Make me some code..


Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 41
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default Make me some code..

    This is my current circuit



    Can you make a code like this (in PICBASIC PRO):

    When you click the button a timer starts and when you push it again it stops, and after that the LED blinks with "your time"..


    Can anyone do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Angry

    My one and only serious Question ...

    How much do you give for that ???

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I'd pay money to have somebody write code just to turn that LED on... (never mind anything else - assuming it's a standard LED)...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Mel

    That looks too much like the intelligent automobile screen wiper timer ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 11th September 2007 at 19:48.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    48


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I just want some example code to understand how the timer works, but i quess i haft to figure it out myself..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    263


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Exclamation

    I may be wrong, but . . .

    . . . I don't think that the LED will ever light up with any program!
    Last edited by RussMartin; - 11th September 2007 at 21:05.
    Russ
    N0EVC, xWB6ONT, xWN6ONT

    "Easy to use" is easy to say.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Del Rio, TX, USA
    Posts
    343


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xobx View Post
    ...Can anyone do this?
    I guess the consensus is: NO, nobody can, even if they were willing to do it.
    Last edited by SteveB; - 11th September 2007 at 22:09.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Del Rio, TX, USA
    Posts
    343


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xobx View Post
    When you click the button a timer starts and when you push it again it stops, and after that the LED blinks with "your time"..
    As for this, there are an amazing number of examples for applications like this on the forum, as well as MeLabs own website, and the web in general.

    I seriously doubt someone is going to be kind enough to write the code for you out of pure generosity and goodwill. That’s not to say no one will be helpful. Do a little research and come back with more specific questions. The help you reap will be proportional to effort you sow.

    SteveB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    352


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Hi,

    Russ is right about the LED. You are showing it backwards. Steve B is right also. There are more than enough examples of timers, blinking LEDs, and start/stop programs on this forum that if you sat down and organized them all, you would have a book on beginning to work with PICs. If you are looking for the quick fix, it ain't happening here. We will all be glad to offer advice once you have made some effort to try programming. Also I think you should connect your push button to the ground side of the circuit and make the resistor a pullup instead of pull down. (Nothing personal just a preference. This way you won't have to program the pin in an extra step.)

    Go to CODE EXAMPLES and SCHEMATICS to start your search.

    Good luck. When you get stuck, then ask!

    BobK

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I can try. No timer use
    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 4
    CMCON = 7
    ADCON1 = 7
    output PORTB.0
    input PORTA.4
    b0 var word
    b0 = 0
    HIGH PORTB.0
    pause 200
    
    main:   if PORTA.4 = 1 then enter
            goto main
    
    enter:        if porta.4 = 1 then enter
                
    tmecnt:    if PORTA.4 = 1 then extime
                  b0 = b0+1         
                   pause 100   ' Least count of time 100 ms
                  goto tmecnt
    
    extime:     if PORTA.4 = 1 then extime
    
    ledon:  b0 = b0 * 100
            LOW PORTB.0
            pause b0
            HIGH PORTB.0
            b0 = 0
            goto main
            end
    If code works, can i give my PayPal................ hehe
    Last edited by NF9Ω; - 12th September 2007 at 09:41. Reason: led state change
    Thought-habits can harden into character. So watch your thoughts.

    (__)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default $10 Challenge...

    My challenge was to write a piece of code to make the LED in that schematic light... I can't see your code turning that LED on... never mind any timers or buttons, just simply illuminate the LED as wired in that schematic...

    As someone who likes to learn new things, it's worth it to me to know how to accomplish this in software (PICBasic, Proton, Assembler, C, Fortran, Cobol, Algol, whatever, I'm good for all flavours)...

    For those that want to take up the challenge... I'll save you some time and tell you that the piece of code below WON'T work...

    High PortB.0

    and neither will...

    Low PortB.0

    So... a US$10 challenge to the first person who lights the LED (a bog-standard, common or garden nothing special cheapo average LED) in that original schematic (which must remain unchanged) as shown in Post #1 above... and posts his or her working code in this thread...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    94


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie View Post
    My challenge was to write a piece of code to make the LED in that schematic light... I can't see your code turning that LED on... never mind any timers or buttons, just simply illuminate the LED as wired in that schematic...

    As someone who likes to learn new things, it's worth it to me to know how to accomplish this in software (PICBasic, Proton, Assembler, C, Fortran, Cobol, Algol, whatever, I'm good for all flavours)...

    So... a US$10 challenge to the first person who lights the LED (a bog-standard, common or garden nothing special cheapo average LED) in that original schematic (which must remain unchanged) as shown in Post #1 above... and posts his or her working code in this thread...
    It's a great challenge but I think it's worth more than $10! I'll add another $10 to the pot for the person who achieves it ;-). Now it's worth $20!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    just simply illuminate the LED as wired in that schematic...
    Oh. BobK is right.
    LED will never illuminate according to circuit.
    Thought-habits can harden into character. So watch your thoughts.

    (__)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking Turn your tongue in your mouth 7 times before ....

    Hi, Everyone ...

    I Win !!!

    Just Reverse supply voltage and the Led will light ...

    Yesssss ... the Port Inputs clamp diodes Help !!!

    Thank you very much, Mel ... I'm waiting for my Bucks !!!

    Nobody told the Pic might stay Alive !!!

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    xobx,

    The demand "Make me some code" as you have seen will not get you anywhere.

    If you really want to learn, study, write some code and then ASK for help.

    Here is someplace to start http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...ghlight=timers

    All I had to do was search the forum for "timers".
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Good try Alain, but the 1N4004 across the input shorts-out the supply...

    Game is still open... (excludes supplying the +5v reverse-way round from a high-current source which smokes-out the 1N4004 first, and then the input capacitor, then destroys the PIC and finally lights the LED (which has a panel legend above it saying "now you're completely screwed!").

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hyderabad (India)
    Posts
    123


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Melanie is CORRECT

    the circuit is designed wrongly. Forget the micro. Even by connecting the ground at anode of LED it would not light. the LED woud have been wired otherway round. this configuration is like a protection diode across a relay coil driven by a transistor. Perhaps XOBX has to improve on his / her funda of harware design.

    YES, it will light, if by using the port pin RB0, we switch a higher voltage than +6.4V to the anode of LED.
    Last edited by mvs_sarma; - 12th September 2007 at 13:15.
    Regards,
    Sarma

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Mel

    You've wrote it ...

    It had to make some smoke, BUT IT WORKS !!!

    Do you have some Scottish elders, to modify the rules AFTER the beginning of the Game ??? ...

    Bad looser, I Wonder, hmmmm ???

    LOL

    Alain

    PS: Note, I often saw ( some years ago ) LEDs drawn in a circle ... but drawn "reverse" connected.
    This could simplify the game ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Reminds me of an Industrial Electronics exam I sat for back in the eighties. The circuit was a pretty basic push-pull amp in which we had to write an essay what happens once power was applied.
    The schematic had the diodes on the bridge rectifier for the power supply connected wrong.
    I just wrote that 2 diodes across the 15VAC supply would blow up. I was the only one that got it right.

    Wilson

  20. #20
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    lol - Short of reinventing the diode, that's impossible.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    432


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    The schematic had the diodes on the bridge rectifier for the power supply connected wrong.
    Sounds like my first attempt at building a bridge rectifier when I was about 11 years old.

    What I actually constructed was a "ring rectifier" with all the diodes pointing in a circle. There was an almighty bang when I turned the power on and my diodes were no more. Didnt make that mistake again
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    429


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie View Post
    Game is still open...
    How about: 'accidentally' cut the wire directly above the "16F628" in the circuit diagram, then PORTA.4=0, then PORTB.0=1, and press the button. LED=lit!

  23. #23


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I think you just made $20.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Del Rio, TX, USA
    Posts
    343


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie View Post
    So... a US$10 challenge to the first person who lights the LED (a bog-standard, common or garden nothing special cheapo average LED) in that original schematic (which must remain unchanged) as shown in Post #1 above... and posts his or her working code in this thread...
    Quote Originally Posted by Kamikaze47
    How about: 'accidentally' cut the wire directly above the "16F628" in the circuit diagram, then PORTA.4=0, then PORTB.0=1, and press the button. LED=lit!
    I don't think this qualifies.

  25. #25
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Psychology

    Melanie's challenge proposal had me scratching my head for a few moments, initially thinking that it was indeed possible, after all she is an engineer and doesn't appear to joke much. Because, when someone sets such a low "wager" (only $10 in this case) - it's normally well within reach. In other words it's something that's actually possible, the low wager is chosen based on high risk analysis, the person placing the bet is in fear that there's a good chance that someone might actually win it. So to minimize their loss, in the well foreseen event that someone wins, a low wager is set in place.

    If a much higher wager was on offer, I wouldn't have spared a seconds thought. Instead using most of what I know about LEDs to very quickly dismiss it as impossible (or at least for me) I personally feel that the only way you'll get that reversed biased LED to switch on is with additional circuitry, i.e: charge pump (DC to DC converter) to raise the anode ~1.8V above cathode (assuming it's a red LED or around 2V if it's green)

    Trent Jackson

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Posts
    52


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    So that's it? Besides the fact that significant modification, if not outright destruction would be required to get the money out of Melanie, it was an interesting discussion.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    429


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    My solution wasn't "significant modification"... It was 1 cut of 1 wire

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    432


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kamikaze47 View Post
    My solution wasn't "significant modification"... It was 1 cut of 1 wire
    Hmmmmm.... sounds like a quote from a bomb disposal technician

    However, cutting one wire changes the circuit diagram so no money for you.!!!

    PS. If you are a bomb disposal technician you might want to change your name to instill more confidence LOL
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    429


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I wasnt saying it met the "contest" criteria, I was just pointing out that it didnt require "significant modification".

  30. #30
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile New Game (AUS $25)

    New game - I'll pay AUS $25 to the person who can come up with the best DC to DC converter design. It should be low in cost, capable of producing at least 10mA @7V (~70mW of power) from a 5V source. Additional, desirable criteria in the design would include: compactness, protection, low component count, efficient, testable & robust.


    <b>The Contest</b>
    <ul>
    <li> Submit in this thread, a workable, readable circuit diagram</li>
    <li> It must be your own original work</li>
    <li> You may submit ONE design only (no amendments allowed)</li>
    <li> The design can't use a µcontroller or discrete ICs</li>
    <li> A detailed description on how your design works would be beneficial</li>
    <li> All entries must be submitted by the 31st of October</li>
    <li> The Winner will be announced in early November </li>
    </ul>
    Oh! - and feedback from people on the entries will be highly regarded, and also possibly used in helping to identify the winner, so don't hold back!

    Trent Jackson

  31. #31


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Already done?

    Have a look at

    http://www.romanblack.com/

    Cheers
    Brian

  32. #32


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What in software would create a collapsing field? if there was a relay coil across that led It can light.. not STAY lit, but light..

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hyderabad (India)
    Posts
    123


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by T.Jackson View Post
    New game - I'll pay AUS $25 to the person who can come up with the best DC to DC converter design. It should be low in cost, capable of producing at least 10mA @7V (~70mW of power) from a 5V source. Additional, desirable criteria in the design would include: compactness, protection, low component count, efficient, testable & robust.


    <b>The Contest</b>
    <ul>
    <li> Submit in this thread, a workable, readable circuit diagram</li>
    <li> It must be your own original work</li>
    <li> You may submit ONE design only (no amendments allowed)</li>
    <li> The design can't use a µcontroller or discrete ICs</li>
    <li> A detailed description on how your design works would be beneficial</li>
    <li> All entries must be submitted by the 31st of October</li>
    <li> The Winner will be announced in early November </li>
    </ul>
    Oh! - and feedback from people on the entries will be highly regarded, and also possibly used in helping to identify the winner, so don't hold back!

    Trent Jackson
    Most probably one could sell his or her own design at much higher cost than surrender for a Aus $20/-.
    Regards,
    Sarma

  34. #34
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by T.Jackson View Post
    New game - I'll pay AUS $25 to the person who can come up with the best DC to DC converter design. It should be low in cost, capable of producing at least 10mA @7V (~70mW of power) from a 5V source. Additional, desirable criteria in the design would include: compactness, protection, low component count, efficient, testable & robust.


    <b>The Contest</b>
    <ul>
    <li> Submit in this thread, a workable, readable circuit diagram</li>
    <li> It must be your own original work</li>
    <li> You may submit ONE design only (no amendments allowed)</li>
    <li> The design can't use a µcontroller or discrete ICs</li>
    <li> A detailed description on how your design works would be beneficial</li>
    <li> All entries must be submitted by the 31st of October</li>
    <li> The Winner will be announced in early November </li>
    </ul>
    Oh! - and feedback from people on the entries will be highly regarded, and also possibly used in helping to identify the winner, so don't hold back!

    Trent Jackson
    Hi, trent

    Just use your OSC output to drive a common 1 transistor voltage doubler ... ( just need 1 NPN, 1 PNP, 3 resistor, 2 diodes, 2 capacitors )

    Alain

    PS : 25 $ for that ... ??? where did you learn electronics ????????????????????????????????
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    mpfff, there's a load of missing informations to base something like a design around the previous requirement.

    Regulated or not?
    isolated or not?
    Protection??? which?
    Expected Output voltage?

    etc etc etc.

    25$ I don't think i can do something really reliable in less than 15 minutes.. or i'll lost money... as if i really need to lost anymore now

    Maybe i should read the whole post again ?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  36. #36
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post
    Hi, trent

    Just use your OSC output to drive a common 1 transistor voltage doubler ... ( just need 1 NPN, 1 PNP, 3 resistor, 2 diodes, 2 capacitors )

    Alain

    PS : 25 $ for that ... ??? where did you learn electronics ????????????????????????????????
    Thank you for your contribution, Alain. Some supporting documentation on your acclaimed working circuit would further improve your chances of winning.

    Trent Jackson

  37. #37
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e View Post
    mpfff, there's a load of missing informations to base something like a design around the previous requirement.

    Regulated or not?
    isolated or not?
    Protection??? which?
    Expected Output voltage?

    etc etc etc.

    25$ I don't think i can do something really reliable in less than 15 minutes.. or i'll lost money... as if i really need to lost anymore now

    Maybe i should read the whole post again ?
    Well, don't bother entering the competition then if you can't find the motivation for it - as simple as that.

  38. #38
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Supplying Documentation With Your Entry

    Ideally your entry will also include some firm documentation to support your idea. Some of the criteria that I'd like to see embedded in this document include ....

    1. Statement of circuit scope i.e. (description, what it can do, constraints etc ...)
    2. Specifications (rated output etc..)
    3. Flow of events (how the circuit ticks)
    4. Calculations, explanations i.e. (how did you arrive at certain values for components)
    5. Any closing arguments that you may wish to add

    *(2-3)pgs tops.

    Trent Jackson

  39. #39
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by T.Jackson View Post
    Thank you for your contribution, Alain. Some supporting documentation on your acclaimed working circuit would further improve your chances of winning.

    Trent Jackson
    Hi, Trent ...

    You're joking, I do hope ....

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  40. #40
    T.Jackson's Avatar
    T.Jackson Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I couldn't be anymore real, serious & genuine about it. This is an official contest to see who can come up with the best low-cost DC to DC converter design.

Similar Threads

  1. Code doesn't work on 16F648A
    By Mr_Joe in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 1st September 2018, 22:09
  2. I2C Master/Slave 16F88/16F767 working code
    By DanPBP in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 23rd October 2012, 22:31
  3. HARDWARE I2C SAMPLE CODE question
    By Michael Wakileh in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 16th June 2009, 21:07
  4. Minimizing code space
    By Tobias in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 30th May 2009, 07:25
  5. Can someone help me make a code for this:
    By joseph in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 18th May 2009, 22:03

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts