16F88 MPASM Fuses


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382

    Question 16F88 MPASM Fuses

    I have read through all the info on the forum about setting fuses when using the MPASM assembler.

    I'm still getting an error when I uncomment them. I have gone into the 16F88.inc file and followed the note about setting fuses, which is:

    ; To use the Configuration Bits, place the following lines in your source code
    ; in the following format, and change the configuration value to the desired
    ; setting (such as CP_OFF to CP_ALL). These are currently commented out here
    ; and each __CONFIG line should have the preceding semicolon removed when
    ; pasted into your source code.

    ;Program Configuration Register 1
    ; __CONFIG _CONFIG1, _CP_OFF & _CCP1_RB0 & _DEBUG_OFF & _WRT_PROTECT_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _BODEN_OFF & _MCLR_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _HS_OSC

    ;Program Configuration Register 2
    ; __CONFIG _CONFIG2, _IESO_OFF & _FCMEN_OFF

    This is what I have in my program:

    ;Program Configuration Register 1
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG1, _CP_OFF & _CCP1_RB0 & _DEBUG_OFF & _WRT_PROTECT_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _BODEN_OFF & _MCLR_OFF & _PWRTE_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _HS_OSC
    ;Program Configuration Register 2
    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG2, _IESO_OFF & _FCMEN_OFF

    Still no joy, I get two error when the above is uncommented. BTW I have tried adjusting the spacing but nothing changed. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What do the Error's say?
    <br>
    DT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Not real sure how to check. I get the popup and then it disappears.

    This is my first go round with MPASM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Open the .LST file with the same name as your program with NotePad, and search for ERROR.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The only two things that seem remotely relavent is:

    Error[118] : Overwriting previous address contents (2007)
    Error[118] : Overwriting previous address contents (2007)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You just need to comment out the existing __CONFIG line in the 16f88.inc file in the PBP folder.

    Those default settings always get in the way.

    DT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OK I cheated, I just changed the .inc file and called it done.

    It's still frustrating that I have to do that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sure, that'll work fine for now. But when you have another project that also uses a 16F88 with different config settings. If you modify the .inc file for the new settings. The Older program won't work anymore, you won't receive any errors indicating a problem, and it's up to you to remember that the settings were changed (6 months later).

    It's really best to comment them out, and set up the CONFIG registers in each program's code. Less indigestion later.
    <br>
    DT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I'm with you on that. I will keep digging.

    Its really your fault after all, had your Instant Interrupts not worked so well I wouldn't have to deal with this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    &nbsp;&nbsp;BwaaHaaHaa!

    Melanie's Whip is nothing compared to the pain my programs can inflict. (at first)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Commenting out that line did the trick. Still odd but it works for now.

    BTW your Instant Interrupts really did save my project. I'm using RX_INT and Timer1_INT without any issues. Kind of nice to be able to grab serial data in the background.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Fantastic! &nbsp; &nbsp; (I've been watching too much Dr. Who?)


    Always nice to hear things are Working!

    Better to see a sample.

Similar Threads

  1. Presetting Configuration Fuses (PIC Defines) into your Program
    By Melanie in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 82
    Last Post: - 15th December 2013, 09:54
  2. old chestnut, 18f2550, fuses, osc's leds...
    By f_lez in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 31st October 2009, 17:18
  3. 18F Config fuses
    By Angus Anderson in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: - 18th December 2007, 15:59
  4. Converting to MPASM
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 4th November 2005, 01:35
  5. 4 line LCD with 16F88
    By anj in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 7th February 2004, 09:06

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts