Current Meter


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Current Meter

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    mikefox's Avatar
    mikefox Guest

    Default Current Meter

    Hi guys,

    I need to ask for a little help, I'm building a current meter for a client, and I'm having difficulty working something out.
    I am using a 16F877A with ADC channels 0 to 2 used to measure voltage and current, this all works fine, what I'm having trouble with is calculating current drawn over a period of hours, measured in amp-hour. The idea for this is to show the total current in or out of the system in a day.

    Please, if anyone can help, I could use any tips you might have.

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    28


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Did something similar

    a long time ago in a PC. I basically took an amp reading every second and added 1/3600th of the reading to a register. Basically integrating the amps to get amp hours. Seems like you could do something similar, with different math order, in the PIC.

  3. #3
    mikefox's Avatar
    mikefox Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks mate, this code seems to do the job.

    avg_curr1 = avg_curr1 + (curr0 / 10)
    avg_curr0 = avg_curr1 / 3600

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    257


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Cool Battery Load tester

    This sounds like something I could use....

    I wouldn't mind replacing the old analog current / volt meter in my 30amp load tester with a digital version, including aHr Capacity.

    The current shunt we have produces 50mv max at full load (50amp)

    How could this be measured using a pic.. (Use op amp???) of sort?

    I would like to know if anyone else has done this before.

    On an other topic, has anybody made their own wire wound resistors before?

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Campbell, CA
    Posts
    1,107


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Current meter

    I have built several current meters using Allegro hall-effect sensors. They offer perfect isolation and have no voltage drop. Depending on the model, they have an output of 20-133 mv/Amp. When measuring DC current, I usually use a rail-to-rail op amp to shift the output to near zero volts (the quiescent output voltage of the sensor is VCC/2) and amplify the output a bit before feeding it into the A/D converter.

    Fantastic devices, very accurate and stable. Much neater than using sense resistors.

  6. #6
    MikeTamu's Avatar
    MikeTamu Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have used the Maxim 4172 Current Sense chip and found it to be very easy to impliment and precise.

    http://www.maxim-ic.com/quick_view2.cfm/qv_pk/1654

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    14


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default cost

    Quote Originally Posted by mikefox
    Hi guys,

    I need to ask for a little help, I'm building a current meter for a client, and I'm having difficulty working something out.
    I am using a 16F877A with ADC channels 0 to 2 used to measure voltage and current, this all works fine, what I'm having trouble with is calculating current drawn over a period of hours, measured in amp-hour. The idea for this is to show the total current in or out of the system in a day.

    Please, if anyone can help, I could use any tips you might have.

    Mike
    Why not to use 16f676 for the cost consideration as it cost in delhi is Rs.35 only

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    257


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Charles,

    I finally received my free samples from Allegro today.. gees these guys are slow. I hope that they are worth the wait!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    93


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    what resistor values should i use for the max4172 if my input source voltage is 5v's and my meter should give values for current between 0 and 2 amps.???

Similar Threads

  1. Reducing PIC current to as low as possible...
    By FromTheCockpit in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 18th November 2009, 04:28
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 5th May 2009, 20:10
  3. Help from EE's on Power Meter (AN220)
    By SteveB in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 27th November 2006, 07:05
  4. 16F628A current high during sleep
    By Rubicon in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 9th October 2006, 10:21
  5. Detecting AC current
    By rhino in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 8th July 2005, 21:31

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts