EEPROM Question


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: EEPROM Question

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    pramarn's Avatar
    pramarn Guest

    Default EEPROM Question

    I'm new for use EEPROM
    - please guide schematic of external EEPROM connect to PIC

    and I not understan concept write data in EEPROM

    My project is show picture on GLCD
    My project codeing + picture data big than 32Kb

    I need to store picture data to Eeprom to recede my program size
    My idea when i codeing program and burn to PIC picture data write in flash memory not write in EPPROM

    If i use EEProm writing command write picture data from program code to EEPROM my program size is same before write picture data.

    - Please tell me way for recede my program size.
    or
    -how to write picture data to EEPROM by not use EEProm writing command in my program ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pramarn
    ...
    If i use EEProm writing command write picture data from program code to EEPROM my program size is same before write picture data.....

    EEPROM content is not included in the code size.

    In other words, if your picture data will never change, you can write this data to the EEPROM and the data will not be included in your code size.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  3. #3
    pramarn's Avatar
    pramarn Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you Mr sayzer

    How to write data to EEPROM it need Hard ware to write data same MCU?

    Thank you very much

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Check DATA and EEPROM commands. You will see lots of examples.

    "The data is stored in the EEPROM space only once at the time the microcontroller is programmed, not each time the program is run"


    Thus, DATA content is not included in your code size.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Del Rio, TX, USA
    Posts
    343


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pramarn
    I'm new for use EEPROM
    - please guide schematic of external EEPROM connect to PIC

    and I not understan concept write data in EEPROM
    First, you need to determine if it is I2C or SPI interface. If it is I2C (most likely), read the manual on I2CREAD and I2CWRITE. It has a very nice schematic and details exactly what you need to do to get it hooked up. Then you will need to setup some method of downloading the data to the EEPROM from you computer (likely through the PIC itself).

    Quote Originally Posted by pramarn
    I need to store picture data to Eeprom to recede my program size
    My idea when i codeing program and burn to PIC picture data write in flash memory not write in EPPROM

    If i use EEProm writing command write picture data from program code to EEPROM my program size is same before write picture data.
    If your LCD data will fit into the remaining program flash memory, this is a good option. In this case, read the manual on READCODE, WRITECODE. Also read Darrel Taylor's example of How to store and retrieve strings in Code Space

    Hope this help get you started in the right direction,
    Steve

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hangover, Germany
    Posts
    289


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I think we mix up some things....

    He want to use an external EEPROM ?
    Otherwise, PBP can produce the code for the internal eeproms.

    He had to make the data for an external EEPROM by his own....
    PBP 2.50C, MCS+ 3.0.0.5, MPLAB 8, MPASM 5.14, ASIX Presto, PoScope, mE mikroBasic V7.2, PICKIT2

  7. #7
    pramarn's Avatar
    pramarn Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank You All

    Yes I need to use External EEPROM and hot to make data to External EEPROM?

    Thnk you very much

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigWumpus
    ....Otherwise, PBP can produce the code for the internal eeproms.


    If you fill up the internal EEPROM with full of data only during the programming of PIC, happens once, how and why would it produce code for that data?

    You can check this by experimenting.

    It is not a running code. Just constant data burned into EEPROM.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

Similar Threads

  1. Can't read sequential addresses in external EEPROM
    By tjkelly in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 18th February 2010, 14:46
  2. Problem with I2C EEPROM addressing
    By Atom058 in forum General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 3rd November 2009, 03:17
  3. Eeprom question
    By karenhornby in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 20th April 2008, 20:21
  4. How to write/read strings EEPROM/LCD
    By g-hoot in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: - 11th February 2007, 06:26
  5. word variable to 25lc640
    By TONIGALEA in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 6th July 2004, 19:59

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts