Servo does not move


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    that's it !

    i missed that !

    thanks . it's working fine now.

    .

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have all things working and changed the code to be more complete.

    But still having some issues.

    I've noticed that the value for the servo to be centered the pos must be 400 ( even with the original code )

    for far left the value must be 1300

    but for far right 0 is not enough.

    i've tryed this but doesnt work...

    right:
    If pos > -100 Then
    pos = pos - 10
    Endif
    servo1 = 1
    Pauseus 1000 + pos
    servo1 = 0
    Pause 16 ' Servo update rate about 60Hz
    Return

    any ideas ?
    and why arent the original values working for me ? I've seen many servo programs and all have the same values for center.

    thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Ruijc

    I think you are "mixing" and misunderstanding some servo parameters here ...

    so, before going further ... what is your servo model and brand ??? and what is your radio set ???

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Alain,

    thanks for your help.

    i'm currently using a futaba's S148 servo.

    My idea is to test any futaba and hitec servos ( digital and analog ).


    .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink The horrible truth ....

    Hi, Ruijc

    héhé ...

    Futaba S148 !!! the "mechanical neutral" ( half of the two geometric max positions ) ... corresponds to ~ 1300 µS ( an heritage of the old Robbe/Futaba join venture ! )

    Now ... YOU must place your servo arm to have your "application neutral" with a trustable 1500µS pulse !!! ( remember Xtals are NOT generating exactly their nominal frequency ... especially for "common" ones )

    Moreover consider Futaba "analogic" servos have a quasi-linear positionning in the 900-2100 µS range .

    Outside those limits, you can send from 200 to 2500 µS pulses ... but with no more linearity at all !!! Specially at low values ... ( I did those tests to try to get 180° travel without any mod to the servos ...)

    to fill the "bottle" ... your servos have a deadband of ~ 4/5 µS ... around their position, so, don't ask them to show you 1µS steps !!!

    I did not test any Hitec servos ... so don't ask me for them !!!

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 10th November 2007 at 18:28.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Got it Alain,

    just changed the xtal from 4Mhz to 8Mhz and is was easy to tune !

    thanks

    .

  7. #7


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    One last question:

    i found my 7805 getting very hot when my circuit is looping through auto motion.

    The code is safe in terms of not letting the servo go to extremes and overloads the circuit.

    It's just moving arround ( left and right ) on it's own.

    Is there a way to control it's temperature ?

    I'm trying to avoid using a heatsink because it will be in a small box.

    any ideas ?

Similar Threads

  1. PIC16F877A pwm use for IR transmission
    By mcbeasleyjr in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 11th July 2009, 18:51
  2. More Servo Woes
    By chrisshortys in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 13th May 2009, 08:40
  3. How to move servo slowly?
    By azmax100 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 15th April 2009, 13:50
  4. Problem with 12F629, servo and EEPROM
    By Atom058 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 1st March 2008, 09:53
  5. Help with Servo Control Please!
    By wireman22 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 7th June 2007, 18:15

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts