LCD do display - but pins check out


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583

    Default LCD do display - but pins check out

    Guys, I'm debugging the mistakes I made when prototyping a PCB. I say I made, the schematic tested out OK in the DRC check, but the board failed to pick up some nets and thus I'm missing a few tracks to some components. However I've trouble shouted through the board and The PIC is running fine, I have comms through an FTDI 232RL chip, and it reads the 18B20 sensor and an corresponding monitoring LED flashes away to confirm the code is running, but the LCD simply lights up with the backlight and doesn't display anything at all.

    I've traced the routing for the 4 bit data lines using a multi-meter for continuity, and using a scope I get negative pulses on enable pin, and positive pulses on the R/W pin - these are around 1.2s frequency which seem slow given that the pic is running at 40 Mhz with a 10 Mhz xtal. There are no solid blocks regardless if the contrast is grounded or taken high (or 4k7 placed between it and the 5v rail). If I replace the PIC back on the development board it works fine ! and the schematic for the LCD was taken from the manual for the EasyPIC5 board - any suggestions or further testing I can do.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    What are you getting on the RS pin?
    Also have you checked the LCD's VDD pin to make sure it is at least 4.5V?
    Last edited by Tabsoft; - 8th May 2015 at 01:45.
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    sorry just reread your post. pulses on r/w doesn't sound correct, rs and r/w crossed?
    Last edited by towlerg; - 8th May 2015 at 02:03.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    True.

    Looking at the EasyPIC5 manual, R/W is tied to ground so you shouldn't read pulses on it.

    RS -- RB4
    R/W -- GND
    E -- RB5
    D4 -- RB0
    D5 -- RB1
    D6 -- RB2
    D7 -- RB3
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Confirmation

    Thanks for the replies,

    OK here's confirmation on how it's wired.

    LCD

    1 GND
    2 +5v
    3 +5v via 4K7 resistor
    4 RB4 (RS)
    5 GND (RW)
    6 RB5 (E)
    7 - 10 GND (D0 - D3)
    11 RB0 (D4)
    12 RB1 (D5)
    13 RB2 (D6)
    14 RB3 (D7)
    15 LED+ 5v via 100R resistor
    16 LED- GND


    I've attached traces of the pulses I get on RB4 and RB5 (sorry I made a mistake in my previous post) and on two of the data lines. I can confirm that the PIC is running as other functions such as RS232 coms and reading the DS18B20's all work fine. I will try a direct wiring option later (wires direct from the PIC pins), but as I can't find any shorts suspect that there is something else that's srewed on the board.

    Moral is not to submit gerbers at 1am in the morning after 14 hrs of drafting the design, but to wait a day and check the design with fresh eyes in the morning ! - This board has so many mistakes in it I must of been totally brain dead !!
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Confirmation

    Interestingly, I get the same trace when the LCD is returned to the EasyPIC5 board, but on RB5 the pulses are positive going not negative going !!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    755


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Confirmation

    Pin 3 is contrast. And you need to put about 1-2K resistor to ground. Not to Vcc. Or for quick test, just short pin 3 to GND and you will get maximum contrast.
    On EasyPIC boards you have trimmer connected to powers supply rails, and slider to LCD. When you just apply power to lcd with correct contrast, first line of display light up all pixels.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Confirmation

    Thanks for the suggestion, but I've tried taking pin 3 to grnd and +5 but it still makes no difference. I've tried wiring the LCd direct to the pins, but still no joy, so I'm at a loss, other than break all the tracks between the PIC and it's header for the LCD, but if there is an issue with the board's through hole plating or something similar then the fault could still be there

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Confirmation

    What LCD are you using?
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    What was the board designed in...?

    Can you post the project artwork / gerbers at least ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    The E line should pulse Positive.

    If you were to send an "H" $48 to an LCD with a 4bit interface, you should see something like this.
    Name:  LCDOUT_2.jpg
Views: 610
Size:  19.4 KB
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Thanks for the further info guys.

    @Tabsoft - it's a 4 line 20 chr back lit display. I use them in all my projects and like I mentioned, works fine on the development board do something is screwed on the board, something that is taking the lines high or low and stopping the signals getting through.

    I've traced out the schematic and compared it to the board and there are quite a few mistakes, not with the LCD part as that pings out but some nets were missed in the PCB layout module when the schematic was converted, but this was with a custom part, so that might of been human error on my part. I'm going to redraw the schematic, and re-work the PCB layout and check everything three times before sending the gerbers off. Still I have some posh new green and white coasters to put my cup of tea on so I guess all was not wasted

    Thanks again for every ones contributions

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Good luck there, sir.
    Nothing like PCB Coasters! I have a few myself.

    BTW what Schematic/PCB software are you using?
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    I use DipTrace. Up until now it's been excellent and I've produced several working boards from it.

    To be honest I think it's 50:50 human error / software error The nets show up for the custom part in the schematic, but were missing in the layout... still having spent two days now trying to sort this I think it's passed debugging and time to start from scratch

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Grid EN19MV
    Posts
    159


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Quote Originally Posted by Tabsoft View Post
    Good luck there, sir.
    Nothing like PCB Coasters! I have a few myself.
    I get some of that green felt from the fabric store and glue it on the back so they don't scratch the coffee table......
    "I have noticed that even those who assert that everything is predestined and that
    we can change nothing about it still look both ways before they cross the street"


    -Stephen Hawking

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Well after a few hours work I've redrawn the schematic and this time names each net, and give the pins on the connectors names so that everything can be traced and identified when it comes to converting to PCB layout.

    It's nearly 2.30 am !! (struth don't time fly when having fun !) - let me know what you guys think
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Can't really read the schematic because the picture is so blurry.
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Same as TabSoft

    If you could post the DipTrace files we might be able to help more.

    Or a better res JPG.

    BR

    Andy

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Sorry guys - hope this helps

    Seems the forum re-sizes the image - I'll try something else

    Nope - does the same with URL's !!

    Here's a link http://micro-heli.co.uk/New%20Schematic2.jpg
    Last edited by Scampy; - 9th May 2015 at 13:13.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    985


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    IIRC correctly you only need the supply voltage and contrast voltage to see the square blocks on line 1.
    So long as you aren’t driving the contrast with PWM (Melanie’s old trick), you should see the blocks with the chip unpopulated.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    229


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Thanks, I can read this one.
    Since you had issues with the LCD before, can you give us the model number?
    Really do not want to guess.
    Regards,
    TABSoft

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Quote Originally Posted by Tabsoft View Post
    Thanks, I can read this one.
    Since you had issues with the LCD before, can you give us the model number?
    Really do not want to guess.
    The only info I have is what's stamped on the back. RT204-1 (ver2.0) - uses the standard Hitachi HD44780 chipset. Closest datasheet is http://www.satistronics.com/myfiles/...CD/RT204-1.pdf
    Last edited by Scampy; - 9th May 2015 at 17:32.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Hi

    Looking at the circuit all looks OK for me. LSB's grounded on display, good !... For me I would have decoupled (0.1uf) around all the chips including the display. I also would have used a trimmer across 5v and 0v (5k) on the contrast (Pin 3)so as I could meddle !!

    Nothing wrong in checking all connections are right way around on the board D4-D7 also RS and E, so easy to assume... "I know" I have been burned so many times.

    Could be worth checking the Xtal.... Maybe just try switching to internal clock (4Megs), I have had strange things happen around crystal circuits and displays, Some of the EBay types certainly :-) .... Not just with PIC's but other Micros also.

    One last thing make sure you protect your AC SSR outputs ... I love MOV's ...At least do fuse them. Good practice to fuse the the low voltage AC before the bridge also.

    Hope some of this helps

    Andy

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Quote Originally Posted by andybarrett1 View Post
    Trimmer across 5v and 0v (5k) on the contrast (Pin 3)
    Just noticed Pin3 LCD Vo is up high... Should be more Low (0v) if no trimmer ?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Thanks for the suggestions. I will look at adding a trim pot for the contrast, and a few more decoupling caps in the mix.

    Yes, I'll be fitting some chassis mounted fuse holders, or some of those C-13 type sockets with fuse built in to protect the heaters. I also slot the board under the SSR between the low voltage pins and AC pins as a safety feature too.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    985


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out


  27. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    Just measured the resistance across the 10K pot on the EasyPic5 board. Between Vco and GND pins on the LCD connector I have 5.67K, with 3.12K between Vcc and Vco. I'll amend the schematic and put a 4.7K between GND and Vco

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD do display - but pins check out

    OK - those ruddy gremlins must of been messing me about yesterday..

    I disconnected the resistor on Vco and grounded the pin as it was in the original board design. Connected the LCD and powered up and got two lines of blocks which was something I never got previously and I had tried taking Vco both high and low !

    Placed the PIC in the board and booted the board - bingo text displayed...

    I'm at a loss as to why, what or how the thing failed to work previously - Oh the jpys of electronics !!!

Similar Threads

  1. LCD Display
    By lambert in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 16th January 2010, 22:18
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 5th November 2009, 17:07
  3. glcd display vs lcd display
    By davids in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 3rd July 2009, 18:16
  4. number of PIC pins & 7-seg display
    By archendekta in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 2nd April 2009, 09:00
  5. LCD DB4-DB7 4bit mode change pins?
    By erice1984 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 6th March 2009, 01:36

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts