Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    92

    Default Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver

    Hello - I am trying to write a simple program to run a stepper motor back and forth using the Pololu DRV8711 driver (Link: https://www.pololu.com/product/3730). In order to use the driver, you must first enable it and then you can use the DIR and Step Pins to run your stepper. With other drivers, all you needed to do was drive the ENABLE pin high and you were good to go. With the 8711 board, you have to enable it via SPI. This is done by sending 16-bit values to the registers on the board. Page 27 of the data sheet for this (Link: https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/drv8711.pdf) shows the registers and gives the default values. Technically, all I should have to do is to set bit 0 of the CTRL register to 1 and that should enable the motor, correct? I also want to limit the current to 1/2 of it's maximum value of 4A. This is done using the lower 8 bits of the TORQUE register. Here is my routine to do that:

    Code:
    '****************************************************************
    InitStepper1:
        'Set current to 1/2 max (2A) 
        '$1180 = %0001000110000000
        high M1SCS
        Shiftout m1SDAT, M1SCLK, 1, [$1180/16]
        low M1SCS
        
        pause 50
        'Enable Motor
        '$0C11 = %0000110000010001
        high M1SCS
        Shiftout m1SDAT, M1SCLK, 1, [$0C11/16]
        low M1SCS    
        
        return
        
    '****************************************************************
    I am leaving all of the other values at their default. After executing the InitStepper1 code, I go to stepping the motor by pulsing the STEP pin and nothing happens. My stepper spins freely and I get no indication from my power supply that there is any additional current draw. Is there something I am not doing or doing wrong? Thanks! Jeff

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,607


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver

    Looks like you're shifting out $1180 divided by 16, truncated to 8 bits, so $22. That's not what you want, is it?

    Be careful with / vs \ ;-)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    92


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver

    THANKS! Good catch and yes, I feel stupid. I will give this a try and let you know if that was it! Jeff

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    92


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver

    Well, While that was a problem, it was not THE problem. Still no movement. I tried both mode 1 and mode 0 for the SHIFTOUT methods, also, to no avail.
    Here is a snip of the circuit board design for examination. It seems pretty straight forward, so I think my issue is with setting the registers. Any thoughts are appreciated.
    NOTES: There are 2 drivers on board. Green traces = 5V, Blue = Gnd, Red = 12V, Black = Signal. PIC = PIC16F877A. Thanks!
    Name:  Snip1.JPG
Views: 17
Size:  109.4 KB

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,607


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver

    Hmm...PortA...have you disabled the analog functions (ADCON1 and CMCON registers, I believe)?
    Have you verified (logic analyzer or scope) that the expected data does appears on the pins?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    92


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Help with Pololu DRV8711 Stepper Motor Driver

    Yes, I did set ADCON1 and no, I have not used a scope on this yet. Here is the entire code. I am simply trying to initialize the driver and run a stepper back and forth with 2 LEDs that indicate which direction. I really feel that there is some initialization that I am not doing or not doing correctly. Other than setting the torque and enabling the driver, I am using all the other register defaults... Thanks!

    Code:
    '****************************************************************
        DEFINE OSC 20
    @ DEVICE HS_OSC
      
        TRISA = %00000000
        TRISB = %10111111
        TRISC = %01110000
        TRISD = %00000000
        TRISE = %00000000
    
        ADCON1 = 7          ' Set PortA Pins as I/O pins 
        
    '   M1 = Stepper1
        M1SCS       var PORTB.6
        M1SCLK      var PORTA.0
        M1SDAT      var PORTA.1
        M1DIR       Var PORTA.2
        M1STEP      var PORTA.3
        
        RedInd      var PORTD.0
        GrnInd      var PORTD.1
        
        Icnt        var word
        M1NumSteps  var word
        M1Delay     var word  'delay between steps - 250-12500 uS
    
    '    CTRL Register
    '    EnableON = %0000110000010001   '$0C11
    '    EnableOFF = %0000110000010000  '$0C10
        
    '    Torque Register
    '    Torque50 = %0001000110000000  'Set current at 50% (2A) $1180
    '    Torque100 = %0001000111111111  'Set current at 100% (4A) $11FF
        
    '****************************************************************
        low RedInd
        low GrnInd
        
        low M1SCS ' Set reset pin low
        low M1Sclk ' Set clock pin low
        low M1Step
        
    '****************************************************************
        pause 1000
        
        goto TestStepper1
    
    '****************************************************************
    '****************************************************************
    TestStepper1:
        gosub InitStepper1
        M1numsteps = 4000
        M1Delay = 5000 'uS between steps
    
    DoAgain1:
        high RedInd
        low GrnInd
        
        low M1DIR 'CW
        for icnt = 1 to M1numsteps
            high M1step
            pauseus 10
            low M1Step
            pauseus M1Delay
        next
    
        low RedInd
        low GrnInd
        pause 1000 
        low RedInd
        high GrnInd 
         
        high M1DIR 'CCW
        for icnt = 1 to M1numsteps
            high M1step
            pauseus 10
            low M1Step
            pauseus M1Delay
        next
        
        low RedInd
        low GrnInd
        pause 1000
        goto DoAgain1        
            
    '****************************************************************
    InitStepper1:
        'Set current to 1/2 max (2A)  
        '$1180 = %0001000110000000
        high M1SCS
        Shiftout m1SDAT, M1SCLK, 0, [$1180\16]
        low M1SCS
        
        pause 50
        'Enable Motor
        '$0C11 = %0000110000010001
        high M1SCS
        Shiftout m1SDAT, M1SCLK, 0, [$0C11\16]
        low M1SCS    
        
        return
        
    '****************************************************************
        End

Similar Threads

  1. Stepper motor question:
    By MOUNTAIN747 in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 20th June 2021, 23:56
  2. Motor Stepper Example
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 134
    Last Post: - 3rd January 2015, 17:58
  3. Possible? to use 'SOUND' to drive a Stepper Motor Driver Board
    By rayzrocket in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 30th October 2013, 15:28
  4. Pololu Dual Serial Motor Controller
    By larzazral in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 7th August 2011, 05:11
  5. Stepper Motor troubles
    By Fryin in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 21st March 2007, 01:56

Members who have read this thread : 9

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts