Startup power higher than while program running - why?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    938

    Default Startup power higher than while program running - why?

    Hello,

    I'm finishing my timer project and I have started to measure power consumption to correctly dimention the power supply on the final PCB.

    When I power-up my circuit, the Amp-meter says 50mA. The timer is in some kind of idle mode since it waits for a player to start the timer or to choose the numbers of players.

    When a button has been pressed, the current drops down to 19mA (!?) and stays around this value for all the time the game is ongoing.

    In the START loop, pressing the RED button will ask the user to choose how many players will play. When it comes back to the initial display (still in the START loop), the current has dropped to 19mA (!?).

    I can software reset the game (no power OFF) so the timer can come back to the very starting point of the program = same point as when the circuit is powered-on. The current goes then back to 50mA.

    I assume something is wrong in my "START" loop.

    Yes but what???

    I had to attach the code in a .TXT file since it was to big to be fit in the post.

    PS: it's my first "real" program so critics & comments are really welcome
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by flotulopex; - 9th December 2006 at 12:38.
    Roger

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    938


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Something with the Piezo

    So,

    After a removed things one-by-one I could define that something is wrong with the Piezo speaker I have.

    Originally, the piezo was connected directly to the PIC's pin with a 1µF cap in parallel with the piezo.

    Since I removed the piezo, the current is constant at 19mA.

    In the PBP Compiler Manual, it says that you can connect a piezo directly to the PIC. But the sound is not good (like saturated).

    How do I have to connect my piezo a correct way?
    Roger

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    695


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    Try first with 1μF and then with 10μF:



    Best regards,

    Luciano
    Last edited by Luciano; - 9th December 2006 at 15:46.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    938


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 1µF looks good!

    Tchao Luciano,

    The 1µF cap looks good! A 10µF one makes it even worse...

    Still making some more tests...

    Thanks a lot.
    Roger

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    695


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    Disconnect the piezo from the microcontroller.
    Connect the piezo to +5V via the 1µF DC blocking
    capacitor and measure the current.

    * * *

    Connect the piezo to the microcontroller.
    With an oscilloscope measure what you have
    on the pin used to drive the piezo speaker.
    (Measure when you don't hear the piezo speaker).

    Best regards,

    Luciano

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Initialize your variables and ports

    Hi,

    You mentioned that the current drops when you start the program and fall into the main loop. PBP does not inititialize a variable and it can have arbitary values. When you use the SOUND command for the first time it sets the data direction registers. (Actually it does it every time). So either initialize your variables,Data Direction Registers and PORT Latches or just use a short sound before you fall into the start loop. Do this without the cap and with it post the results.
    Regards

    Sougata

Similar Threads

  1. Battery powered applications
    By NavMicroSystems in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 22nd June 2009, 07:12
  2. Pic getting part power from Analog Port
    By ShaneMichael in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 22nd April 2009, 10:34
  3. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 16th May 2008, 14:35
  5. Program returns to beginning at interupt
    By BGreen in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 25th April 2005, 11:20

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts