mpasm


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: mpasm

  1. #1

    Default mpasm

    any books or info on useing mpasm as a assembler
    i am using mcs+ and pbp 2.46
    and have gotten several working programs and some copies of others to work

    should leave well enough alone

    however when i try to set up this assembler i get success but also too many
    errors mainly 113 and 115 this accurs no matter what the program is

    just would like to see whats accuring

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    In MPLAB you'll find the information on these error Click Help > Topics >> Language Tools >>> MPASM assembler Then finnaly MPASM Assembler > Errors, Warning, Messages, and Limitations

    You can still download the MPASM manual
    http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/e...Doc/33014J.pdf

    And look at PART 1, Chapter 8.

    I still think you have some corrupted files in your MPLAB installation. Remove it, then install V 7.50
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...&part=SW007002

    If the MicroCode Studio installation is not corrupted, you just have to check Use MPASM. I have all other option checked as well and use INHX8M format.

    Actual setup
    PBP V 2.47
    MPLAB 7.50
    MPASM 5.06
    MicroCode Studio PLUS 2.2.1.1
    Last edited by mister_e; - 11th February 2007 at 14:57.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default whats been done

    have downloaded newest ver even installed pbp and mcs on a different pc

    still get goofey errors

    if something is corrupt must be my pbp

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Do you have those errors on ALL PIC models?
    Just to make sure... you have those ONLY when you're using MPASM but everything is just fine when using PM?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default answer

    yes get these errors nomater what pic or what program i am trying
    to compile does not occur when i uncheck mpasm
    seems to have something to do with the inc files acording to manual
    but its out of my knowledge base (limited)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well, if you have installed the latest MPASm version and remove the old one before, itès no longer a MPASm problem... or i misunderstand something obvious once again.

    Might be your PBP... bah an update to 2.47 could be usefull one day or another.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Did you install the latest version of 'MPLAB', or just the MPASM assembler?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question dont know

    bruce
    downloaded mplabs latest ver and installed and restarted computer

    file mpasm.exe does not exist now dont know how to get this file back on my machine expect to reload and wanted to try something new

    any suguestions would be appreicated

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Cool new question

    acording to microchip i should be using mpasmwin.exe
    how to i get pbp or mcs whichever is looking for a assempler to use.this

    only me?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    352


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Hi Jack,

    In Microcode Studio, click on View then Compile & Program Options then Assembler. Click on MPASM. MCS should find where MPASM is on your hard drive and that should be it.

    BobK

  11. #11


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default update

    bob i wish it was
    from what i have read the program structure is different with pb
    or mpasm guess because i can use pb i will leave well enough alone
    just dont understand why even the simplest programs do not assembe without errors using mpasm

    thanks for your time will keep looking at posts

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you accepted the default install directory on drive C, you should find the
    assembler in C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPASM Suite\MPASMWIN.exe

    Use the find manually option in MCS to locate it.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  13. #13


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default file

    found file using the latest ver mpasmwin but still get errors using this assembler
    on any programs i have
    can some attach a link to a small program that should assemble using mpasm
    that way i could eliminate some thing even simple program like blink pbp samples give many errors

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try the simple blink LED example in your PBP samples directory.

    What error does it return (if any)?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  15. #15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default mpasm

    bruce
    i got the onewire temp program to compile and assemble properly
    so i can use the info to find whats wrong

    there must be something about how these programs were complied origanally that makes them unable to compile using mpasm


    ???/ question even though program works fine and temp changes readings are
    way off any ideas? using da18s20

    thanks for your help
    jack

  16. #16
    malc-c's Avatar
    malc-c Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Through the guidance of the guys here, I found that when using MPSAM to compile a PBP program you often get awarning about overwriting settings. The fix is to open up the INC file for the target PIC in the PBP directory and rem out the config line.

    EG
    Code:
    ;****************************************************************
    ;*  16F628A.INC                                                 *
    ;*                                                              *
    ;*  By        : Leonard Zerman, Jeff Schmoyer                   *
    ;*  Notice    : Copyright (c) 2003 microEngineering Labs, Inc.  *
    ;*              All Rights Reserved                             *
    ;*  Date      : 11/06/03                                        *
    ;*  Version   : 2.45                                            *
    ;*  Notes     :                                                 *
    ;****************************************************************
            NOLIST
        ifdef PM_USED
            LIST
            include 'M16F62xA.INC'  ; PM header
            device  pic16F628A, xt_osc, wdt_on, mclr_on, lvp_off, protect_off
            XALL
            NOLIST
        else
            LIST
            LIST p = 16F628A, r = dec, w = -302
            INCLUDE "P16F628A.INC"  ; MPASM  Header
            ; __config _XT_OSC & _WDT_ON & _MCLRE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
            NOLIST
        endif
            LIST

Similar Threads

  1. 16F914 and MPASM
    By jderson in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 7th February 2009, 03:21
  2. 12F675 MCLR directive MPASM
    By OLDSCHOOL in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 4th May 2008, 01:29
  3. MPASM 18F4550 getting started
    By BrianT in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 4th September 2007, 23:59
  4. 18F8722 and MPASM confusion!
    By Jackson in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 2nd April 2006, 01:24
  5. Converting to MPASM
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 4th November 2005, 01:35

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts