PICBASIC PRO 16F84 with 16X02 LCD


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default PICBASIC PRO 16F84 with 16X02 LCD

    Hello to all, first time to write here!!!


    So I've got a bit of problem getting work mine LCD and uP.....

    I've already have connected pins from PORTA.0 to PORTA.3 to pushbuttons with pull-up resistors, and PORTA.4 to transistor which drives relay on mine bord....so I've got whole PORTB emty..and there is where mine LCD is connected, and because of that I must tell pibasic different definition about connection of LCD.....so i did that and still I haven't anything on mine LCD.

    This is how i connected PIC16F84 and LCD

    PIC LCD

    PORTB0 ---> Enable (PIN 6)
    PORTB1 ---> RS (PIN 4)
    PORTB4 ---> DB4 (PIN11)
    PORTB5 ---> DB5 (PIN12)
    PORTB6 ---> DB6 (PIN13)
    PORTB7 ---> DB7 (PIN14)

    PIN 1(GND) i PIN 5 (RW) are grounded (GND)
    PIN2 is on +5V, PIN 3 is connected to +5V also via trimmer pot of 10K for contrast.

    This is mine code:


    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 1
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50

    LCDOUT $FE, 1, "HELLO"
    LCDOUT $FE, $C0, "WORLD"



    That's it...ann I still didn't getting any on LCD.....

    LCD is PC1602 HD44780 compatibile.....

    Any ideas??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Marin, Where is the other side of the pot connected to? It should be between + 5 and ground. Most LCD displays require anywhere between 0 volts and 1 volt for the contrast voltage.

    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Dave, thanks for replay!

    I know for that contract....I didn't have pot so i put two 10K resistor in seria and getting contrast V from middle...something about 2,5V!

    Is it this OK?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Marin,
    Is there more to this code which is unseen?
    You should make it a practice to set your config fuses in code
    and set the TRIS Registers too, also define your OSC speed.
    Are you using a crystal, or resonator or are you trying to use
    the internal osc?
    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 4          ' for 4 mhz osc
    TRISA = %00001111 ' the ones stand for inputs
    TRISB = %00000000  ' the zeros stand for outputs
    Study this thread:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...iguration+fuse

    Add this just before your first LCDOUT statement to allow the LCD time to initialize:
    Pause 500 ' or a thousand or sometimes a little more

    HTH
    JS
    Last edited by Archangel; - 6th August 2007 at 04:49.
    If you do not believe in MAGIC, Consider how currency has value simply by printing it, and is then traded for real assets.
    .
    Gold is the money of kings, silver is the money of gentlemen, barter is the money of peasants - but debt is the money of slaves
    .
    There simply is no "Happy Spam" If you do it you will disappear from this forum.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    HI Joe! Thanks for replay.....but still I have dead LCD :-(

    That I wrote is whole mine code....this is code now:

    DEFINE OSC 4 ' for 4 mhz osc
    TRISA = %00001111 ' the ones stand for inputs
    TRISB = %00000000 ' the zeros stand for outputs


    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 1
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50


    pause 2500


    LCDOUT $FE, 1, "HELLO"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Marin, You should use a pot of about 5 or 10 k between +5 and ground as the 2 10k's you have will not get the desired results. When you have the pot installed place it at the 0 volt position and start ramping it up. You will see the background boxes (pixels) start to diminish. This is the optimum contrast level. Read the level with a voltmeter and you will see that it is between 0 and 1 volt.

    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA

Similar Threads

  1. Graphic LCD with PICbasic pro
    By amindzo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: - 25th November 2012, 11:45
  2. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07
  3. How to configure SPI in PICBASIC PRO?
    By moogle in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 15th April 2007, 18:31
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 4th April 2007, 07:33
  5. Using LCD 40 x 4 with Picbasic pro
    By pcaccia in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 15th January 2006, 17:31

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts