Elapsed Timer findings


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 40 of 48

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Elapsed Timer findings

    Nope. The one I just downloaded today (just to be certain) only went up to 20 MHz.

    Code:
      IF OSC == 4                       ; Constants for 100hz interrupt from Timer1
    TimerConst = 0D8F7h                 ; Executed at compile time only
      EndIF
      If OSC == 8
    TimerConst = 0B1E7h
      EndIF
      If OSC == 10
    TimerConst = 09E5Fh
      EndIF
      If OSC == 16
    TimerConst = 063C7h
      EndIF
      If OSC == 20
    TimerConst = 03CB7h
      EndIF

    Can you get to that number using Art's formula?

    The link in the comments is dead.
    Last edited by Demon; - 23rd August 2024 at 04:35.
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Elapsed Timer findings

    Maybe I have obsolete includes. These are the versions I have:

    Code:
    '***************************************************************************
    '*  Name    : ReEnterPBP.pbp                                               *
    '*  Author  : Darrel Taylor                                                *
    '*  Version : 3.4  (8/13/2010)                                             *
    '*  Notes   : Allows re-entry to PBP from an ASM interrupt                 *
    '*          : Must have DT_INTS-14.bas loaded first                        *
    '***************************************************************************
    '*  ver 3.4 (8/13/2010)                                                    *
    '*           Changed Restore to use 1 less stack level                     * 
    '*  ver 3.3 (1/16/2010)                                                    *
    '*           compatability with PIC16F1 chips                              *
    '*  ver 3.2 
    '*           Bug Fix, RS1/RS2 were being restored incorrectly              *
    '***************************************************************************
    Code:
    '***************************************************************************
    '*  Name    : DT_INTS-14.bas                                               *
    '*  Author  : Darrel Taylor                                                *
    '*  Version : 1.10 (8/13/2010)                                             *
    '*  Date    : OCT 13, 2009                                                 *
    '***************************************************************************
    '* REV 1.10  Fixes Duplicate label error when Handlers cross page boundary *
    '*           Fixes error with 16F1's and MPLAB 8.53 (high)                 *
    '* REV 1.00  Completely re-written, with optimization and F1 chips in mind *
    '* REV 0.93  Fixed CMIF and EEIF problem with older PIC's                  *
    '*           that have the Flags in PIR1 instead of PIR2                   *
    '* Rev 0.92  solves a "Missed Interrupt" and                               *
    '*           banking switching problem                                     *
    '***************************************************************************
    I have the same version of Elapsed_INT.bas as you.
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,631


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Elapsed Timer findings

    Quote Originally Posted by Demon View Post


    Can you get to that number using Art's formula?
    nope

    looks like i snuck in 2:1 prescale with nill comments or anything

    picmulticalc says it all

    Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 919
Size:  97.8 KB


    i don't know where the pic18 vers came from , its not something i would ever use these days
    Last edited by richard; - 23rd August 2024 at 05:33.
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    3,154


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Elapsed Timer findings

    I'm happy you shared that image. I have the Interrupt Frequency at 10 usec, not 10 msec. I suppose that could have just been a default value.

    I'm using the timer to count Ticks between encoder pulses. I control when the Elapsed Timer starts and stops, so do I really want such a fast interrupt that probably will take resources from other operations?

    I'm assuming that the Interrupt Frequency triggers code in the background.
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

Similar Threads

  1. Elapsed Timer Demo
    By Darrel Taylor in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: - 29th October 2012, 17:39
  2. SPWM and Elapsed Timer
    By CocaColaKid in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 8th May 2008, 03:16
  3. Darrel Taylor Elapsed Timer
    By rwskinner in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 13th March 2008, 01:22
  4. DT Elapsed Timer
    By rwskinner in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 9th March 2008, 23:17

Members who have read this thread : 9

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts