Problem with LCD and Start Up


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    302


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    if at the top of code before define add the follow code

    Code:
    pause 2000
    @ reset
    it's ok

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    94


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,
    please try this:

    ' Set LCD Data port
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
    ' Set starting Data bit (0 or 4) if 4-bit bus
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    ' Set LCD Register Select port
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
    ' Set LCD Register Select bit
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 1
    ' Set LCD Enable port
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
    ' Set LCD Enable bit
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 0
    ' Set LCD bus size (4 or 8 bits)
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    ' Set number of lines on LCD
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    pause 100
    lcdout $fe,1,"Hello"
    end


    LCD Connection
    Pin1=Vss: connect to ground
    Pin2=Vdd: connect to Vcc=5V
    Pin3=Vo: connect to middle pin of the POT(20K) to control brightness
    Pin4=RS(register select): connect to micro pins that specify in the software(RB1)
    Pin5=RW(Read/Write): connect to ground because we want to only write
    Pin6=E(Enable): connect to micro pin that specify in the software(RB0)
    Pin7 to 10: No connection
    Pin 11 to 14: connect to RB4 to RB7
    Pin15: connect to Vcc with a resistor(100 or 200 ohm resistor is good)
    Pin16: connect to ground.
    pin 16 and pin 16 are for backlights

    the other two pins of pot should connect to VCC and ground and you should connect the MCLR with a 4.7K or 10K resistor to the VCC.

    if your problem is not solve with this program you have another problem in other parts.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    302


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thank you for answer , but i have make the circuit on pcb and i can't make changes

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    be sure you set LVP to OFF, BOD to ON, PWRT to ON in your config fuses.

    I doesn't do magic, but it help in most cases.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    302


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e
    be sure you set LVP to OFF, BOD to ON, PWRT to ON in your config fuses.

    I doesn't do magic, but it help in most cases.
    My pic is 16f84a not pic16F628a

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Paul's Theory - It sure sounds like to me that during the 0-3 second period after you turn off the power (and before you turn it on again), the power supply voltage drops low enough to reset the pic but not low enough to reset the LCD. After 4 seconds off, I am guessing the voltage decays enough to reset the processor AND the LCD - the LCD might be in the brown area until 4 seconds passes. You can:

    1)Use a scope to measure the voltage after you turn off the power and see what it does.
    2)Reset the LCD in software as partially described earlier in the week here
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=4851
    3)Change your power supply so that the voltage decays faster when the power is removed.
    4) Board change – move the power for the LCD (not backlight if you have one) to an open pin on the PIC and control it there. (I know your board is does but ... if you need to make a change later)

    the LCD show chinese
    Oh, I am guessing it is japanese you are seeing and not chinese - most controllers have japanese as a second set of data characters built in.

    Just my 2 cents worth
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    chinese or japanese, it's greek to me
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie? Problem with LCD
    By lew247 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 7th December 2009, 19:48
  2. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  3. PIC HSERIN problem
    By shaiqbashir in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 20th July 2008, 11:08
  4. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07
  5. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts