SED1335 320x240 LCD


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154

    Default SED1335 320x240 LCD

    Hi,

    Does anyone have some PBP code for this LCD controller? Any help appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I've found the datasheet, the SED1335 is part of the SED1330 group.

    But there's tons of settings in there, many I'm sure I don't even need to worry about. I found some code over at CompSys though, so that should be a great help.

    Now I'm waiting for the LCDs to come in so I can make some tests.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ok, the LCDs came in and I figured out all the system settings.

    LCD datasheet here (if you can call it that):
    http://www.qingyun-it.com/products/y...LCM3202401.pdf

    SED1335 controller datasheet here:
    http://www.compsys1.com/support/docs/sed1330.pdf

    I am driving it with a PIC 16F877 at 20MHz. Every thing goes fine, I can reprogram it over and over and change the text at will. But if I power OFF and back ON again the LCD goes crazy. It's like a TV that loses vertical control, just a blur of lines going super fast. If I wait 7 seconds or more before powering back ON everything boots up normal.

    This is the 1st type of LCD controller that's ever done that to me and this is the 4th type I've tried so far. Has anyone ever encountered a similar problem? I'm guestimating that this particular controller requires a short break between power OFF and ON for some technical reason, why? No idea but that's what it looks like.

    The initialization routine in the PIC seems fine 'cause it works perfectly if I wait 7 seconds or more. I can pull-down /MCLR as often as I want, the PIC resets fine and the LCD displays properly.

    My rookie solution would be to control the power-up of the LCD with the PIC instead of feeding it directly from the supply line. A 10 second 'warm-up' period with a flashing LED and probably a transistor to power the LCD. The LCD datasheet says 90-100mA, that's more than what a PIC pin can drive (25mA if I read the datasheet properly). I was thinking of having the VDD direct to the LCD logic, and placing a transistor on the Vss like so (just to confirm I have my head on straight):

    Base: control pin on PIC via a resistor, not sure what size but I know I need one.
    Collector: LCD logic
    Emitter: VSS

    Does that make sense?

    Robert
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Those are perfect for small and close to be obsolete products IMHO. Have a look to newer controller and LCDs. Varitronix do some really great.

    I've never work wit those SED133X so far so i can't comment on. 7 Seconds seems to be a huge delay... maybe the initialisation is not done properly.

    Those i used, needed less than seconds for a safe start-up delay.

    In meantime, some GLCD are quite noise sensitive. May some 10uF tantalum + usual 0.1uF on VCC and as close as possible of the module could help.

    I don't think that powering the LCD as you said will solve or help. Be sure of your LCD init timing.

    That's all i see now.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Turns out it wasn't the LCD at all causing the problems, it was the PC power supply that I use on my bench.

    If I take the wire to VDD. I can turn the circuit on and off real quick. I suppose the power supply was surging or something, not worried 'cause now I know not to do that.

    Steve, I like this LCD 'cause it is affordable and easily available.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

Similar Threads

  1. Is this code not initialising the LCD properly?
    By Platypus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 30th January 2010, 19:14
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  3. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  4. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30
  5. SED1335 320x240 graphic LCD
    By Demon in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 5th June 2006, 12:04

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts