copystr' from awhile back, modified another couple of versions into 'printvar' and 'printvar2', defined a dedicated string, use it only with those macros, handle it outside of the printvar routines, and send it out when I want it, along with the x,y. Works for me...

    I suppose it wouldn't be that hard, relatively speaking anyways, to hijack the lcdout command further...maybe a predefined types (i.e. DEFINE LCDTYPE $00 ; low nybble = lcd number, high nybble = lcd type, this case, first lcd, parallel, another case DEFINE LCDTYPE $11; low nybble = second lcd, high nybble = 122x32,SED1520 type, and so on...).

    Great...more crap to do...

    Question: How would one go about turning this sort of thing into a 'One Stop Shop' solution for extending PBP's capabilities? One that wouldn't involve modifying libraries, macro sets, or other files... A single include file or would this involve some sort of remaking the compiler itself? Those printstr and printvar macros I've got are all in-line with my normal code in all my programs. Yes, those could easily be done with a single 'include' file. But, would there be an easy way to add these 'extensions' by default? Not only for this LCD modification, but for the matrix keypad, SD card access, IDE access, '1820 reading, etc?
    Last edited by skimask; - 1st January 2008 at 10:45.

  13. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    that would be really nice indeed... i think it's more a pre-compiler option, not sure how Melabs could give such compiler access... i know an automated solution, but, it's still in stage.

    Yeah, there's a lot of new things in MisterE land to come in 2008.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  2. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  3. DS1820 Max Cable length ?
    By dccch in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 24th January 2008, 07:44
  4. Measure cable length with a PIC?
    By Kamikaze47 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th July 2007, 18:45
  5. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts