On Interrupt question


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130

    Question On Interrupt question

    Hi, im trying to understand how to use ON INTERRUPT, so I created this little program:

    Code:
    @ device pic16F628A, intrc_osc_noclkout, wdt_on, mclr_off, protect_off
    DEFINE OSC 4
    
    trisb   =%00110000
    trisa   =%00000000
    'ansel   =%00000001  
    cmcon   =%00000111  'Comparators Off
    vrcon   =%00000000
    intcon  =%10101000  'interrupts enable    
    OPTION_REG =%01010001     
    
    but1    var trisb.4
    but2    var trisb.5
    ledwork var trisa.0
    led1    var trisa.1
    led2    var trisa.2
    led3    var trisa.3
    rs      var trisa.5
    
    
    conta   var byte
    
    
    on interrupt goto interrupcion
    
    ;SerOut rs,2,[10,13]
    ;SerOut rs,2,["inicio"]
    ;SerOut rs,2,[10,13]
    
    enable
    loop:
    
    ;disable
    ;SerOut rs,2,[10,13]
    ;SerOut rs,2,["Loop"]
    ;SerOut rs,2,[10,13]
    ;enable
    
    for conta=0 to 255 step 16  'working led rise routine
        pwm ledwork, conta, 10  
    next conta
    high ledwork
    
    for conta =0 to 100
        pause 10
    next conta
    
    low led1    'set status buttons leds off
    low led2
    low led3
    
    for conta=0 to 255 step 16  'Fall routine
        pwm ledwork, 255-conta, 10 
    next conta
    low ledwork
    
    for conta =0 to 100
        pause 10
    next conta
    
    low led1   'set button status leds off
    low led2
    low led3
    
    goto loop
    
    end
    disable 
    interrupcion:
    ;SerOut rs,2,[10,13]
    ;SerOut rs,2,["Interrupt"]
    ;SerOut rs,2,[10,13]
        intcon.0=0
        intcon.1=0
        intcon.2=0
            if but1=1 then
                but1=0
                high led1
            endif
            if but2=1 then
                but2=0
                high led2
            endif
    high led3   
        resume
    enable
    The idea is to trigger an interrupt when any of the buttons (but1 & but2) are pressed, to show the status a led (led1 & led2) is turned on for a second and off again. led3 is used as a way to know an interruption has been triggered.

    To simulate a real loop the "payload" of the program is a PWM pulse on ledwork

    There are serouts all over the place, but since I cant make the basic version to work, these are commented out.


    IMHO this program should work, but it doesn't. Could someone guide me in the right direction to fully understand how this should work?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    begin by changing this
    Code:
    but1    var trisb.4
    but2    var trisb.5
    ledwork var trisa.0
    led1    var trisa.1
    led2    var trisa.2
    led3    var trisa.3
    rs      var trisa.5
    to
    Code:
    but1    var PORTB.4
    but2    var PORTB.5
    ledwork var PORTB.0
    led1    var PORTB.1
    led2    var PORTB.2
    led3    var PORTB.3
    rs      var PORTB.5
    Let's see what happen now. i didn't go deeper than this.. for now
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I changed as you suggested but corrected the ports, I guess this is what you meant

    Code:
    but1    var PORTB.4
    but2    var PORTB.5
    ledwork var PORTA.0
    led1    var PORTA.1
    led2    var PORTA.2
    led3    var PORTA.3
    rs      var PORTA.5
    And before the loop starts I added:

    porta=0
    portb=0


    Now I can see the led1/led2 trigger after pressing for about a second, but the generic interrupt led3 is ON all the time which indicates me that the interrupt is being triggered constantly, regardless of the button presses.

    Any idea?


    Thanks


    Pablo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Im still puzzled by this, I know I must be near, but Im missing the finish line by a byte or two



    Thanks, help is appreciated

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default A quick look at your prog.

    Hi,

    You are turning on the LED3 in the interrupt routine and turning it off in the main loop. So technically it should work. Now consider this :

    Your buttons are not debounced so it may quite happen that another rising edge is setting up your interrupt. Since you have the buttons pressed while in interrupt you are being able to detect it and light led1 and led2.

    So introduce a pause inside your interrupt after turning on the LEDs and as soon as you inside the interrupt release the button. Then while getting out clear the interrupt flags. This might solve your problem.

    Regards

    Sougata

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sougata
    Hi,

    You are turning on the LED3 in the interrupt routine and turning it off in the main loop. So technically it should work. Now consider this :

    Your buttons are not debounced so it may quite happen that another rising edge is setting up your interrupt. Since you have the buttons pressed while in interrupt you are being able to detect it and light led1 and led2.

    So introduce a pause inside your interrupt after turning on the LEDs and as soon as you inside the interrupt release the button. Then while getting out clear the interrupt flags. This might solve your problem.

    Regards

    Sougata
    Hi Sougata,

    If I enter any pause in the interrupt routine (I just tried it) I severelly impair the PWM loops, and this is another indication that the interrupt is being triggered constantly.

    Here is the schematic:




    Thanks


    Pablo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default You are using interrupt on change

    Hi,

    It seems at a quick glance that you are using the interrupt on change feature on portb. This means you trigger an interrupt on every change on portb<4:7> . In plain english on every edge , a press or release of the button. So the program is jumping into the routine. Without rewiring your circuit you can disable the interrupt altogether in the interrupt routine and then clear flags and set the interrupt in the main loop.

    BTW its 22:05 here and time to go home so signing off now.

    Regards

    Sougata

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The interrupt is triggered as soon the pic starts, without even pressing a single time any button.


    I set the OPTION_REG as follows

    bit7 = 1 PORTB pull-ups are disabled
    bit6 = 1 Interrupt on rising edge of RB0/INT pin
    bit5 = 0 Internal instruction cycle clock (CLKOUT)
    bit4 = 1 Increment on high-to-low transition on RA4/T0CKI pin
    bit3 = 0 Prescaler is assigned to the Timer0 module
    bit2 = 0 Prescaler Rate Select bits
    bit1 = 0
    bit0 = 1 TMR0 Rate 1:4 WDT Rate 1:2

    I can rewire the schematic at will, so if you have a solution this way, please let me know.


    Thanks!
    Last edited by peu; - 27th January 2006 at 17:45.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Try using the PORTB.0 interrupt

    Hi,

    Try using the portb.0 interrupt pin. Clear the interrupt flags (other than Global int.7) just before the resume and your circuit should work. Try using some sort of debounce circuitry as well. Good Luck. BTW your PIC has a hardware PWM. After the experiment put it to good use.

    Regards

    Sougata

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi again Sougata,

    I need 3 PWM thats why I use the soft version. And regarding the interrupts I need 2 buttons, thats why I choosed the port change instead of the single PortB.0 method.

    Any idea on how to do that?

    Thanks again!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Pablo,
    As sougata mentioned, you'll have problems with switch bounce and button press duration causing repeated interrupt flag resets.

    Since your code is not 'seeing' an interrupt until after the PWM statements are finished, why not just test the state of the interrupt flag in the pauses in between your PWM loops?

    As far as interrupting on power up without a button press, you might try a bit a a pause at the start of the program, then clear the interrupt flags.

    Arch

    EDIT - ooh... that won't work 'cause it won't sort out the different buttons - darn!
    Last edited by Archilochus; - 27th January 2006 at 19:36.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Why have you turned on Timer0 Interrupt

    Hi,

    On a closer look at your prog I found that you have timer0 to use external clock via RA4. Possibily you did this because there is no timer0 enable disable bit. You wanted your timer not to work. But you have kept the input floating. Spurious counting is going on. Also you have turned on the timer0 interrupt bit in your intcon settings. So a timer0 overflow would trigger the interrupt.

    So my suggestions :

    1. Disable the T0IE bit

    Regards

    Sougata

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking

    Thanks Sougata, I changed that bit and now it works as expected.

    A single bit keep me puzzled half week, you gotta love pics...

    Here is the working example, so others can learn too:

    Code:
    @ device pic16F628A, intrc_osc_noclkout, wdt_on, mclr_off, protect_off
    DEFINE OSC 4
    
    trisb   =%11111111
    trisa   =%00000000
    cmcon   =%00000111  'Comparators Off
    vrcon   =%00000000
    intcon  =%10001000'interrupts enable // was  %10101000  
    'OPTION_REG =%11010001 
    
    but1    var PORTB.4
    but2    var PORTB.5
    ledwork var PORTA.0
    led1    var PORTA.1
    led2    var PORTA.2
    led3    var PORTA.3
    rs      var PORTb.2
    
    
    conta   var byte
    
    porta=0
    portb=0
    
    on interrupt goto interrupcion
    
    SerOut rs,2,[" ",10,13]
    SerOut rs,2,["Begin",10,13]
    
    
    LOOP:
    
    SerOut rs,2,["Loop",10,13]
    
    for conta=0 to 255 step 16  'working led rise routine
        pwm ledwork, conta, 10  
    next conta
    high ledwork
    
    for conta =0 to 10
        pause 10
    next conta
    
    low led1   'set button status leds off
    low led2
    low led3
    
    
    goto loop
    
    end
    disable 
    interrupcion:
    SerOut rs,2,["Interrupt",10,13]
        intcon.0=0
        intcon.1=0
        intcon.2=0
            if but1=1 then
                 but1=0
                high led1
                SerOut rs,2,["Set",10,13]
    
            endif
            if but2=1 then
                 but2=0
               high led2
               SerOut rs,2,["Mode",10,13]
            endif
    high led3       
    
        resume
    enable
    I commented out the OPTION_REG because the program worked ok with and without it. Of course the serouts can be removed, I use them to know where the program is.

    Thanks to all for the help provided


    Pablo

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up All's well that ends well

    Hi,

    In helping you out I also added my experience. It really feels good when a puzzle gets solved. If you hadn't given the hints that it is jumping to the interrupt even without a button pressed I couldn't have pointed it out. So the credit goes to you for all the labour and time spent.This is only the beginning now concentrate on the PWM part and add some sparkle to your design.

    I myself do not rely on the PBP interrupt and tend to use asm as my apps demand.It is not that tough if you give it a try. I am a complete self-taught without much of an academic background. My schedule doesn't permit me always to be active in this forum still I love to.

    I am myself very much facinated with RGB LEDs and plan to design an ambilight as in the Phillips plasma TVs. (I cannot afford a LCD or Plasma)But everytime my hobby gets the least attention due to job pressure. I am still in my struggling phase to establish myself as a PIC programmer. I live in a city where neither PICs nor RGB LEDs are easily available. I have to get them from another metro and it is costly in terms of our economy. Still with all of you around I know I am not alone. Thanks to this forum and all PICers out there.

    Have a great PICing time.

    Regards

    Sougata

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking

    Here is what I did with the previous version that did not used interrupts, just a simple loop of 6 for-next:

    What happens when you mix: A toilet scrub and a vase

    I hope you didn't bet on this art deco artifact :



    Well, you need to add some electronics to the mix: a pic microcontroller, some mosfets, a few resistors, a few luxeon leds, a heatsink, a difuser and a li-ion battery...

    and you get this:

    luxeons attached to heatsink and difuser over leds:



    here is a sequence of frames:


    If you can view DivX files, here is the complete color sweep (480k)


    Hope you all like it


    Pablo

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kolkata-India
    Posts
    563


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up Great!!

    Hi,

    Hats off to your vase. Nifty stuff. How about adding a beat detector with a mic input that adapts your PIC to music playin around.




    Regards

    Sougata

Similar Threads

  1. Interrupt question
    By ultiblade in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 26th November 2009, 20:12
  2. Can't ID interrupt source with this IntHandler??
    By jellis00 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 3rd June 2009, 02:35
  3. Help with Analog Interrupt
    By brid0030 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 13th February 2008, 18:14
  4. USART interrupt not interrupting right
    By Morpheus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 6th March 2005, 01:07
  5. Interrupt question
    By stone in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 25th January 2005, 23:11

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts