ADC question


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: ADC question

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    78


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If I am going to be using an External ADC for each sensor, then I guess do not have to connect a voltage to Vref for the PIC18F6520.


    For example, If I choose the LM34 and connect this device to an external 8 bit ADC. What type of data will I be getting from the ADC, and how will I be able to decifer it on the PIC side?

  2. #2
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Srigopal007 View Post
    If I am going to be using an External ADC for each sensor, then I guess do not have to connect a voltage to Vref for the PIC18F6520.


    For example, If I choose the LM34 and connect this device to an external 8 bit ADC. What type of data will I be getting from the ADC, and how will I be able to decifer it on the PIC side?
    Depends on the ADC now doesn't it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Using an external ADC.

    Make all of the IO's digital.

    This may get me in trouble but I am going to refer you to a Basic Stamp document.

    http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/books/edu/ic.pdf

    Goto the section "Experiment #4: Continuous Process Control"

    The Basic Stamp is built around a PIC but does not have ADC. The code is close enough to understand what is going on.

    The above "Experiment #4: Continuous Process Control" is using a LM34 and a n ADC 0831.

    If I told you how to do it, it would just be the same thing as in the document, almost. There are other good ideas there too.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4,116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you want accuracy, why not dump all the hardware and use the DS18B20? It has +/-0.5°C accuracy from –10°C to +85°C. And is purely digital interface. I think Bruce from www.rentron.com has examples for the chip.

    Ioannis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    78


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ioannis,
    The problem here is not with getting accuracy with using one sensor, the problem here is using multiple sensors and obtaining accurate data. but I think I will looking into the parallax that mackrackit suggested. I will post later with questions and comments. Thanks

    -Srig

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4,116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    So, you can use multiple 1-wire sensors scattered all over the place and connected through one-wire only (and ground of course).

    I cannot see the problem.

    You will get rid off the op-amps, ADC's etc and WILL have the 0.5 accuracy.

    Ioannis

Similar Threads

  1. PIC16F690 ADC question
    By matador29b in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 23rd October 2009, 23:03
  2. Newbie HPWM / ADC question
    By Johan in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 25th June 2007, 12:52
  3. A question about ADC (using Pic16f876)
    By mimmmis in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 2nd April 2007, 16:26
  4. strange adc question
    By maus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 4th November 2006, 10:57
  5. ADC question
    By schu4647 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 28th May 2006, 14:15

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts