Assemler Errors


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Assemler Errors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Assemler Errors

    Am getting the Errors below ,can any one help me figure out where
    the Problem in my Program is,Am Trying to write a program for
    Controlling a Diesel Power Generator Engine.
    Note I don't have anything like "Write" in my Program apart
    from the WRITE command of PBP fro writing to the EEPROM when
    the Program is already Running

    Assembler ERROR

    Error PRETTY~1.ASM 1068:[255]udefined sysmbol 'write'
    Error PRETTY~1.ASM 1176:[255]udefined sysmbol 'write'
    Error PRETTY~1.ASM 1283:[255]udefined sysmbol 'write'

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Gilroy, CA
    Posts
    1,530


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Assemler Errors

    Hello,

    I could be wrong here, but it looks like you are using an assembler without a PBP compiler? Have you purchased a PBP compiler? You will need one to compile the code to hex.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Assemler Errors

    If you have PBP 2.60 (original release) ...
    There was an issue with the WRITE statement when you only used a WORD variable but didn't use the WORD modifier.

    There were several workarounds...
    • WRITE a BYTE value somewhere in your program. (anywhere)
      <br>
    • WRITE the WORD variable as a WORD...
      WRITE 0,WORD MyWord
      <br>
    • Or add this line to your program...
      DEFINE WRITE_USED 1
    The problem was corrected in PBP 2.60A.
    You can download the "C" patch from here...
    http://melabs.com/support/patches.htm
    DT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Assemler Errors

    Thanks Guys for the Reply ,but
    1.I Know am using Original PBP I Purchased from MELABS themselves over the
    Internet + LABX1 Board ,and these were Delivered(2 CD's + a PBP Manual)
    to me here in Uganda East Africa.

    I've no regrets for the Money I spent on this ,coz its the Only
    PIC System out of The 2 I've Bought from UK That works wonders for me.
    2.Last Evening after Posting my Challenge with PBP ,I added More Code with
    "WRITE" Commands ,and Guess what ? ,on Compiling ,the Errors were no
    More.

    3.Now two More Challenges(or Problems)
    i)Now I've so far got 3 Warning of Code Crossing Boundary

    Warn PRETTY~1.ASM 765 :[102]code crosses boundary @800h
    Warn PRETTY~1.ASM 1453 :[102]code crosses boundary @1000h
    Warn PRETTY~1.ASM 2174 :[102]code crosses boundary @1800h

    Will this Stop my Program from work or Loading into PIC16F877A

    ii) How do I know how much CODE SPACE I've used up or Left with
    Because it Looks Like My code is going to be Big despite the Fact
    that am trying to Scale it down by Making Several Sub-Routines
    to avoid Code replication when its already being used
    else Where.
    Am Great full for four response.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Assemler Errors

    Hi, Bandajosh

    Those are Warnings ... and are just here to tell you to take care to bank or page change if some assembler lines are used.
    Most of time you don't have to worry about them ... especially if using only PBP.

    To know how much memory used ... the best is use MPLAB as an IDE : there's the "memory usage Gauge" or also a look to the "program window" ...

    using Codestudio ... just have a look to the lower left corner of your screen after compilation ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 4th April 2011 at 19:57.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Assemler Errors

    By adding the extra WRITE commands, you are probably writing a BYTE value now instead of only a WORD, which will make the error go away as described above.

    The crossing code boundary issue has been discussed many times here on the forum.

    In Microcode Studio, go to View > Editor Options > General Tab
    Check the Disable 'code crosses boundary' ASM warning checkbox.
    If you are using the BRANCH statement, change it to BRANCHL.
    DT

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts