PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    Try setting GP3 to input as setting to output turns off weak pull-ups

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    GP3 is setupable only as input.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4,115


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    OK, then this would only work if one could change the MCLR bit in config word, address 2007h.

    But this can only be accessed in Programming the chip...

    Interesting one!

    Ioannis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    GP.3 is only configurable as an added input pin when nor being used as the RESET pin. NO output configuration is possible.
    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA
    EN82fn

  5. #5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    yes, if I configure the MCLR bit in config word to "1" then the LED is ON because the transistor is open via internal pull-up. If I configute the MCLR bit to "0" then internal pull-up is disabled and the transistor is closed because the 1M resistor is pull the base to ground.
    That's work, but how to do that in program I don't know. However, it must work somehow, because in PICAXE environment it works.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,631


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    how sure are you that a picaxe 8m2 is a 12f683

    this makes me doubtful a 12f683 pegs out at 20mhz
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  7. #7


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    Quote Originally Posted by richard View Post
    how sure are you that a picaxe 8m2 is a 12f683

    this makes me doubtful a 12f683 pegs out at 20mhz
    That's a good question, PICAXE webpage shows this:
    http://www.picaxe.com/What-is-PICAXE/Superseded-Parts/
    But after better research, I think all my 08M2 devices are PIC12F1840 and thats makes more sens.
    http://www.picaxe.com/What-is-PICAXE...E-Chip-Labels/
    After look in to the datasheet, on this chip is possible to control the pullups via special function register WPUA. This chip allows to separately control each WPU's include the pullup on pin GP3.
    In this case is possible with this trick use the GP3 as digital output.

    I have an idea, the picaxe has a built in security option, when someone try to read the firmware, the bootloader is "self erasing" and the chip is no more work as picaxe, but still works like an ordinary PIC.
    Tomorrow I try read it, and I will after that know what kind PIC is it.
    Last edited by louislouis; - 10th February 2018 at 23:53.

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: PIC12F683 pin GP3 as output

    Hello,
    finally success. I grab one of my PICAXE 08M2, read it with pickit programmer (destroy the bootloader) and yes, it is a PIC12F1840 not a 12F683 which is a previous version of PICAXE 08M (Richard has good suggestion).

    OK, back to my question if it is possible to use the GP3 (MCLR) pin as digital output on this 12F1840 yes, it is!
    This method is suitable to switch simple devices like relays, LEDs, etc. The state is only 1 or 0 (on/off).
    All done with enabling or disabling the GP3 pin internal pull-up resistor. The circuit is the same as in my previous post, and the example code for PIC12F1840 LED blinking on GP3 is like:
    Code:
    ;PIC 12F1840
    #CONFIG
      __config _CONFIG1, _FOSC_INTOSC & _WDTE_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _CPD_OFF & _BOREN_ON & _CLKOUTEN_OFF & _IESO_ON & _FCMEN_ON
      __config _CONFIG2, _WRT_OFF & _PLLEN_ON & _STVREN_ON & _BORV_19 & _LVP_OFF
    #ENDCONFIG
    
    DEFINE OSC 32    ; Use internal clock 
    OSCCON = %01110000
    CLKRCON = 0
    
    TRISA = %000000
    ANSELA = 0  
    OPTION_REG.7=0  ; Enable internal pull-ups
    
    strt:
    wpua=%001000
    PAUSE 500
    wpua=%000000
    PAUSE 500
    goto strt
    The LED is on when pull-up is set ON, and the LED is OFF when the pull-up is set to OFF, that simple it is.

    I think, this method is usable for all PIC devices which allows to individual pull-up switching on MCLR pin.
    Last edited by louislouis; - 11th February 2018 at 10:47.

Similar Threads

  1. Question on using MCLR pin for interupt. (PIC12F683)
    By g-hoot in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 7th February 2009, 02:15
  2. Turn on output pin
    By savnik in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 11th March 2007, 11:49
  3. Input / output using same pin
    By leonel in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 4th March 2007, 21:19
  4. using TOCK pin as output?
    By droptail in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 8th November 2006, 17:15
  5. How to set analog pin to output 5V?
    By james in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 8th July 2004, 07:24

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts