ICD Connection Hardware?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8

    Default ICD Connection Hardware?

    I would like to write code to a PIC18F4520 but I don't have any of the MELabs programming hardware. I do have MC Studio Plus 5.0.0.5.

    How can I connect to the chip so that I can program it and use the ICD feature? Can I just use a USB to RS232 converter like this FTDI (TTL 232R 5v) cable linked below?
    http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Docu...32R_CABLES.pdf


    Another question: Is there any way to simulate the code without writing it to the chip?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,533


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: ICD Connection Hardware?

    You can program the chip using the MicroCode Loader bootloader. But it requires that the bootloader firmware is first programmed into the chip using a normal programmer like the U2, PICKit3, ICD3 or whatever. Once you got the correct bootloader firmware in the chip your "normal" program can be downloaded over the serial port using, for example, the FTDI cable. The bootloader and the soft ICD in Microcode Studio uses the same hardware connections.

    There's no way to simulate the code within Microcode studio. You need third party software for that. Lab Center Proteus seems popular.

    /Henrik.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: ICD Connection Hardware?

    You need a programmer to program a PIC. Three are lots of cheap programmers around that will get you started. The PIC Kit 3 is medium priced, or if it's just a basic development system to learn on then the PicKIt1 is still around (http://cpc.farnell.com/microchip/dv1...d|&CMP=CPC-PLA


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: ICD Connection Hardware?

    Thank you all for the replies!

    I dug up my Pickit 3 and configured it to work with MicroCode Studio by reading through this forum post:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=12108

    Now I wonder: Can I use the Pickit3 with ICD compile in MicroCode Studio? I realize that it will let me write the firmware onto the device, but will it allow me to step through the code on the PIC, or will I need a different tool?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,533


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: ICD Connection Hardware?

    Unfortunately not. The MicroCodeStudio ICD is a software debugger. It uses the PICs USART to communicate with the IDE.
    I suggest you look at the In Circuit Debugger section in the MicroCode Studio Help, it tells you all about it.
    To use the PICKit3 as a "real" debugger" you need to use MPLAB.

    /Henrik.

Similar Threads

  1. STN232 connection
    By PlantBob in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 27th January 2011, 14:47
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 13th May 2010, 02:37
  3. ICD Connection Timeout
    By motorcycleman47 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 19th November 2008, 04:46
  4. U2 ICSP connection
    By Macgman2000 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 17th August 2008, 00:37
  5. Connection time out
    By Pesticida in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 16th November 2005, 21:36

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts