Pbp + Mplab + Icd2


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    eduardojx's Avatar
    eduardojx Guest

    Question Pbp + Mplab + Icd2

    Have someone used PBP, MPLAB and ICD2 together? I need use a debbuger mode of ICD2 and have tried put on the microcontroler in debug mode (trhough this line __CONFIG _CONFIG4L, _LVP_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L & _DEBUG_ON_4L in .inc file, for example) but nothing at now.
    Please, someone have any idea? How I do to work ICD2 in this mode?

    Best Regards,

    eduardojx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You have to instruct PBP to reserve space for ICD variables. Look in your PBP directory for ICDDEFS.BAS (or one specifically for the target processor you're using). There are several. If there isn't one for the target you're using, it's simple enough to create your own.

    Include one for the target processor you're compiling for.

    INCLUDE "ICDDEFS4.BAS" would be for the 18F252/258/452/458 series.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    448


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default ICD2 against software ICD

    Hi,

    I too have been seeing several clone designs for the ICD2, and was toying with the idea of building one.

    This is where I need some advice; I currently use the ICD built into the Microcode Studio. What exactly are the advantages of using a hardware ICD?

    Also, can one use the hardware ICD2 with Microcode Studio effectively, or must one shift to MPLAB to achieve its fullest potential?

    Regards,

    Anand

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    17


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    @ Bruce

    I had read one topic here on how to use PBP in MPLAB under debug mode.
    He said to include "ICDDEFS*.bas for the program to run in debug mode under MPLAB.
    In relation to your comment above
    1.How can we create one?
    2.Do we need to see some specs from the datasheet?

    Bruce if you can provide some steps and samples on how to create one it would be more easy for me as a newbie to understand.

    Since lastweek Im planning to use mplab debugging feature for PIC18F2550 and 4550 can you give one sample for either of this pics in creating ICDDEFS?

    Thanks & regards

    Chris

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Open ICDDEFS7.BAS

    This one reserves space for ICD vars for the 18F2220/2320/4220/4320.

    ICDRESERVED12 VAR BYTE(12) $1f4

    Now open your ICD2 help file, and look under "Resources Used By MPLAB ICD 2".

    Locate the 18F2220, and look under the "File Registers Used" column. See where it
    shows 0x1F4-0x1FF?

    So all the above is doing is reserving 12 bytes of RAM from 0x1F4-0x1FF.

    Now scroll down a bit and look for the RAM space you need to reserve for the 2550
    and 4550. Now create your new file with ICDRESERVED12 VAR BYTE(12) followed
    by the start address shown in the help file.

    I don't use ICD2 so I can't offer much help beyond this point, but that's all they appear
    to be including in these files.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    17


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Thanks

    Thanks Bruce,

    Just some background...In cooping with freinds who is using the other B compiler and ICD2. With some inputs from Charles L on SIM I have some small feel on how to go on to this. And now I read about the gentleman from central America (forget his name...still searching in my save forum folder)writing about MPLAB, ICD2 and PBP..and the ICDDEFS was he recommended to be place at the top of PBP program so it can run on debug mode in MPLAB environment.

    Ill try to work on your suggestion tomorrow night after office & hope to feedback on the update of this.

Similar Threads

  1. MPLab and Picstart plus with PBP...
    By gregcan in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 8th October 2009, 14:36
  2. MPLAB and PBP ...
    By Acetronics2 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 28th August 2008, 20:51
  3. pbp --> mplab broken again
    By kenif in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 11th December 2006, 18:57
  4. PBP in MPLAB
    By zagisrule! in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 29th December 2005, 01:58
  5. Newby- PBP wont compile for 18F (MPLAB)
    By jd76duke in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 17th December 2005, 23:30

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts