PBP and IDE/programmer


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27

    Default PBP and IDE/programmer

    Hi,

    Been many years since I've used PBP but back into it
    Just upgraded from my 2011!!! PBP gold to the pro. and dusted off my pickit3
    Downloaded PBP and installed fine.
    But seems like not much has changed since 2011 as melabs online help still referring to CDROM installtion.
    Microcode studio that was installed with pbp also seems old considering the pickit 3 is no longer supported MCS only list the pickit2 from the programmer list!
    Eyes also started to glaze over as MCS isn't supported anymore and I need MPLABX.

    I'm sure this is a well warn path but what can use as a windows development environment that is compatile with picbasic.

    Thanks,

    Rob.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    741


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    This should point you to right direction
    https://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/sho...crocode-Studio

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Thanks and appreciated.

    It's a 10year old thread...hope it's still relevant.
    What's happeend to picbasic? Besides the shopping aspect of the web site is still working all else has seemed to have ground to a halt?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,852


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    That is true. People are getting old, things too!

    Melabs will not develop PBP anymore and the latest version of PBP needs MPLABX assembler to work. Please DO NOT download the latest MPLABX. Only version 5.35 will work and obviously the PIC that this version supports.

    Ioannis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Yes that is very true!

    Hopefully some young enthusiast buys out PBP, I'd happy to be a VC for this. Keep me posted if you do hear of anything.

    Haven't got a led flashing yet....but have managed to get MCS to run and download to the PIC so that's a start.


    thanks again,

    Rob.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,852


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    We all hoped that PBP would find a way in the future but now I am convinced this will not happen.

    People change, so microcontroller also do. Arduino, Pi, Python, and many many others are out there. PBP is considered outdated...

    Ioannis

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Can only hope!!! I think it still has a market, just product is not being marketed and it's a difficult experience to get started with.... IE

    Can't get my first code running...

    Have given up trying to get MPX to work even with the rev. you suggested.
    Hence current on version 3.65 of mpx.Only need this installed for the pickit3 to work mcs.
    I've got MCS now comipling and writing to the micro, but code doesn't appear to be executing.

    Have tried a few variation of registeres but program is as follows:
    #CONFIG
    CONFIG FOSC = RC ;

    #ENDCONFIG
    TRISB = %00000000
    LED0 VAR PORTB.2 ' Assign name "LED" to PORTB.0
    LED1 VAR PORTB.1 ' Assign name "LED" to PORTB.0

    mainloop:

    High LED0 ' Turn on LED connected to PORTB.0
    High LED1 ' Turn on LED connected to PORTB.0
    Pause 400 ' Delay for .5 seconds

    Low LED0 ' Turn off LED connected to PORTB.0
    Low LED1 ' Turn off LED connected to PORTB.0
    Pause 400 ' Delay for .5 seconds

    Goto mainloop ' Go back to loop and blink LED forever

    End

    Via the program options of MCS using the PCK3cmd.exe from the MPLABX with the following command line:

    -P$target-device$ -F$hex-filename$ -B -E -M -L

    Programming seems to work but have no flash led! MCLR is held high..
    I'm sure I'm missing somethign so obvious...but any pointers appreciated.


    ************************************************** ***
    Connecting to MPLAB PICkit 3...
    Currently loaded firmware on PICkit 3
    Firmware Suite Version.....01.49.09
    Firmware type..............PIC18F
    Target voltage detected
    Target device PIC18F45K20 found.
    Device ID Revision = 1c
    Erasing...
    Erase successful
    Device Erased...
    Programming...
    The following memory area(s) will be programmed:
    program memory: start address = 0x0, end address = 0x7f
    configuration memory
    Programming/Verify complete
    PICKIT3 Program Report
    17-Jun-2024, 15:02:41
    Device Type:PIC18F45K20
    Program Succeeded.

    Batch Mode Count : 1


    Batch Mode: Press Enter to repeat the same operation ! Enter (quit) or (q) to abort the operation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Rookie mistake should have had INTIO67 not RC for the clock!!

    Ahhh

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,852


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    I hope you do not have many MPLABX version installed. Normaly they shouls co-exist but could also mess up things. Better be safe and uninstall all other version except 5.35 that works with the latest PBP.

    As a programmer, I use Elnec BeeProg 2 and PicKit3 with a stand alone program by https://pickitplus.co.uk/Typesetter/ that supports Pickit2 and Pickit3 at the same app.

    Ioannis

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Thanks,

    I've removed all other installs and switched to 5.35.

    But I'm having problesm with 12F508 micros, seem like I get 2 chances to program the micro then, I get failed to program device error.
    Swap out the micr and same thing. Purchased from Mouser so doubt it's a dodgie chip and it's definetely not a 12C508.
    Scratching my head on that one!
    I've ordered the programming software you pointed me to, just waiting on the license and see how that goes.


    Rob.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,399


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    sounds like you have over written the osccal/ value stored at the top of memory for 12f508.
    Most programmers will not reprog that chip when the value is missing.
    The old pickit2 can reset a value there, with a bit of work. Pk3 might be able to do it too.
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Thanks,

    Not sure how I would have and looking at that register even any value 0's or 1's, it would still work??
    Considering the application doesn't require any precise timing, should I provide a value regardless?

    But did find this as another possible reason:
    https://forum.microchip.com/s/topic/...6KtEAK/t254415

    Anyway I've got 5 pics left, hopefully I'll work it out soon!


    Rob.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,852


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    are your cable longer than 15-20 cm?

    Ioanins

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Got it worked out!

    Again a probably another rookie mistake...Solution was to increase the VDD to 4V! minimum. (software does recommend 4.5V) but 4 seemed to work fine.


    Thanks Ioanins for the pickit3 plus software recommendation! That's what discovered the problem.
    Great little program, works heaps faster then MPLAB X pck3md
    Also integrated within MCS using the pickitcommand exe, hence can delete the bloated software MPLAB X!

    My 5 spare 12F508 are breathing a sigh of relief!

    Big thanks again,

    Rob.
    P.S Ioanins I'm coming to your lovely country next week for Holis, by any chance will you be in Athens on the 10th July? I owe ya a beer!!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,852


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Glad you got it working!

    Yeah, that stand alone revive of Pickit application is my favorite! Love it! Fast, compact and easy to use.

    I think you cannot ged rid of the MPLABX as the PBP needs the assembler and the related files.

    A beer would be very nice to have together but unfortunately I am about 560Km north of Athens. My town is Thessaloniki (second biggest own in Greece). Hope you visit places near the sea side or islands and feel the greek summer thing! Really hot here! Wish you a pleasant stay and if you like ancient places, Acropolis and the museum of Acropolis is a must to visit.

    Ioannis

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    419


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Quote Originally Posted by robertg View Post
    Again a probably another rookie mistake...Solution was to increase the VDD to 4V! minimum. (software does recommend 4.5V) but 4 seemed to work fine.
    The programming spec document for the 12F508 states that the min VDD for programming and bulk erase is 4.5V, so I'd increase that just to be safe.
    https://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/...Doc/41227E.pdf

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    I'm heading to the islands. Maybe another time!

    Completely removed mpab x and no probs to compile.

    Rob.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PBP and IDE/programmer

    Once I realised it was the issue, went looking and found exactly that. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Can we have such IDE for PBP?
    By Ioannis in forum PBP Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 10th July 2012, 11:53
  2. help with PBP IDE
    By fnozzc in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 19th September 2008, 14:44
  3. PBP and MPLab IDE
    By Perrin` in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 29th May 2008, 14:09
  4. "Program Memory Error" with MPLAB IDE (PBP)
    By aggie007 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 13th November 2007, 19:27
  5. LINUX IDE and PBP
    By mslaney in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 5th January 2005, 20:43

Members who have read this thread : 16

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts