Alfat Sd/mmc


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 32 of 32

Thread: Alfat Sd/mmc

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    My first suggestion is to buy the Alfat SD board with SD socket. It will be easier to work out the necessary code and limit the possible problems. Soldering that chip will be a major pain in the neck. I have ruined more than one until I discovered solder paste and toaster ovens.
    Either way, if you limit your possible sources of trouble, you will be able to concentrate on the interface. The absolute best purchase would be the Alfat development board. I was too cheap to buy one, and paid for it in the form of an extended learning curve.

    Rpn

  2. #2
    eoasap's Avatar
    eoasap Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    i already soldered it onto the board. i used to have to solder parts like these on all the time, so thats not a problem. when i got the chip, there was no documentation with it, is there extra documentation with the dev board ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have you been on the user's forum website? Also, the Proton Basic is not too different from PBP. You can learn alot about timing and protocol.

  4. #4
    eoasap's Avatar
    eoasap Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    yes, have been on the user website for a while, but i didn't see anyone else there that used PBP. did you manually go through the proton code and change it to picbasic ? i'm sure i'd screw that up!

    i really am just interested in doing some simple stuff with it for now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you have the manual, turn it to "getting started with text mode". Basically you apply power with the UART/SPI pin high.

    Pause 500
    low ALFAT_CTS
    pauseus 20
    input ALFAT_RTS
    pauseus 20
    low ALFAT_RESET
    pause 200
    input ALFAT_RESET
    pause 500

    main1:
    serout2 ALFAT_RX,84,["RS OK",13] ; Send reset string
    read:
    serin2 ALFAT_TX,84,bufchar]
    lcdout bufchar
    if DATARDY = 1 then main2

    This little code snippet resets the Alfat and reads back the startup message and version number. After that, you can send out the commands you need in a similar style to the main1: line. Wait for the responses, and use wait in your serin2 string to parse out the info you need.
    Alfat is very finicky about correct syntax, so be very careful.
    I would immedietly disable the echo, then change over to drive A (SD card)

    Ron

  6. #6
    eoasap's Avatar
    eoasap Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    serin2 ALFAT_TX,84,bufchar]

    there should be a '[' before bufchar, right?

    do i need to declare bufchar as a byte ?

    Is there a loop for the serin2 alfat_tx,84, [bufchar] ?

    How do i use datardy?

    I was getting errors using 'read:' also, so changed it to read1:
    Last edited by eoasap; - 15th December 2005 at 01:34.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eoasap
    serin2 ALFAT_TX,84,bufchar]

    there should be a '[' before bufchar, right?

    do i need to declare bufchar as a byte ?

    Is there a loop for the serin2 alfat_tx,84, [bufchar] ?

    How do i use datardy?

    I was getting errors using 'read:' also, so changed it to read1:
    Sorry, I was doing it from memory. "READ" is a reserved word. My bad. DATARDY is a pin on Alfat. If it is high, then Alfat has data to send. It takes about ten microseconds to change states if it is empty, or transitions high. It is a flag and should be aliased as a bit variable, just as ALFAT_BUSY should.

    Ron

Similar Threads

  1. Where should I discuss SD/MMC FAT issues?
    By JD123 in forum General
    Replies: 92
    Last Post: - 2nd April 2008, 21:41
  2. pic + alfat sd
    By ranaz in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 27th July 2006, 06:08
  3. SD/MMC Adapter
    By lester in forum Adverts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 11th July 2006, 15:47
  4. Reading and Writing from SD/MMC cards as FAT filesystem?
    By charliez in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 22nd June 2006, 22:26
  5. GHI Electronics ALFAT and USBWiz products.
    By lester in forum Adverts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 15th June 2005, 12:59

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts