PBP2.46, MPLAB and PM assembler.


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648

    Question PBP2.46, MPLAB and PM assembler.

    Hi,

    I sometimes used PM as an assembler ... just cancelling MPASM use in Project build options and file properties.

    I Use MPLAB 7.22 and now ... no way to use PM ...

    I get that with PM :

    Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -v -p16F84A "Acetachy2.bas"
    PicBasic Pro Compiler 2.46, (c) 1998, 2005 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Pass 1:
    Pass 2:
    Code Gen:
    Macro Pass:
    PM.EXE C:\PROGRA~1\MICROC~1\MPLABI~2\Projets\ACETAC~1.ASM

    ERROR: Unable to execute PM.EXE.Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Wed Dec 07 11:28:42 2005

    And That with MPASM :

    Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -oq -v -p16F84A "Acetachy2.bas"
    PicBasic Pro Compiler 2.46, (c) 1998, 2005 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Pass 1:
    Pass 2:
    Code Gen:
    Macro Pass:
    mpasmwin /q "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Projets\Acetachy2.ASM"
    Loaded C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Projets\Acetachy2.COD.
    BUILD SUCCEEDED: Wed Dec 07 11:30:22 2005

    PM is located here : C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\PBP\PM.exe and the file name length doen't matter ( test.bas fails too )
    Placing PBP at C:\PBP doesn't change anything nor ...

    Has someone an idea ...???

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 7th December 2005 at 10:44.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try this...

    Shorten (Rename) your source .BAS filename by one character. PICBasic doesn't respond nicely to filenames greater than 8 characters (DOS legacy maximum length).

    Alternatively then try this...

    1. Open a DOS window

    2. Log into your PBP directory...

    CD C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\PBP

    3. Execute your compile...

    PBPW -p16F84A Acetach2 -v

    Please note that I have SHORTENED your filename by ONE character (rename your source .BAS file to Acetach2.bas). Also note you don't need to include the .EXE and .BAS in your command line.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi, Mel

    Thank you for the answer.

    Limiting The file name to 8 Characters doesn't change the result .

    You'll laugh : I run Win XP Home ... and was hard to find how to run in DOS Mode !!! ... with W98 SE, it was easy to call for pure DOS ...

    Alas ... Result is exactly the same ...

    More examples :

    MPASM ... with the "putmulresult" macro ( THE reason to use PM ...)

    Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -oq -z -v -p16F628 "Acetachy.bas"
    PicBasic Pro Compiler 2.46, (c) 1998, 2005 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Pass 1:
    Pass 2:
    Code Gen:
    Macro Pass:
    mpasmwin /q "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Projets\Acetachy.ASM"
    COD Pass:
    Warning[207] C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROCHIP\MPLAB IDE\PROJETS\ACETACHY.ASM 430 : Found label after column 1. (putmulresult)
    Error[108] C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROCHIP\MPLAB IDE\PROJETS\ACETACHY.ASM 430 : Illegal character (6)
    Loaded C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Projets\Acetachy.COD.
    BUILD SUCCEEDED: Wed Dec 07 14:27:18 2005

    Note : line 430 is :

    ASM?
    putmulresult 60000000

    ENDASM?

    with PM

    Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -v -p16F628 "Acetachy.bas"
    PicBasic Pro Compiler 2.46, (c) 1998, 2005 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Pass 1:
    Pass 2:
    Code Gen:
    Macro Pass:
    PM.EXE C:\PROGRA~1\MICROC~1\MPLABI~2\Projets\Acetachy.ASM

    ERROR: Unable to execute PM.EXE.Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Wed Dec 07 14:36:37 2005

    ... any other idea ???

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Let's first eradicate corrupt files and path name incompatability...

    Have you sucessfully compiled a simple blink led program with PM?

    If yes, then it's something in your main program body... comment out the possible offending line and see if it compiles... time to start narrowing down what's causing the error.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink The long and winding road ....

    Hi, Mel

    All my programs refuse PM now ... they accepted it a while ago !!!

    I'll try a brand new simple project, as you suggest.

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Similar Threads

  1. Presetting Configuration Fuses (PIC Defines) into your Program
    By Melanie in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 82
    Last Post: - 15th December 2013, 09:54
  2. MPLAB ICE 2000 emulator pod
    By Wayne in forum Adverts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 1st April 2009, 00:25

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts