Memory Space of the PIC16F84...


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tear's Avatar
    Tear Guest

    Default Memory Space of the PIC16F84...

    Hello,

    I have been looking this afternoon through datasheets trying to find out how many words the compiler can say before my PIC16F84 is full and I will run into problems. I am currently at 1005 words, and getting kind of worried that I might run out of memory since I still have about a quarter of the program left to write. I recall reading about 2000 being a "magic" number. Is this 2000 figure the amount of words I can have? Thanks for the help.

    ~Michael

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The PIC16F84 is a 1K part, so you're right at the edge with 1005. Your
    program can be as large as 1024 words. 0 to 3FFh.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It could be interesting to see if we can shrink your code. Do you mind to post it here to see if we can do it??

    Of course with an explanation and schematic(if possible)
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  4. #4
    Tear's Avatar
    Tear Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    Thanks guys. I will gladly past my code when it is finished. Right now it is all segmented and not really one solid piece. So, as it stands right now would be hard to decipher what I am doing. I should have it finished next week and will post it in this thread.

    Thanks for the help!

    ~Michael

  5. #5
    Tear's Avatar
    Tear Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The 3rd post down is a much clearer post of what I am having problems with:

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1997





    This is a repost, but I am hoping that you guys might see one of these.

    I am working on a delay project which uses 2 buttons one for increasing the delay and one for decreasing the delay. I am using the PIC16F84 and have a button connected to PORTB pin 5,6. LED on PORTB 3,4,7 and PORTA pin 3.
    PORTB pin 4 is for showing the length of the delay, pin 3 for showing when both buttons are pushed that it saves the delay to EEPROM, 7 for showing when IncreaseButton is pushed, and PORTA pin 3 for when DecreaseButton is pushed.

    The problem I am having is when I program the PIC16F84 it is starting at a delay of what I believe to be 30s when it should be 15s. This is according to this line:

    data word (0),(1500) 'Save 1.5s delay to EEPROM at programming

    Also, it doesnt seem that the buttons are changing the delay. What I dont understand is that everything worked until I added this above line.

    Here is the code that I am working on:

    ''Increase/Decrease Delay with Buttons

    Delay var word 'Declare Variables
    x var word
    IncreaseButton var PORTB.5
    DecreaseButton var PORTB.6

    data word (0),(1500) 'Save 1.5s delay to EEPROM at programming
    read 0, Delay.BYTE0 'Save value in EEPROM to delay
    Read 1, Delay.Byte1

    Loop:

    high PORTB.4 'Turn LED on
    low PORTB.3 'Turn on LED from "saving" delay

    for x = 1 to Delay 'For loop to run delay/ Allows button to be
    'read without interrupt
    pause 1 'Pause 1 ms

    if IncreaseButton = 1 then 'When IncreaseButton is pressed
    high PORTB.7 'Turn LED on to show button is pushed

    pause 50 'Pause for 50 ms

    if DecreaseButton = 1 then'If both buttons pushed then write delay
    write 0, Delay.BYTE0 'to EEPROM
    write 1, Delay.BYTE1
    high PORTB.3

    SetDelayCycle1:

    'Loop to wait until buttons are released before going on
    if DecreaseButton = 0 or IncreaseButton = 0 then
    goto Loop 'Restart the delay
    else
    goto SetDelayCycle1
    endif

    endif
    Delay = Delay + 500 'increase delay
    if Delay => 30000 then 'If delay is equal to or greater than 30 sec
    Delay = 30000 'then keep delay at 30 sec max delay
    pause 100 'If at max delay length flash LED
    low PORTB.7
    pause 100
    high PORTB.7
    endif

    IncreaseButtonCycle:

    'Loop to wait until button is released before going on
    if IncreaseButton = 0 then
    LOW PORTB.4 'Turn LED off
    pause 500 'Pause to show LED off before restarting delay
    low PORTB.7
    goto loop 'Restart the delay
    else
    goto IncreaseButtonCycle
    endif
    endif

    if DecreaseButton = 1 then 'When DecreaseButton is pressed
    high PORTA.3
    pause 50 'Pause for 50 ms

    if IncreaseButton = 1 then'If both buttons pushed then write delay
    write 0, Delay.BYTE0 'to EEPROM
    write 1, Delay.Byte1
    high PORTB.3

    SetDelayCycle2:

    if IncreaseButton = 0 or DecreaseButton = 1 then
    goto loop 'Restart the delay
    else
    goto SetDelayCycle2
    endif

    endif
    Delay = Delay - 500 'decrease delay
    if Delay <= 500 then 'If delay is equal or less than 0.5 sec then
    Delay = 500 'keep delay at 0.5 sec min delay
    pause 100
    low PORTA.3
    pause 100
    high PORTA.3
    endif

    DecreaseButtonCycle:

    if DecreaseButton = 0 then
    low PORTB.4 'Turn LED off
    pause 500 'Pause to show LED off before restarting delay
    low PORTA.3
    goto loop 'Restart the delay
    else
    goto DecreaseButtonCycle
    endif
    endif

    next x

    low PORTB.4 'Turn LED off after full delay cycle
    pause 500 'Pause to show LED off before restarting delay

    goto loop 'Restart the delay (Infinite Loop)
    end 'End of program



    This probably is not a very efficent piece of code, but it was doing the job until I tried doing the DATA command. I tried using different values other than the 1500 such as.. 100, 500, 3000 and all of the values were causing the same thing to happen with a delay of what I believe to be 30s the max delay that I have for the piece. I also tried the EEPROM command with the same conclusion. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Michael
    Last edited by Tear; - 30th June 2005 at 22:24.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Michael,
    Try the following and post results. Where i am now i can't test it
    Code:
    ' I am working on a delay project which uses 2 buttons one for increasing the 
    ' delay and one for decreasing the delay. I am using the PIC16F84 and have a 
    '
    ' buttons:
    ' ========
    '         connected to PORTB pin 5,6. 
    '                   pin 5 : increase
    '                   pin 6 : decrease
    ' LEDS:
    ' =====
    '      PORTB pin 4 : showing the length of the delay, 
    '            pin 3 : showing when both buttons are pushed that it saves 
    '                    the delay to EEPROM, 
    '            pin 7 : showing when IncreaseButton is pushed
    '
    '      PORTA pin 3 for when DecreaseButton is pushed.
    
        TRISB=%01100000  ' PORTB<6:5> as input 
                         ' others as output
                         '
        TRISA=0          ' set all PORTA as output
        
        LEDLength   var PORTB.4
        LEDSave     var PORTB.3
        LEDIncrease var PORTB.7
        LEDDecrease var PORTA.3
        
        Delay       var word
        Loop        var word
        PB          var byte
        Increase    con 1
        Decrease    con 2
        Both        con 3
        
        data @0,5,$DC         ' store initial 1.5 sec
        
        PORTB=0 '
                ' Clear all LEDs
        PORTA=0 '
    
    DelayLoop:
        read 0,delay.highbyte ' Read delay
        read 1,delay.lowbyte  ' from EEPROM
        
        ledlength=1           ' Enable Length LED
        
        for loop=0 to delay   ' Do the delay and do PushButton tests
            pause 1
            pb=(PORTB>>5)& 3  ' keep only PORTB.5 and PORTB.6 bits
            
            if pb then        ' If there's at least one push button press
               select case Pb ' choose according thing to do
                      case increase
                           if delay<=60000 then
                              delay=delay+500
                              ledincrease=1
                              endif
                         
                      case decrease
                           if delay>=500 then 
                              delay=delay-500
                              leddecrease=1
                              endif
                         
                      case both
                           ledsave=1
                           write 0, delay.highbyte
                           write 1, delay.lowbyte
                      
                      end select
               pause 100     ' kinda auto repeat delay... can be higher/lower 
    
               ledincrease=0 ' Clear all pushButtons
               leddecrease=0 '       related
               ledsave    =0 '         LEDs
               endif
            next
        ledlength=0     ' confirm delay is finished
        pause 500       ' wait a little bit
        goto DelayLoop  ' redo the delay and blah blah
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  7. #7
    Tear's Avatar
    Tear Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you SOOOOOOO much Steve!!!!!! This code is exactly what I need to make it work! My poor, unefficent code was doing the job, but this is so much cleaner and easier to use!

    I defiantly have a lot of learning to do. This was my first attempt at writing my own program.

    Also, with your version of this code I save nearly half the words!

    I have been studying the way you have wrote this code and I dont understand how this line works. I understand what it does but not how. I am just curious on this one?

    pb=(PORTB>>5)& 3 ' keep only PORTB.5 and PORTB.6 bits

    Thanks,
    Michael
    Last edited by Tear; - 1st July 2005 at 15:49.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Great, but there's a tons of way to it more efficient. i was just trying to do something readable. Glad to know it's work as you wish. Hard to test when you're out of the city in a hotel room with a simple laptop.

    BTW let's look at
    pb=(PORTB>>5)& 3 ' keep only PORTB.5 and PORTB.6 bits


    this line read the whole PORTB and shift bits 5 position to the right and finnaly do a bitwise AND with 3.
    WHY... easier to read...and get only push buttons state

    let's see how it's work.

    Let's assume that PORTB=%11100000
    after >>5 = we have %00000111
    after & 3 we have %00000011 = 3 => both push buttons

    Of course we an also use PB=PORTB & %01100000
    and modify the Increase, decrease and Both constant definition too. That will save some code space and will do the same job. Or skip the Constant definition and place the expected value in the Select Case, or, or or , or...Posibility are endless.

    Sometimes, there's a choice to do. Having a readable code or a less readable but really tight. It's case by case.

    My last project use a 18F4620 and the full 64K of code. I spent many hours to shrink it as i can each time i add a new feature BUT I was out of codespace to implement new feature(on customer request)and i spend several hours to shrink everything by using PBP macro and do some workaround. Less readable but work as well as it suppose to.

    Great to know it's working fine for you.

    Have fun!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. 'reserving' memory space
    By comwarrior in forum General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 25th September 2009, 22:37
  2. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  3. Need the code to write to a memory
    By Hamlet in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 20th August 2007, 00:22
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 2nd March 2007, 06:12
  5. Use internal program memory like DATA memory
    By flotulopex in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 30th December 2006, 18:38

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts