Using Microcode Bootloader + CDLite + Hyperterminal


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    19

    Default Using Microcode Bootloader + CDLite + Hyperterminal

    Hi, this is my first post. I'm quite new in this field.

    I programmed my PIC16F877A with microcode bootloader and I don't wanna use Microcode Studio Plus IDE. Can I use CDLite IDE and then generate hex file and after that I send the hex file using hyperteminal? Can I do that? Any special configuration needed? TQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    72


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The bootlaoder software (on your PC) and the bootloader firmware (in your PIC) must work together. So it's basically a package deal.

    If you use the pre-built hex files for MCS bootloader, then you will need to use MCS bootloader software to do the programming. Hyperterminal won't work.

    You CAN still use CD Lite to edit and compile your code. Then just use the bootloader to load your program hex file.

    FYI - I found that the Tiny PIC Bootloader (freeware) works perfectly with PicBasic Pro. I built the same MAX232 interface as shown on the MCS web site. You may have to edit the firmware .asm file yourself though, depending on what chip, baud rate and oscillator speed you want to use.

    -Jim
    Jim Robertson
    "MilesTag" DIY Lasertag
    www.lasertagparts.com/mtdesign.htm
    Dayton, Ohio

  3. #3
    mikeciz's Avatar
    mikeciz Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Milestag,
    When you use Tiny PIC Bootloader do in picbasic do you use the same "define bootloader=1" in your program, or do you have to insert some assembly code at the beginning of your picbasic code? Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    72


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    No assembly required!

    Just add this line (I put it at the top of the code, but not sure if the location matters):

    DEFINE LOADER_USED 1

    Same as the instructions for using MCS bootloader.

    Also I don't use the "reset" connection to MCLR on my MAX232 circuit. Only the RX/TX lines. Works fine as long as you can cycle power on your target circuit before you start the bootloader.
    Jim Robertson
    "MilesTag" DIY Lasertag
    www.lasertagparts.com/mtdesign.htm
    Dayton, Ohio

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    19


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Why we cannot use hyperterminal to send hex file to microcontroller? If I use mscomm in VB, can I still send the hex file to microcontroller.?

    I'm using hyperterminal coz it's free. I have 40 students and I don't have money to by 40 licences for Microcode Studio. Or anyone can help me the best way to send hex file without using Microcode Studio but still using Microcode Studio Bootloader firmware for my PIC16F877A. TQ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    72


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you want to create your own bootloader, then I think you will need to go to www.Microchip.com and read up on the programming application notes. But it's definitely involved than just sending a serial file to the PIC using hyperterminal.

    Also, I already told you about a FREE bootloader. "Tiny PIC Bootloader" Here is the link to the author's web site:

    http://www.etc.ugal.ro/cchiculita/so...bootloader.htm

    All the info and software/firmware you need is on that site. So far this bootloader works perfectly for me. And it works fine with the shareware version of MicroCode Studio.

    Not sure what you don't like about MCS, but I just switched over to it from CD Lite, and it's an INFINITELY better package. I had so many crashes and glitches with CD Lite, and MCS lets you open multiple files and tab between them. Very convenient.
    Jim Robertson
    "MilesTag" DIY Lasertag
    www.lasertagparts.com/mtdesign.htm
    Dayton, Ohio

  7. #7
    tdavis80's Avatar
    tdavis80 Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking

    MCS is NOT free if used by an educational institution. I think that is what he is complaining about.

    Luckily, any editor will work and there are lots of free boot loaders out there.

    I would recommend checking some of the free programmer's editors because they allow you to enter keywords into a config file. If you use a picbasic config file, it would highlite the commands much in the same way as mcs.


    I use the following boot loader. I like the fact that it doesn't lock the serial port. I can leave it on screen and it only opens the comport when downloading. I have another program that uses the comport while my PIC is running. This means I can have both onscreen and set to the same comport.

    http://www.ehl.cz/pic/pic_e.htm

    I do not have the mclr hooked up. Only the rs232 rx/tx. When I click on the [write] button to send the firmware, I push the reset button on my PIC board. The boot loader then auto-kicks into action and the program downloads in just a few seconds.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    70


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Milestag, sir

    I Just add this line but not work

    DEFINE LOADER_USED 1

    pic 16f877a complier with microcode studio plus 2.2.10

    After download with "Tinybldwin191 into microcontroler "WARNING: PCLATH not initialised before GOTO! ... could not repair.,

    How to fixed it

    here is my code:
    define loader_used 1
    Define OSC 20
    TRISB = 0 'rb0 =output
    TRISB.1 = 0
    Include "modedefs.bas"
    loop: Serout PORTC.6,T9600,["Hello",10,13] ' Display "Hello", next line
    pause 500 ' Wait .5 second
    high portb.1
    Serout PORTC.6,T9600,["World",10,13,10,13] ' Display "World", skip a line
    paUSE 500 ' Wait .5 second
    low portb.1
    Goto loop ' Do it forever
    End

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    72


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What bootloader file did you program into the PIC? I assume you had to edit the 16F876A file?

    Does the bootloader interface identify the connected PIC okay when you click on Check PIC?

    So many variables here, and I don't have extensive experience on this bootloader. I can only tell you what worked for me. Be sure to read all the instructions included with the program.
    Jim Robertson
    "MilesTag" DIY Lasertag
    www.lasertagparts.com/mtdesign.htm
    Dayton, Ohio

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    70


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Dear milestag

    Yes commucate is OK after i edit asm file by change micro from 16f877 to 16f877a and see below

    radix DEC
    LIST P=16F877a, F=INHX8M
    xtal EQU 20000000
    baud EQU 115200
    __CONFIG _XT_OSC & _CP_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _BODEN_ON & _PWRTE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _DEBUG_OFF
    Last edited by chai98a; - 27th November 2005 at 04:47.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    72


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I don't know what the problem is, maybe someone else here has seen it. If the error is from the bootloader, then maybe you will have to try contacting the author.

    Does your code work okay with a traditional PIC programmer (EPIC, etc)?

    Have you tried compiling for different baud rates or oscillator freq? Double check everything too. Make sure you had the right chip selected in MCS, etc. This is the hazard of freeware....limited or no support (you get what you pay for, right?)

    BTW - Probably unrelated, but I always try everything I can think of....if you are using 20MHz crystal, then I believe you need to use HS_OSC instead of XT_OSC. Someone else here pointed that out to me on an earlier problem I had.
    Jim Robertson
    "MilesTag" DIY Lasertag
    www.lasertagparts.com/mtdesign.htm
    Dayton, Ohio

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    70


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Dear milestag
    thank you for advise..

Similar Threads

  1. Bootloader files for MicroCode Studio Plus
    By keithdoxey in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 30th December 2007, 18:54
  2. MAX232 Pin Voltages / Bootloader / Microcode Studio
    By rossfree in forum Schematics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 3rd May 2007, 15:00
  3. CDlite to MicroCode Studio
    By grounded in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 30th January 2007, 15:46
  4. Microcode Bootloader without MAX232
    By kblim in forum Schematics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 9th August 2006, 02:17
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 16th June 2005, 02:56

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts