16f628 supply voltage 3.3v


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    120

    Question 16f628 supply voltage 3.3v

    Hello to everybody,

    I have a question.The datasheet of the 16f628 claims that the operation voltage range is 3.0v-5.5v.
    I try to supply with 3.3v but it is dead.It starts working from 4.5V.
    Do I need to set it so as to start from lower voltage.

    Thnks in advance
    Regards
    Nikos Geronikolos

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Set config fuse BOD "brown-out detect" to off to disable brown-out detection.

    Look in the Electrical Specifications section of your data sheet for Brown-Out
    Detect Voltage for an explanation.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    120


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Bruce,

    I have just turn the brown-out detect to OFF.
    All is playing nowwwww.


    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    120


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Bruce an other one question.

    Do you have any idea how I one pic will read an ASCII from an other and send to a pc.

    What I mean is:

    1st pic:

    SerOUT portb.5,N2400,["ID:001 TYPE:A"] <----

    2st pic:
    SerIN portb.0,N2400,SerialData
    hserout [SerialData]


    My pc terminal is receiving $#%#$@^%$^

    Please advice

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have you verified your PIC sending data to the PC works?

    What happens if you send HSEROUT ["Hell World..!"]?

    Also your sending 13 bytes from PIC #1, but only receiving "1" byte at PIC #2.

    Look at using SERIN2 with the string modifier.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  6. #6
    yourmomOS's Avatar
    yourmomOS Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default did you try this?

    create an array in the second pic
    X var byte
    X = 15
    serialData var byte[X] <- or however long the data is

    1st pic:

    SerOUT portb.5,N2400,["ID:001 TYPE:A"] <---- your outputting ascii

    2st pic:
    SerIN portb.0,N2400,SerialData <----your receiving the ascii number rep...
    hserout [STR SerialData\X] <---declare tht it is a string your outputting


    That should work but I didnt try it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    SerIN portb.0,N2400,SerialData is only going to receive a single byte of data.

    Assuming you had a 13 byte array, I.E. SerialData VAR BYTE(13), then the
    above would receive a single byte in SerialData(0).

    The name of any array is simply a pointer to the starting address of the array
    in RAM.

    SerialData VAR BYTE(13)
    SERIN2 portb.0,16780,[STR SerialData\13] would receive all 13 bytes.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GREECE
    Posts
    120


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Bruce,

    I can talk with my PC using HSEROUT of the 2st pic.That is ok.

    I try to use thje followings wityh no success:
    --------------------------------------------
    1st pic:
    SerOUT portb.5,N2400,["ID:001 TYPE:A"] <----

    2st pic:
    SerialData VAR BYTE(13)
    SerIN portb.0,N2400,SerialData
    hserout [STR SerialData\13]
    --------------------------------------------------
    1st pic:
    SerOUT2 portb.5,N2400,["ID:001 TYPE:A"] <----

    2st pic:
    SerialData VAR BYTE(13)
    SerIN2 portb.0,N2400, [STR SerialData\13]
    hserout [STR SerialData\13]
    -----------------------------------------------------


    Nothing is playing of the following

    Please advice

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try changing these;

    SerOUT2 portb.5,N2400,["ID:001 TYPE:A"]

    SerIN2 portb.0,N2400, [STR SerialData\13]

    To this;

    SerOUT2 portb.5,16780,["ID:001 TYPE:A"] <----

    SerIN2 portb.0,16780, [STR SerialData\13]

    Does it work now?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

Similar Threads

  1. Crystal oscillator tied to supply voltage?
    By achilles03 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 27th March 2009, 17:28
  2. Battery charger - power supply issue affecting ADC
    By flotulopex in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: - 14th December 2008, 00:12
  3. Expanded Scale Voltmeter
    By Pic_User in forum Schematics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th February 2008, 20:32
  4. MAX133 Interface to PIC16F877, how to?
    By phreakerzoid in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 14th June 2007, 13:58
  5. Help with final project
    By OvERKiLL in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th December 2006, 20:35

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts