Clearing LCD


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Clearing LCD

Hybrid View

  1. #1


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sorry, I didn't read closely enough.

    I was under the impression the word "blank" would clear the word.

    So you "space,space,space,etc" instead? $20 is the hex for the space key?

    So if you have a 4 letter word to clear at line 1 cursor 1.....

    LCDOUT $FE,$80, $20,$20,$20,$20 (?)

    How is it written?

    THANKS.

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Is it this?.....

    LCDOUT $FE, $80, REP " " \4

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    25


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default It's really simple...

    To put four blank spaces at the beginning of the 1st line:

    LCDOUT $FE, $80, " "

    It's a simple as that. And nothing else currently displayed on the LCD will be changed. Controlling LCD's with PBPro is awfully easy. I've had a lot more problems with quirky LCD drivers that want to work in 8 line mode but not in 4 line. But at least the programming is easy.

    A quick edit. The forum software seems to want to eliminate extra spaces in my line of code, but just push the space bar on your keyboard 4 times with quote marks on either end.
    Last edited by mugwamp; - 27th July 2006 at 20:34.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    You can:
    a) just write on top of that location - no need to clear unless you want to
    b) clear 4 digits with any of the following
    Code:
    LCDOUT $FE, $80, REP " " \4    ' perfect the way you have it
    or
    Code:
    LCDOUT $FE, $80, "        "          ' 4 spaces between the quotes
    or
    Code:
    LCDOUT $FE, $80, 32,32,32,32
    or
    Code:
    LCDOUT $FE, $80, $20,$20,$20,$20
    or
    etc.
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  5. #5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Wow...thanks Paul. I really appreciate it when I get specific information like that.

    It helps me learn "completely".

    Can't believe I actually had the last one right....it was an assumption. I'll stick with 4 blank spaces.....my mind likes the higher level language.

    I have poor retention for hex and decimal equivalents and the like.

    Some people can retain that type of info....I can't.

Similar Threads

  1. Is this code not initialising the LCD properly?
    By Platypus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 30th January 2010, 19:14
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  3. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  4. LCD Problem
    By karenhornby in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 19th June 2008, 11:43
  5. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts