rfPIC Serin problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 53

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Read the rfPIC Dev Kit Quick Start Quide. It has blow-by-blow instructions. The link above
    will take you directly to the page where you can download this if you don't already have it.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    yes..we finally manage to test the rfkit and it works..

    now its the time for me to alter the code..the transmitter right now required no external input except from the switch to operate. we planned to replace the gp4 with input from sensor and the input is digital . however there are some part of the demo program that i dont understand the purpose which i pasted below.

    under part "fill in transmission buffer" , why they purposely inserted the random number into the buffer register?and then will be ignored by receiver ? and how the receiver is going to ignore it?

    and since the input for this demo is analog signal, they have used the converter and have the result stored in register ADRESH and ADRESL. so as for me who has a digital input, i should be able to read straight from the gpio port , but im not sure how is the command since im only read from one bit of register.



    and this command means the input data being read and stored in temp register?

    the part of demo program that im confused

    ;----------------------------------
    ; fill in transmission buffer
    ;----------------------------------

    XMIT

    bsf RFENA ; Enable Transmitter

    movlw 0x73 ; send Serial number
    movwf CSR0

    movfw FuncBits ; send Function Bits
    movwf CSR1

    ; send 16-bit Counter
    ;
    ; send analog value (this is modified from the fixed
    ; KeeLoq(r) protocol; these two fields are normally
    ; used for 16-bit counter value)

    bsf STATUS, RP0 ; ----- Select Bank 1 -----
    movfw ADRESL ; ADRESL Result
    bcf STATUS, RP0 ; ----- Select Bank 0 -----
    movwf CSR2

    movfw ADRESH ; ADRESH Result
    movwf CSR3

    movlw 0x56 ; send 32-bit serial number 1 (ignored by receiver)
    movwf CSR4

    movlw 0x34
    movwf CSR5

    movlw 0x12
    movwf CSR6

    movlw 0x20
    movwf CSR7

    movlw 0x55 ; send Flags
    movwf CSR8
    Last edited by medusa2584; - 22nd November 2007 at 07:36.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    I think I have the same problems with gavo. But currently I'm using assembly to do my programming. This rfPIC12f675 is different from other normal PICs where it has only one tris and gpio port. And the gpio reg is assigned to the pin itself.
    Can you kindly explain to me about how can I read in data serially using assembly? I'm sorry that I'm not really familiar with the code you pasted before.
    Can I just read in data bit by bit say into gp3 and then send it to gp2 for ASK modulation?
    Or can I just put or connect my digital input to gp2?

    I understand that the coding below is a Keeloq protocol

    ' Constants
    PreAmble CON $A5 ' 10100101 preamble
    Synch CON "~" ' 01111110 synch byte
    N4800 CON 188 ' 4800 bps
    N2400 CON 16780 ' 2400 bps
    GUARD CON 5 ' 5mS guard time pause

    As I'm not familiar with your coding, may I know what CON indicates and what N4800 CON 188 means?


    Thanks again for your help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    in PBP, CON is used to define a software constant, in asm it should looks like

    YourConstantVariable = .25

    or
    #DEFINE YourConstantVariable .25

    Using pre-defined constant here and there, allow to have a better readable code, and also allow to do some changes without having to scroll the whole code.

    For a 12F675 asm example.. well, first google hit gave me
    http://www.jbgizmo.com/page29.htm
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default stack overflow

    hi people,

    has anyone ever encountered a problem of stack overflow in their program?
    rite now im doing a program to transmit a stack of data which contain 16 bit + 64 bit +

    and the pic that im using is a pic12f675. what should i do to reduce this error?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    352


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Hi Medusa,

    I had this problem once and it turned out to be a subroutine that had a GOTO at the end of it instead of RETURN. Changed the word--solved the problem.

    HTH,

    BobK

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thanks bobk..i tried that, put return at the end of each goto instruction i have, but still it has not succeeded. is it possible due to overflow stack?

    my program is supposed to have a stack of 8 byte output excluding the preamble and header and timeguard.

    does anyone ever write a program that has a subroutine as follows

    read input from port GPIO
    move data from GPIO to 'input' register
    take only data from bit 1
    store the input (bit 1)to bit 0 at another register

    repeat for eight times

    what i already have in mind

    movfw GPIO
    movwf input
    movlw 0000 0000
    xorwf input,f
    goto rotate

    rotate
    rrf input,f
    rrf input,f

    anyone has any idea to continue?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    37


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default need help

    Hi Bruce!
    I have tried ur codes on RfPIC kit. i can see the data being sent by transmitter on GP2 and received on PORTC.1 on receiver side but the LED's are not blinking. what might be the problem.plz help me troubleshoot.
    thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That's hard to say. It works perfectly on my rfRXD0420 module installed in PICkit 1 board.

    Are you compiling the receiver code without any changes, and programming it into a
    PIC16F676 on the PICKit 1 board with the rfRXD0420 installed per the instructions?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    37


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi
    U have not included modedefs.bas in ur program.is that an issue?
    I did that but to no avail.
    maybe config fuses are causing something.they seem ok.they are as under when i read them using PICkit 1 software:
    12F675
    config word:0x31D4
    osccal: 0x3480
    bandgap: 0x3000

    12F676
    config word:0x31C4
    osccal: 0x3440
    bandgap: 0x3000

Similar Threads

  1. Serin Problem with 12F629/PBP
    By Flyingms in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 9th March 2009, 14:59
  2. Serin Problem 16f819
    By jjohannson in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 22nd March 2007, 22:50
  3. Serin serout problem
    By lerameur in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 336
    Last Post: - 6th February 2007, 04:25
  4. Problem with PBP interrupt and Serin, please help
    By rgregor in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2006, 19:02
  5. serout and serin problem
    By nicolelawsc in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 11th April 2006, 19:44

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts