IF...THEN won't let numbers to be summed


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink Does this makes sense

    Hi,



    Code:
    IF MEM_1 = 2 THEN SPEED = 1 : GOSUB SOMETHING
    is equivalent to
    Code:
    IF MEM_1 = 2 THEN SPEED = 1
    GOSUB SOMETHING
    or
    Code:
    IF MEM_1 = 2 THEN
    SPEED = 1
    ENDIF
    GOSUB SOMETHING
    Regards

    Sougata

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    This is weird. The email message when sougata posted said
    ################################
    Hi,

    A colon separated mulitple statement will always compile so


    Code:
    ---------
    IF MEM_1 = 2 THEN SPEED = 1 : GOSUB SOMETHING
    ---------
    is equivalent to

    Code:
    ---------
    IF MEM_1 = 2 THEN SPEED = 1
    GOSUB SOMETHING
    ---------
    or

    Code:
    ---------
    IF MEM_1 = 2 THEN
    SPEED = 1
    ENDIF
    GOSUB SOMETHING
    ---------
    So if you really want to execute multiple command based on a conditions then *ENDIF*
    is the way.
    ##########################
    But the forum does not have the whole message. I am on a windows machine today so maybe...
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking I changed my mind

    Hi,

    I wrote the original thread counting on my past experience but then again I didn't try out flotul's structure. May be I will trying peeping the compiled hex and find out if it does carry out a conditional check on ":"So did not want to confuse readers and edited. Your windows is working fine as the doors
    Regards

    Sougata

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    A little suggestion:

    What about a Pause or a kind of bounce killing?
    Something like,
    Code:
    IF MEM_l = 2  THEN 
       WHILE MEM_l = 2 : WEND
       speed = speed + 1
    ENDIF
    
    OR
    IF MEM_l = 2  THEN 
       PAUSE 100
       speed = speed + 1
    ENDIF

    Speed increases so fast that it goes crazy!
    ---------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    The manual and Flotu imply that:

    Code:
    if mem_l = 2  then speed = speed + 1 : gosub game_speed
    is equivalent to

    Code:
    if mem_l = 2  then 
    	speed = speed + 1 
    	gosub game_speed
    endif

    Flotu,

    does pbtn = 9 if no button is pushed? If it does then your code is doing what you told it to do - update speed each time through the loop while waiting for the button to be pushed whenever mem_1 is 2,3,4, or 5. See below

    Code:
    MAIN:
        gosub READ_BTNS
        if pbtn < 4 and Ctr_L <= mem_l then
          'lots of stuff here removed for readability (see his  post #1)
        endif
    
      if mem_l = 2  then speed = speed + 1 : gosub game_speed
      if mem_l = 3  then speed = speed + 1 : gosub game_speed
      if mem_l = 4  then speed = speed + 1 : gosub game_speed
      if mem_l = 5  then speed = speed + 1 : gosub game_speed
    
        value = value + 1           'To change the "seed" for random #
        Goto MAIN
        end
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    938


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Wow!!

    Thank you for all your remarks.

    The END statement was there only for testing purpose; I'm going to remove it.

    Yes, Pbtn=9 if no button is pressed.

    Well Paul, I think you have found the problem.

    Regarding the "IF xxxx THEN yyyy : zzzz", I thought that the "zzzz" would be executed ONLY when the IF statement is true. This is why I wrote it after each IF statement (didn't check this out now - will do this in a few minutes).

    I'll come back asap.
    Roger

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    938


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up Bravo!

    I moved my four IF statements to the "correct place" in my loop and everything goes fine now.

    I admit, while searching for hours in the wrong direction, I've lost the overview of the program's cycle.

    So let me thank all of you one more time.

    I'm finishing some cleanups and port it to a PIC12F683 (it's my first SMD project...).

    Finally, I'll end this thread by attaching the ultimate code.
    Roger

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th April 2009, 01:54
  2. Maths - Summing small numbers with decimals
    By flotulopex in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 22nd March 2008, 19:21
  3. Working with 3 byte numbers
    By Josuetas in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 26th July 2007, 22:59
  4. Splitting numbers and recombining them(EEPROM Error)
    By selbstdual in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 3rd June 2007, 06:40
  5. Returning whole numbers for DS1820?
    By jessey in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 12th February 2007, 12:15

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts