touble with a time calculation


Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 59
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838

    Default touble with a time calculation

    Hi guys , having a mind block on a time calculation

    what i need is to set a time and show the amount of time that has occurred past (OVERTIME ) that set time

    the hours mins , sec is working ok as a count up clock

    the calculation fails when overtime goes to 1min is sec 0 etc

    eg if the set value is say 0 hours , 0 mins 10sec

    the overtime clock will start counting past 10sec



    Code:
            OT_Hours   = Hours   - set_hour
            OT_Minutes = Minutes - set_Min 
            OT_Seconds = Seconds -set_sec

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    OT_Hours = 0 OT_Minutes = 0 OT_Seconds = 0
    #stop clock here for the test otherwise sec/min rollovers during if tests will give incorrect results
    if Hours > set_hour then OT_Hours = Hours - set_hour
    if Minutes > set_Min then OT_Minutes = Minutes - set_Min
    if Seconds > set_sec then OT_Seconds = Seconds -set_sec
    #resume clock

    note hour rollover to next day is not taken into account
    Last edited by richard; - 13th May 2014 at 01:10. Reason: 24 hr rollover

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    hi richard , the main clock cant be stopped and needs to be a running test

    the rollover from sec to mins is the issue as well as mins to hours

    with the Set_Day= 0, Set_Hour= 0 ,Set_min= 0, Set_sec = 10

    this code has that issue of when the clock roles over

    the OT variables are used to display the OT clock
    Days, Hours, Mins,Secs variables are the main clock
    "Set_" varables are the time allowed

    the OT clock is only enabled after the Set time is = > than the main clock
    Code:
        if  OT_Days => Set_Day and OT_Hours => Set_Hour and OT_Minutes => Set_Min and OT_Seconds => Set_OT_Sec then OT_Enable = 1
     
    
       if OT_Enable = 1 THEN    
            if Days     >  Set_Day   then OT_Days    = Days  - Set_Day   
            if Hours    >  Set_Hour  then OT_Hours    = Hours - Set_Hour
            if Minutes  > Set_Min    then OT_Minutes = Minutes - Set_Min 
            if Seconds > Set_Sec   then OT_Seconds = Seconds - Set_Sec
           
         endif

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    corrected code to be, so only OT is enabled and shown when Set time matched or exceeded , but roll over is still the problem

    Code:
      if  Days => Set_Day and Hours => Set_Hour and Minutes => Set_Min and Seconds => Set_OT_Sec then OT_Enable = 1
     
    
       if OT_Enable = 1 THEN    
            OT_Days    = Days  - Set_Day   
            OT_Hours    = Hours - Set_Hour
            OT_Minutes = Minutes - Set_Min 
            OT_Seconds = Seconds - Set_Sec
           
         endif

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    I have the same sort of problems comparing multibyte values that increment in isr routines , the only solutions I can find are to
    1. stop the clock then compare vars (disable interrupts)
    2. compare the vars in the "clock" isr where they wont change as you compare them
    3. maybe have a special case for seconds=59, minutes=59 and seconds=59 , seconds= 59 and minutes=59 and hour=23 (if seconds and minutes and hours are all single byte vars )
    option 3 seems flaky

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Posts
    966


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Why not try something straight forward as this?

    Code:
         ' run this every second along with your clock code
         if (Hours >= Set_Hours AND Minutes >= Set_Min AND Seconds >= Set_Sec)
               OT_Seconds = OT_Seconds+1
               if (OT_Seconds > 59)
                   OT_Seconds = 0
                   OT_Minutes = OT_Minutes+1
                   if (OT_Minutes > 59)
                        OT_Minutes = 0
                        OT_Hours = OT_Hours+1
                        ' you may want to restrict / rollover the hours to 24 hours format here.
                   endif
               endif
         endif

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    I have a main clock in place

    the overtime clock = main clock - set time

    the problem occures when the clock value roles over and the clockvalue - set_time < 0
    during that time the value of the OT clock is incorrect

    eg set time = 10 sec , when main clock counts to 1min , the over time clock would show 0.50 instead of 0.51 etc, for the duration of main clock moving 1.00 - 1.10 , then it be fine


    this approch seems to be correct but i am not sure if it needs to be nested

    Code:
     if     Days => Set_Day    and Hours => Set_Hour  and _
            Minutes => Set_Min and Seconds => Set_Sec and _
            100th => Set_100th then OT_Enable = 1
      
      
         if OT_Enable = 1 THEN      
            OT_Days    =  Days    - Set_Day  
            OT_Hours   =  Hours   - Set_Hour
            OT_Minutes = Minutes - Set_Min 
            OT_Seconds =Seconds - Set_sec
            OT_100th   = 100TH   - Set_100th
         endif 
         
          
          if  Hours   - Set_Hour <0 then
              OT_Days    = Days - 1
              OT_Hours   = 24 - Set_Day  + Hours 
          endif
         
         if   Minutes - Set_Min  <0 then 
              OT_Hours   = OT_Hours - 1
              OT_Minutes = 60 - Set_Min + Minutes 
          endif
        
         if  Seconds - Set_Sec   <0 then 
             OT_Minutes =  OT_Minutes - 1 
             OT_Seconds =  60 - Set_Sec + Seconds
          endif  
       
         if 100TH - Set_100th   <0 then
             OT_Seconds = OT_Seconds - 1
             Ot_100TH   = 100 - Set_100th + 100TH 
          endif

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Code:
    if  Hours   - Set_Hour <0 then
              OT_Days    = Days - 1
              OT_Hours   = 24 - Set_Hour  + Hours 
          endif
    typo fixed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    hows this going to work
    if Days => Set_Day and Hours => Set_Hour and _
    Minutes => Set_Min and Seconds => Set_Sec and _
    100th => Set_100th then OT_Enable = 1

    imagine set day=0 set hour=1 set min=30
    if hour = 2 and min=29 then it will test false when it should be true

    u need to think in terms of timestamp
    timestamp= sec+min*60 +hour*3600 etc day * whatever. (unix does it from some arcane date in 1980 in microseconds)
    then compare timestamp
    this will not solve rollovers however

    from wiki
    unix timestamp 00:00:00 UTC on January 1, 1970
    Last edited by richard; - 13th May 2014 at 07:46.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    just for the sake of an argument on a raspberry pi
    you could just go datetime.datetime(now)-settime and you wold get a RESULT in years,months,days,hours,minutes,seconds and microseconds
    a pi costs about 40 bucks has 512m of ram usb and Ethernet built in . makes life easy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    A clock does not have values of

    24 hours
    60 min
    60 sec
    100 100th

    for example a clock showing 59 seconds will change to 0 on the next second.

    the calculation

    if Seconds - Set_Sec <0 then
    OT_Minutes = OT_Minutes - 1
    OT_Seconds = 60 - Set_Sec + Seconds
    endif

    should be

    if Seconds - Set_Sec <0 then
    OT_Minutes = OT_Minutes - 1
    OT_Seconds = 59 - Set_Sec + Seconds
    endif

    and the same for the other < comparisons.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Quote Originally Posted by richard View Post
    just for the sake of an argument on a raspberry pi
    you could just go datetime.datetime(now)-settime and you wold get a RESULT in years,months,days,hours,minutes,seconds and microseconds
    a pi costs about 40 bucks has 512m of ram usb and Ethernet built in . makes life easy
    Are you advising us all to use Raspbbery Pi?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    not at all however it depends on the size of the task ,think of moving bricks with a Toyota corolla if you only need to move a few its fine, to move 10000 would be an ordeal better suited to a tray truck with hydraulic loader.
    pbp is a great product but if you want to do a lot with floats, longs , singed math , datetime objects colour gui's etc then other platforms and languages make life a lot easier.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Easy does not increase understanding.

    Unfortunately we live in a plug and play world. The Pi was created to address the issue of children not understanding how computers work and introduce them to programming so it is made easy to produce quick results and grab their imagination. What it does not do is teach electronics. But as I have never had one my opinion is not a first hand informed one.

    Anyway this thread is about time calculation not Pi and have we just hijacked a thread which is against the rules?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    do I understand the problem correctly
    I'm assuming we have a set time day-h:m:s.xx ie day 0 hour 2 minute 30 sec 28.34 and that we then subsequently read a clock and calculate the elapsed time between now and the set time if and only if the now time is greater than the set time .
    is this right ?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Richard No.

    longpole001's program counts down to set time then counts up after set time.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    in fact i have several clock timers running for this project , most are based on the master timer with other value settings to change the displayed results

    for this task the time counter counts up from 0 , the set _time value is the length of time before trigging the overtime clock , which counts up to show the total amount of time exceeding the set_time values

    when the main timer exceeds the set_time then a secondary timer ( overtime clock ) is enabled and then shows and continues to run until the main timer stops

    as seen if the overtime clock values = main clock - set time , when a sec , min , hour roles over , a < 0 value will occur untill the time value = set_time value again

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Quote Originally Posted by longpole001 View Post
    as seen if the overtime clock values = main clock - set time , when a sec , min , hour roles over , a < 0 value will occur untill the time value = set_time value again
    Yes that is exactly what your code does. I did wonder if that was what you wanted to do.

    I was also thinking if this is necessary

    if Days => Set_Day and Hours => Set_Hour and _
    Minutes => Set_Min and Seconds => Set_Sec and _
    100th => Set_100th then OT_Enable = 1

    and what would be the implications of just having this

    OT_Days = Days - Set_Day
    OT_Hours = Hours - Set_Hour
    OT_Minutes = Minutes - Set_Min
    OT_Seconds =Seconds - Set_sec
    OT_100th = 100TH - Set_100th



    if Hours - Set_Hour <0 then
    OT_Days = Days - 1
    OT_Hours = 23 - Set_Day + Hours
    endif

    if Minutes - Set_Min <0 then
    OT_Hours = OT_Hours - 1
    OT_Minutes = 59 - Set_Min + Minutes
    endif

    if Seconds - Set_Sec <0 then
    OT_Minutes = OT_Minutes - 1
    OT_Seconds = 59 - Set_Sec + Seconds
    endif

    if 100TH - Set_100th <0 then
    OT_Seconds = OT_Seconds - 1
    Ot_100TH = 99 - Set_100th + 100TH
    endif

    Just a thought

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    the reason for the enable is that until the time = > the setting , the output is not displayed , also the enable flag is used for other routines , hardware options and other timers., also if the values of the Set time all are 0 then that disables the flag for this timer for display on the Glcd's and other outputs

    there are several timer clock options that need to show - time in secs only , mins+ sec only , hours,min, sec only ,currently these options turn off / on flags inside the main up/ down timer counter code to enable hours, mins ,sec changes

    by changing the values to 59 from 60 for say the secs this results in the following

    if set_hour= 0 set_min = 0, Set_sec = 10

    if main elapsed time now shows = 0 hour, 1 min , 0 sec

    If OT_sec = 60 - Set_sec + Seconds(main elapsed ) then

    OT display = 50 (60 - 10 + 0)

    if OT_sec = 59 - Set_sec + Seconds(main elapsed ) then

    OT display = 49 (59 - 10 + 0)

    if the event time was set for 10 sec and the main time is now 1 min then the overtime should read 50secs , not 49 sec

    I think i have this correct , but i am still testing
    cheers

    Sheldon

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    if you have a clock running
    try this
    h m s var bytes (current time )
    x y z var byte (old time )
    a b c var byte ( time difference)
    carry var bit

    time_difference: (assumes current time > old time)
    carry=0
    c=s-z
    if c>127 then
    c=c+60
    carry=1
    endif
    b=m-(y+carry)
    if b>127 then
    b=b+60
    carry=1
    else
    carry=0
    endif
    a=h-(x+carry)
    if a>127 then
    a=a+24
    carry=1 ;extra day needed to be added
    else
    carry=0
    endif
    return
    Last edited by richard; - 13th May 2014 at 14:04. Reason: typo needed brackets

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    that should work as well richard , cheers
    the mind block orginally came from not sure why i was seeing the output i was , and finding that the <0 resulted in the displayed variables being incorrect during that time

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    well after a few more tests that did not work well , yes , when you enter a event period of 10sec for the event time or 1 min or 1 hour , 1day then code answers earlier will allow for the <0 error when it roles over , but its does not when you combine Event set time for say 1 m 10 sec

    so lets start again
    sounds simple but its giving me a problem
    GOAL
    ------
    the count up elapsed base timer is counting up from 0 , when the set time values are => then time set for the event the Overtime clock is enabled starts counting up to show the time past the set time

    code references
    ---------------
    Base Elapsed timer is set to count up = EL1
    Overtime Clock = EL2
    Event1_OT_xxx = Time set duration for event


    EL1 has the standard time duration if statements enabled so that sec = 60 then sec = 0 , min = min +1 , same for hour , day 0 then 1 min , etc etc for counting up


    Code:
    '-------  Event overrun timer 1-------- 
         if EL1_Days => Event1_OT_Day    and EL1_hOURS => Event1_OT_Hour  and _
            EL1_Minutes => Event1_OT_Min and EL1_Seconds => Event1_OT_Sec and _
            EL1_100th => Event1_OT_100th then EL2_Enable = 1
         
        if  Event1_OT_Day = 0 and Event1_OT_hour  = 0 and Event1_OT_Min = 0 and _  ' if all values are 0 , then dont enable the overrun timer 
            Event1_OT_sec = 0 and Event1_OT_100th = 0 then  EL2_Enable = 0
      
         if EL2_Enable = 1 THEN     ;  EL2 = EL1 current values - set overrun value  
            EL2_Days    = EL1_Days    - Event1_OT_Day  
            EL2_Hours   = EL1_Hours   - Event1_OT_hour
            EL2_Minutes = EL1_Minutes - Event1_OT_Min 
            EL2_Seconds = EL1_Seconds - Event1_OT_sec
            EL2_100th   = EL1_100TH   - Event1_OT_100th
         endif

    addings code to allow for <0 error ( EL1_Seconds - Event1_OT_sec) - this occurs when secs role over 1min but the work arround is not working when combined with sat set times of 1min 10 sec


    any further sugestions

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    its never going to work if you don't allow for the negative carry (borrow) , subtracting time is no different to subtracting base (16 12 10 8 2 ) numbers except that hours are base 24 , minutes and seconds are base 60 . have a look again at my example note the order of calculation also

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    i'll say it again if the el1 time data vars update in real time via an isr (as I suspect they may) the whole process is flawed unless you can fix (stop the clock) the el1 time vars for the duration of the subtraction .

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    i thought about just starting another clock by using the base ticks but i cant cos

    EL0 is the master clock elasped clock , which counts up or down and when started is not stoped untill reset
    EL1 is copy of EL0 - used to display the time and has enable /disable to stop the count on EL1 on display , then enable EL1 copies the current values from the master clock to EL1
    EL2 is the overtime clock based on the values of EL1 - set event times

    this why i really need to correct the errors in EL2 values by using EL1 - set times as far as i can see

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    hi richard yes sent you a pm on this

    cheers

    Sheldon

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Code:
         if EL2_Enable = 1 THEN     ;  EL2 = EL1 current values - set overrun value  
    
           EL2_100th   = EL1_100TH   - Event1_OT_100th+100
            if EL2_100th<100 then 
              EL1_Seconds=EL1_Seconds-1
           Else
             EL2_100th=EL2_100th-100
          endif
    
        EL2_Seconds = EL1_Seconds - Event1_OT_sec+60
          if EL2_Seconds<60 then 
            EL1_Minutes=EL1_Minutes-1
         else
           EL2_Seconds =EL2_Seconds -60
         endif
    
           EL2_Minutes = EL1_Minutes - Event1_OT_Min +60
         if EL2_Minutes<60 then
           EL1_Hours=EL1_Hours-1
         else
           EL2_Minutes =EL2_Minutes -60
         endif
    
           EL2_Hours   = EL1_Hours   - Event1_OT_hour+24
         if EL2_Hours<24 then
            EL1_Days=EL1_Days-1
         else
           EL2_Hours   =EL2_Hours   -24
         endif
    
      EL2_Days    = EL1_Days    - Event1_OT_Day  
           
    endif
    Just something to try

  28. #28
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    steve has the right idea for the math but since el1/el2 vars can be updated via the isr at any time during the calcs the results will vary.

    statisticly it will fail about 4-5 times per hundred calcs based on :-
    I think chances of failure are 1/60+1/60+1/100+1/24 I might be wrong about the stats

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    If isr affects EL1 vars create Temp_EL1 vars at the start of the routine and use these for the calculation.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    won't work . the isr can change the values as u copy them to the temp vars ,been there done that

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Ok some problems do not have an answer.

    Bye

  32. #32
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    only solution I know is to disable isr and copy vars to a buffer then enable isr and then perform calcs on the buffered data.
    it may mean the odd lost interrupt / whats worse incorrect calcs or missed ints
    only the designer can make that call .

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    the isr updates EL0,EL1 , EL2 during the call

    the isr reloads timer1 every 10ms , then updates EL0-2 variables during that call and displaying them take time ,

    a long as the running display is clearly correct for EL2 =EL1 - set_times for sec,min, hour ,day , then i think it be ok.

    at the moment its just show the totaly wrong values for duration of the set time

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    thanks guys

    ill try both ways i rather not have wrong calculations but i also know this interupt is serviced every 10ms , and the E0-2 varables should be correct for that amount of time ??

  35. #35
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    that's the wrong way to think about it , you can never know when the 10ms period will start or finish , this way is better.
    the interrupt latency with a 32mHZ clk will be about 10uS anyway , time to copy 4 bytes to a buffer say 4 uS , the interrupt will only be deferred 4uS plus another couple for the int disable enable worst case you'll hardly notice

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    hI GUYS , using the code by steve seems to work , a small change cos i use EL1 values to show the current time value , so any changes that change the EL1 values in the calculating the EL2 , is not possible so i need to copy the values of EL1 to EL3 , then use EL3 as a temp group

    I am trying to disable the interupt whilest in the ISR subroutine , before the copy of EL0 to EL1-3 , then re -enable interrupt after ,

    but i get a interrupt priority state not found error when compile atm

  37. #37
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,632


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    it serves no purpose to stop the isr from within the isr , its a waste of time copying the el vars to a buffered copy inside the isr .
    time in your case is in essence a multi byte var , the value is volatile and cannot be guaranteed outside the isr when the isr is running.
    the correct procedure is
    disable isr
    copy bytes to buffer
    enable isr
    do your subtraction

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    ok done that , cheers

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    PERTH AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    838


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    steve was wodering what the code may be if i was to use the el1 values plus event1 setting to the overrun point , and use say event 2 seting to show the amount time left before overrun , eg EL0 is counting up , copied to EL1 for display , Event 1 setts time for the overrun , Event2 sets time to show time before reching the overrun time , EL3 displays the time counting down to reach time set by Event1 time.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sc*nthorpe, UK
    Posts
    333


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: touble with a time calculation

    Probably easy to do. Post some code from the relevant section for me to look at.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with calculation
    By Megahertz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 28th August 2012, 17:10
  2. CHECKSUM CALCULATION, Please Help!
    By wasilus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 2nd August 2012, 07:55
  3. Calculation Problem - value goes to zero after 65
    By Tom Gonser in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 12th March 2010, 05:10
  4. calculation
    By lerameur in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 20th May 2008, 16:28
  5. CRC Calculation - Need a little help
    By Steve43 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 13th March 2005, 01:23

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts