Custom Character Generator


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yikes!, I'm falling behind here. Not enough hours in a day.

    Sean, Ralph and Art,

    Thank you!

    This was actually a side product of what I was working on, (more on that later). But it worked so good I thought I'd Post it. Could use a little more speed. And then there's that "FireFox problem'....uuugh. Fortunately, the main project is working much better,(more on that later). Is there an echo in here?? Hmmm.

    Luciano:
    Thanks for that, well not really. I've actually used that program before(back when I was using "Stamps", yuck!). So i guess you could say that the thought wasn't very original. However, the LCDCC.EXE program isn't very PicBasic Pro freindly.   While it does a good job of creating data for the characters, it doesn't address how to send them to the LCD, or what address you need to send them to.

    I think this version overcomes those deficiencies and allows you to just Cut&Paste the results into your "PicBasic Pro" program.

    But then, it doesn't answer Dave's request.  Kinda screws up my defensive posturing,...(more on that later)...there it is again, who said that?

    Dave:
    It's written in Javascript for browsers. I don't know if it can be turned into a stand alone program or not. ???

    However, if you don't want to enter the forum to use it. You can bookmark this page, and use it anytime you like.
    http://www.DarrelTaylor.com/files/CustChar.htm

    Or, go to that page and use (File | Save As) and you'll have an OFF-line copy.

    Last edited by Darrel Taylor; - 1st November 2005 at 07:10.
    DT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    695


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Darrel,

    My computers were manufactured in the last century.

    Below you can find the performances of your javascript on my machines.

    During the test I have generated only one character. (Letter T).
    I have no Antivirus installed on the computers.
    Only IE6.0 is open. In the W2K task manager, IEXPLORE.EXE gets
    98% of the CPU when the javascript is executed and goes back
    to 0% when the javascript is over.

    ===============================================

    Generated character: (Letter T)
    LCDOUT 254,64,31,4,4,4,4,4,4,0 ' Cust Char #0

    Results:

    (I click the eleven boxes with the mouse and wait).

    Pentium 166 MHz, 128MB, W98SE, IE6.0:
    105 seconds

    Pentium II 300 MHz, 256MB, W2K SP4, IE6.0:
    27 seconds

    ===============================================

    I like and appreciate your support in this forum.
    This is only a problem report.

    Best regards,


    Luciano
    Last edited by Luciano; - 2nd November 2005 at 11:41.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That's good to know, thanks Luciano.

    I knew it was a little sluggish, but it didn't seem that bad on my 3ghz, Hyperthreading laptop.

    I'll have to see what I can do.

    DT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darrel Taylor
    I'll have to see what I can do.
    Hi, Darrel

    The best you could do is a Downloadable version ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That would definately be the fastest way, but by now, most people have learned not to just download executable code written by a nobody. Many of them/us, found out the hard way. Even if they're not an intentionaly malicious program, inexperienced programmers can cause just as many problems, if not more. So, from everyone else's perspective, I would NOT download an executable file from Darrel Taylor.

    At least with Javascript, you don't have to worry about that (As long as you have your browser security set somewhere above "low"). And, hopefully, it will give easy access to more people.

    I now know why this program is moving so slow. And because of the same reason it's getting slower with every additional post in this thread.

    I'm sure I can make it quite a bit zippier.   Just a matter of getting it done. Although I don't know if it will ever be sufficient at 166mhz.

    DT

  6. #6
    mytekcontrols's Avatar
    mytekcontrols Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Unhappy Someone is still using a 166Mhz machine?

    I sure hope you aren't using it with Win2000 or XP

    My slowest machine is a 350Mhz AMD K2 with about 512 Megs of RAM onboard. It has Win2000 on it, and I barely find it tolerable for web surfing (plus it takes forever to fully boot-up, and this is a fresh install). In fact to tell you the truth, I rarely ever use it, and instead use my 2 Ghz Pentium 4 machine.

    If I didn't have a faster machine already, I would probably look into buying either a new motherboard for the AMD box, or just buy a new Wintergreen (or similar) unit if I was on a tight budget. It is sad that computers go obsolete so fast, which I think is largely brought on by bloated operating systems. Heck even Linux which was once heralded as being so much faster then Windows, now also requires a pretty healthy machine if you want to run it with a full graphical interface, and the newest apps.

    Back to the LCD character generator:

    Would using some other web friendly language help improve the speed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    OK, well it took almost a complete re-write, but I think it did the trick.

    And, it works with FireFox now too.

    It's almost instantaneous on my machine (3ghz), but I guess that doesn't mean much.
    I don't have any slow computers to try it on.

    Luciano, can you give me another Speed Test??


    DT

Similar Threads

  1. Custom configuration for LCD module
    By aberco in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 23rd December 2007, 17:51
  2. NEC video character generator...
    By Brock in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 7th November 2007, 22:58
  3. Crystalfontz LCD
    By jman12 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 9th February 2007, 15:04
  4. how to scroll display one character
    By micro in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 13th March 2006, 22:32
  5. LCD Character Generator
    By crematory in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 20th September 2005, 16:07

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts