PIC18F2620 "out of memory"??


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373

    Question PIC18F2620 "out of memory"??

    I am compiling a program on the 2620, and when I get above 6K bytes programmed, it tells me I am out of memory. This chip is supposed to have 32K of flash... What gives? I am using MCSP, with PBP2.46.
    Thanks,
    Ron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    could be the use of BRANCH instead of BRANCHL

    OR http://www.melabs.com/faq/02039124.htm#02070858

    If it doesn't work, try to remove your config fuses

    Not better... post your code here or in my PM
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e
    could be the use of BRANCH instead of BRANCHL

    OR http://www.melabs.com/faq/02039124.htm#02070858

    If it doesn't work, try to remove your config fuses

    Not better... post your code here or in my PM
    I am not using branches, and I am on XP.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ron Marcus, Are you by chance declaring too large of an array for the available ram? I have been using these processors and have never "run out of memory". Also check that you are not recursively calling a subroutine. A stack overflow will also give you this message.

    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA

  5. #5
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    A bit cryptic on the 1st line...
    Is it that Windows is out of memory or the PBP program is too large?
    Post some code... let's see what's up...
    JDG

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skimask
    A bit cryptic on the 1st line...
    Is it that Windows is out of memory or the PBP program is too large?
    Post some code... let's see what's up...
    JDG
    This is a client's project, and I am not at liberty to post code. That being said, I isolated some code with ";"s and it compiled up to 5980 bytes (in the lower left window of MCSP. To be sure it was not some funky code getting by the assembly process, I isolated alternate blocks of code and it compiled up to 6 k again. I must believe it is in the amount of memory partitioned for PBP.
    I read a note on the ME website about an alternate PBP compiler for large programs, but have not had time to implement it. It's unfortunate that "out of memory" can mean so many things. Anyone have to switch over to the "other PBP"?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The 'out of memory' message probably refers to your PC's available memory during compilation. PBP does not take advantage of all your PC's available RAM, whilst PBPW does.

    There is no 'other' PBP (by 'other' I mean another version you have to purchase)... it's just down to the way you invoke it...

    A standard example:-

    PBP -p16F876A myprog -v

    A large memory example:-

    PBPW -p16F876A myprog -v

    Actually where you run out of memory is probably dependent on your PC... on mine it happens somewhere between a 4k and 6k compilation. You might as well just run PBPW for everything and not have to worry about it again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melanie
    The 'out of memory' message probably refers to your PC's available memory during compilation. PBP does not take advantage of all your PC's available RAM, whilst PBPW does.

    There is no 'other' PBP (by 'other' I mean another version you have to purchase)... it's just down to the way you invoke it...

    A standard example:-

    PBP -p16F876A myprog -v

    A large memory example:-

    PBPW -p16F876A myprog -v

    Actually where you run out of memory is probably dependent on your PC... on mine it happens somewhere between a 4k and 6k compilation. You might as well just run PBPW for everything and not have to worry about it again.
    Thanks all. I will try PBP 'Dubya'

    Ron

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OK, I switched over to PBPW and still got the 'out of memory' message around 5900 bytes. Since it was during assembling, and the system uses MPASM, I looked at MPASMWIN. I don't know how to muck around with DOS, so I took the cheesy way out...I changed the names MPASMWIN to MPASM, and MPASM to MPASM1. Now all is well in Whoville! Thanks again for the feedback, and I am seriously thankful for a forum with so much knowledge out there for the asking...

    Ron

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with a pulse counter project PIC18F2620
    By blackrider in forum Schematics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 29th April 2009, 00:08
  2. pic18f2620 freezing
    By jetpr in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 28th January 2009, 16:50
  3. Help pic18f2620
    By jetpr in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 1st February 2008, 02:09
  4. Serout2 pic18f2620
    By cerio in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 23rd May 2007, 23:06
  5. Help with 16F873 "Out of Memory" problem.
    By Archilochus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 31st December 2004, 20:01

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts