Serial comms / Bootloader


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Default Serial comms / Bootloader

    Good day

    I have setup my circuit to be able to do serial comms as well as bootloader software as described at this thread:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...ght=bootloader

    And have used Mister_e's code here:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...1&postcount=11

    But everytime I connect or disconnect using hyperterminal it switch my pic off?
    Any idea why this happens?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Probe your MCLR pin when you disconnect the RS232 cable.

    What's happen? Should go to GND for XYZ time. Place a pull-down resistor on pin 8 of your MAX232.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Steve

    Thx
    I don't have instrumentation to do a probe on mclr.
    Must I just put a pull down resistor on the max (What size 2k)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    let's say <10K should be enough. Also... be sure MCLR is tie to VCC with pull-up too.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    a simple probe... use another PIC.
    Code:
    Start:
        While PICInput=1 : wend
        HIGH LED
        pause 2000
        LOW LED
        goto Start
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you!

  7. #7


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Steve

    Someone told me that the MAX232 has an internal 5K pull down.
    It would not be necessary to put a pull down resistor as you have described.

    Is this correct?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If i refer to the Maxim datasheet...
    <img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=573&stc=1&d=1130593189 ">

    there's indeed a pull-down resistor... mmm for the TI one, i guess it's the same.

    mmm... Hyperterminal could be the cause...
    1. did you disable the handshaking?
    2. What about if you use MicroCode Studio Serial Communicator instead?
    3. Is your MCLR pin is tied to VCC via resistor?
    4. What about if you use the original solution (resistor instead of capacitor)?

    I bet on the Handshake idea now.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by mister_e; - 29th October 2005 at 14:50.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    -did you disable the handshaking?
    <font color="red">Yes</font>
    - What about if you use MicroCode Studio Serial Communicator instead?
    <font color="red">MicroCode Studio Serial Communicator works!!!</font>
    <font color="red">But with visual basic or hyperterminal it does not work?
    Any idea what is the difference between the 2?
    </font>
    -Is your MCLR pin is tied to VCC via resistor?
    <font color="red">Yes</font>

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    In VB you'll need to disable the DTR line. Here's a usual COM port setting in VB
    Code:
        '   Serial Communication Definition
        '   ===============================
            '
            With MSComm1
                .CommPort = 1                 ' Using COM1
                .Settings = "9600,N,8,1"      ' 9600 bauds, no parity, 8 data bit,
                                              ' 1 stop bit
                                              '
                .Handshaking = comNone        ' no handshaking
                .DTREnable = False            ' disable DTR line.. avoid PIC stuck if using
                                              ' bootloader circuitry
                                              '
                .EOFEnable = False            ' disable EOF event
                .InputMode = comInputModeText ' Get Text from COM port
                .RThreshold = 1               ' amount of character to be receive prior to
                                              ' generate a CommEvent
                                              '
                .InputLen = 0                 ' get the whole string
                .PortOpen = True              ' open COM port
                End With
    MCS don't use and disable the DTR line for you.. not Hyperterm (wich i stay far of)
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,615


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 30th October 2005 at 13:42.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Steve - Before you confuse half the forum readers - that's not a MAX232 jpg...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yes it is! comming directly from the Maxim datasheet bellow...
    http://pdfserv.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/MAX220-MAX249.pdf
    there's some little character to read at the bottom of the picture ;-)

    From the Maxim datasheet:

    <img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=576&stc=1&d=1130688459 ">
    <img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=577&stc=1&d=1130688459 ">


    From the Texas Instruments datasheet:

    <img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=578&stc=1&d=1130688459 ">
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by mister_e; - 30th October 2005 at 17:28.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The correct pic is in the datasheet you just posted, but what I'm trying to say is that the jpg you've put up a couple of posts above is not of a MAX232... a MAX232 does not have enable connections on it's inverters. I refer you to Figure 5 on Page 17.

  15. #15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    COOL!!

    DTREnable is working!!!!
    Thank you Steve!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Serial Comms through TX/RX pair jumbled
    By altech6983 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 28th July 2009, 21:04
  2. Simple Serial Comms.
    By koossa in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 23rd November 2007, 08:12
  3. Serial Comms with PIC micros
    By carlsnilsson in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 21st September 2006, 01:00
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 23rd July 2006, 08:16
  5. BootLoader with USB to Serial Convertors
    By mike101video in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 10th January 2006, 16:48

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts